PDA

View Full Version : Router problems - need some advice!


Ninjaman09
01-02-08, 09:43 AM
Well I just now purchased Call of Duty 4. No idea why I waited so long, this game is amazing! But I've hit one little hitch - apparently my router doesn't like it when I do a "Refresh List" and receive thousands of responses. If I refresh the server list in game, from the "Servers" tab in Steam, or with a third-party program like Xfire, the router either locks up or reboots, causing the connection to go dead for around 30 seconds to a minute. A computer restart (full power down, then power up) or power cycling my modem & router is the only thing that seems to restore connectivity reliably. If I connect my computer to the cable modem directly, this issue disappears.

From what little information I've been able to gather, it sounds like the problem is caused by the router interpreting the flood of server ping responses as a DOS attack or something of that nature, and I have no idea what to do about it. It is a Netgear WGR614. I'm considering just buying a new one but I'm hesitant because I haven't had any problems with it before. Unfortunately the Netgear support site offers no solutions.

I need a wireless router that won't lock up when receiving a large number of responses when I run a server refresh in CoD4. Any recommendations?

Tr1cK
01-02-08, 09:46 AM
I'm having great luck with my Buffalo router. It also can be flashed to linux based firmware. http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

Ninjaman09
01-02-08, 10:06 AM
Need something I can pick up at a retail location in the United States. Preferably Best Buy, as I have some gift cards. :)

CaptNKILL
01-02-08, 10:21 AM
I highly highly recommend the D-Link DGL-4300 (or 4100 if you don't need wireless). It's a little pricey but it works great and was built for gaming. Supports gigabit networks too.

Tr1cK
01-02-08, 11:21 AM
Need something I can pick up at a retail location in the United States. Preferably Best Buy, as I have some gift cards. :)
I think I got my Buffalo at Best Buy. YMMV

If not, I would go with what Capn recommends.

Here's a few more basic routers that I think would serve you well.
Two basic Wireless G routers under $50. This is probably what I would get if not looking for Gigabit routers.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=5250774&type=product&id=1051384663529
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=7012412&type=product&id=1099392876098

Here's a wireless N for $130.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=7806788&type=product&id=1142293513898

Ninjaman09
01-02-08, 11:44 AM
Cool, thanks for the suggestions guys. I'm trying to decide between the D-Link and that $50 Linksys. Think I'll try one, then the other. :)

Edit: I did end up getting the Linksys WRT54G from Best Buy, fixed it. :D

Ninjaman09
01-02-08, 12:57 PM
Just as an aside, I noticed this thread actually shows up in Google while I was searching for a solution aside from buying a new router. The Netgear forums actually did have a fairly lengthy topic on this issue -

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=7744&highlight=wgr614v6+spi

Basically, either RMA the Netgear for a v8+ or buy a Linksys. I, for one, am going to Best Buy. :p

t3hl33td4rg0n
01-05-08, 11:47 PM
I highly highly recommend the D-Link DGL-4300 (or 4100 if you don't need wireless). It's a little pricey but it works great and was built for gaming. Supports gigabit networks too.

+1


Best router I have ever owned!

bacon12
01-06-08, 12:25 AM
I highly highly recommend the D-Link DGL-4300 (or 4100 if you don't need wireless). It's a little pricey but it works great and was built for gaming. Supports gigabit networks too.


+1
I have been running this router (wired) for over three months now and never had to reboot it. Will get it free after MIR with the Vista OEM project. (when it/if arrives)