PDA

View Full Version : Benchmarks & help on 2 processors ?


mrgtec
12-30-07, 07:51 PM
Hi,

What processor should I get for/on a bare bones system. A Intel P. D 3.0 Ghz. or a Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0 Ghz.? Any benchmarks & help on these 2 processors would be excellent?

Thank you,
Michael
MRGTec

mythy
12-30-07, 08:16 PM
Intel Core 2 Duo, theres no need for benches its night and day

mrgtec
12-30-07, 09:04 PM
Hi,

Really, why do you say that?

Thank you,
Michael
MRGTec

mythy
12-30-07, 09:11 PM
the PD sucked big time the Core 2 Duo is far superior

Feyy
12-30-07, 11:02 PM
Hi,

Really, why do you say that?

Thank you,
Michael
MRGTec

You can trust us on this one. Core 2 Duo is far superior , its like a whole revision thats 100x better. You won't be disappointed

mrgtec
12-30-07, 11:06 PM
Hi,

Would I be better off getting a core 2 quad duo processor?

Thank you,
Michael
MRGTec

mythy
12-30-07, 11:11 PM
depend on your usage. Generally.. Yes a Quad is the better choice. Simply put it can handle heavy multitasking, it rips threw media applications and is future proof.

mrgtec
12-30-07, 11:34 PM
Its going to be a business PC, with Vista Ultimate on it.

Thank you,
Michael
MRGTec

mythy
12-31-07, 12:55 AM
buy a cheap core 2 duo :p

mrgtec
12-31-07, 01:04 AM
Yea, I know, but which of the Ghz. would do me good?

Thank you,
Michael
MRGtec

stncttr908
12-31-07, 01:46 AM
For business apps you can get something in either the E21xx series or the E4xxx series. The E2140 and E2160 are branded as Pentium processors but they are Core 2 Duos. I have an E2160 in my secondary PC and it works great.

mrgtec
12-31-07, 01:58 AM
Hi,

But what Ghz would I need? & 2nd question on the Socket 775 motherboards would it work with either a Intel P. D 3.0 or a Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0 processor? Are they the same socket type?

Happy New Years people!!!

Thank you,
Michael
MRGTec

Madpistol
12-31-07, 02:11 AM
What's the motherboard type? The older ones will only work with the Pentium D.

ANY Core 2 duo is going to be faster than any Pentium D. That's a given. ;)

Start reading on this page: http://techreport.com/articles.x/10351/5

mrgtec
12-31-07, 02:28 AM
Hi,

This one (http://click.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/click?id=Q/QYbLIiSSM&offerid=102327.624054605&type=10&subid=)

Happy New Years People!!!

Thank you,
Michael
MRGTec

Madpistol
12-31-07, 02:40 AM
Hi,

This one (http://click.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/click?id=Q/QYbLIiSSM&offerid=102327.624054605&type=10&subid=)

Happy New Years People!!!

Thank you,
Michael
MRGTec

Nvidia 680i chipset is fairly current. It will work with a Core 2 Duo for sure. ;)

mrgtec
12-31-07, 02:50 AM
Hi,

Yea, thats excellent I am glad I found this forum tonight, its proven itself as a tech. geeks paradise, excellent really tho. lol.

Happy New Years People.

Thank you,
Michael
MRGTec