PDA

View Full Version : Keeps getting worse


robvoip
12-28-07, 06:21 PM
Ive been having problems with my SATA dvd drive and now my 8800 GT is acting up.

For some reason the Nvidia sentinal monitor keeps saying the card is not getting enough power. I have a 1000w power supply, i dont know how this is even possible.

Games are very choppy or they crash right away. Ive uninstalled and reinstalled all drivers, flash bios's, you name it.

Here is my rig setup:

Athlon 64 X2 5600
M2N-E mobo
2G DDR 2 800 mhz
8800 GT OC
LG SATA DVD writer 18X
Soundblaster X-FI xtreme audio
2 120 GIGs IDE 7200 RPM HD (from my old system)

Anyhelp would be appreciated as i have had it with this system.

npras42
12-28-07, 06:30 PM
Not to sound rude or anything but I don't think it takes a genius to guess that your power supply might be broken! Have you tried using another one? It doesn't have to be 1000W either. A good 600W PSU would work fine as long as you're not overclocking - which while I'm on the subject you should try switching off if you have anything OC'd.

robvoip
12-28-07, 06:50 PM
Hi,

Nothing is Overclocked, the 8800 GT is now running at regular speeds and i still get this power error.

It makes no sense, the powersupply is brand new, all my other pc parts are fine besides the SATA drive.

Hazmat
12-28-07, 07:06 PM
What kind (brand) of power supply are we talking about here?

npras42
12-28-07, 07:09 PM
Have you plugged in everything that you need to plug in to your mobo? Some systems have an additional 4 pin connector that needs to be connected direct to your mobo as well as a 20 pin. I think most all modern mobos just have a 24 pin connector though so I doubt this is your prob.

I still think trying a new PSU is your best bet. New or not sometimes the things are faulty on arrival or damaged during installation.

robvoip
12-28-07, 07:18 PM
What kind (brand) of power supply are we talking about here?

Antec true power quattro 1000w

robvoip
12-28-07, 07:19 PM
Have you plugged in everything that you need to plug in to your mobo? Some systems have an additional 4 pin connector that needs to be connected direct to your mobo as well as a 20 pin. I think most all modern mobos just have a 24 pin connector though so I doubt this is your prob.

I still think trying a new PSU is your best bet. New or not sometimes the things are faulty on arrival or damaged during installation.

Will double check again. BRB.

robvoip
12-28-07, 07:22 PM
Everything is connected properly. The 4 pin and 24 pin are both connected.

npras42
12-28-07, 07:23 PM
I forgot to mention you prob need to connect one of your 4-pin molex connectors directly to your graphics card too, and ideally that particular cable shouldn't be connected to anything else before or after the card.

Sorry if i sound patronising and you already know all this.

$n][pErMan
12-28-07, 07:27 PM
If EVERYTHING is connected that should be... you might have to accept the fact your PSU is bad. FYI.. I am running everything on my system.... OC'ed and on a 650W power supply.

robvoip
12-28-07, 07:33 PM
I forgot to mention you prob need to connect one of your 4-pin molex connectors directly to your graphics card too, and ideally that particular cable shouldn't be connected to anything else before or after the card.

Sorry if i sound patronising and you already know all this.

Not a problem, the PSU has dedicated connectors for PCI-E. I have one connected directly from the PSU to the 8800 GT.

I am going to try another power supply thats directly going to be attached to the 8800 GT and nothing else.

bacon12
12-28-07, 07:41 PM
[pErMan']If EVERYTHING is connected that should be... you might have to accept the fact your PSU is bad. FYI.. I am running everything on my system.... OC'ed and on a 650W power supply.


I am on even less power only 535w and oc the hell out of my 8800gt without any issues. I think you may have a bad component somewhere, probably the psu.

robvoip
12-28-07, 08:02 PM
Tried another power supply, 550w antec, still does not work.

npras42
12-28-07, 08:11 PM
have you got a spare graphics card you can try? it might be that or it may be the mobo itself.

Hazmat
12-28-07, 09:18 PM
Apparently there is some issue with Antec power supplies causing this exact problem. Try another brand if you can.

From what it looks like there are tons of reports all over the 'Net about this issue.

3NZ0
12-28-07, 10:07 PM
There is an issue with antec and 8800gt cards, http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17798624

robvoip
12-29-07, 12:31 AM
There is an issue with antec and 8800gt cards, http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17798624

Good to know others are having this issue. Even my 550w antec would not supply enough power. Hopefully a different psu will solve this.

3NZ0
12-29-07, 09:46 AM
RMA your psu to antec explaining the problem, they will either give you a new one that will work or retrofit your current one to work correctly.

It's something to do with the gt checking for external power in a different way than other cards normally do. Which in turn, causes problems.

robvoip
12-29-07, 01:55 PM
Update:

Got the PSU replaced, now i dont get the error message and the DVD works. But the games are still choppy. Could it be a driver issue?

robvoip
12-29-07, 04:39 PM
Update 2:

Used driver cleaner, fresh install of the beta 169.28 drivers and everything runs great, COD4, HL EP2, UT3 all run without a hitch.