PDA

View Full Version : Bought A 2nd Hard Drive and want to...


dante
01-02-08, 11:41 PM
...install XP on it. The hard drive I have now has Vista 32 installed. I would really like to be able to boot both OS's so I can compare. I would also like to have one drive with Vista for DX10 option. Not sure what drive to set as primary and what one secondary. When I boot up will I be asked what OS or drive to start? Is anyone else out there doing this kind of thing? I got a pretty good deal btw. A Maxtor 500gig with 16mb buffer for $100 at Frys. At least I think its a good deal. Thanks in advance guys.

LORD-eX-Bu
01-02-08, 11:54 PM
is it EIDE or something? :confused:

mythy
01-03-08, 12:03 AM
not a bad price I seen 500's go for $97 on newegg

dante
01-03-08, 12:39 AM
is it EIDE or something? :confused:

No sata II. My mobo specs don't say it supports sata II though.

J-Mag
01-03-08, 02:39 PM
Setting your boot drive is an option in your BIOS.

jeffmd
01-03-08, 03:38 PM
I run xp and vista on 2 different drives and use the mobo to switch which drives boots up.

dante
01-03-08, 05:05 PM
I run xp and vista on 2 different drives and use the mobo to switch which drives boots up.
So are both drives have the jumpers set to slave or master? And whenever you want to switch drives you just boot into your bios to change it over? Thanks

XDanger
01-03-08, 05:28 PM
sata dont need no stinkin jumpers

vandalous
01-03-08, 06:32 PM
I have Vista and XP on separate drives. Go get VistaBootPro (http://www.vistabootpro.org/). It's a great piece of freeware that simplifies dual-boot drastically. It's essentially a GUI for Vista's BCDEdit.exe file...

dante
01-03-08, 07:00 PM
I have Vista and XP on separate drives. Go get VistaBootPro (http://www.vistabootpro.org/). It's a great piece of freeware that simplifies dual-boot drastically. It's essentially a GUI for Vista's BCDEdit.exe file...
Sounds good. Thanks boys

stncttr908
01-04-08, 12:32 AM
sata dont need no stinkin jumpers
Most SATA drives have a jumper for SATA150 or SATAII operation.