PDA

View Full Version : Can the 8800gt run COD4 on max settings?


ryan29121
01-03-08, 01:08 PM
I just built my first gaming computer (specs listed below) and on max settings on cod4 it displays some choppiness when im playing. I have the 169.09 drivers installed. I thought this card was able to play this on max? Can anybody else do this? Is there anything I can do to make it better? Thanks for the help in advance.

sytaylor
01-03-08, 01:24 PM
Yes. In a nutshell.

ryan29121
01-03-08, 01:42 PM
Yes. In a nutshell.

What do you think i can do to run it like this. Because right now it cant.

ASUSEN7900GTX
01-03-08, 01:43 PM
ive tried the Crysis GPU bench in bin 32 folder with no AA and AF on the 169.28 and they are indeed fast very so depending on wich .CFG u use and settings i mean earlier i got below 9K in 3DMark06 and now between 91xx-99xx so it is very fast indeed try those and see what GT of youres can do

bacon12
01-03-08, 01:48 PM
Is the gt running at stock? I can play COD4 maxed but have mine at 698 core, 1745 shader, 963 mem.

No stutters around 45fps 1366x768. I am also use the 169.25 module.

Edit I just realized that I said 45fps, its closer to 90fps. That is in mp, on any map. Sorry..

sytaylor
01-03-08, 02:06 PM
What do you think i can do to run it like this. Because right now it cant.

Overclock your CPU and GFX basically.

ATOJAR
01-03-08, 02:49 PM
I play COD4 @ 1920x1440 with every single in-game setting the higest it will go! ... runs like a dream!

zerobeta
01-05-08, 12:03 PM
I just built my first gaming computer (specs listed below) and on max settings on cod4 it displays some choppiness when im playing. I have the 169.09 drivers installed. I thought this card was able to play this on max? Can anybody else do this? Is there anything I can do to make it better? Thanks for the help in advance.

I can run COD4 @ max ingame settings, runs smooth (I only tried 2 AA and not 4)

I have a 8800GTS 512MB, but the GT is pretty close to it, so I dont think there should be a problem running it on same settings.

Q6600 and 2GB 800MHz Memory. Nothing overclocked.

I am using Windows XP SP2 32bit.

Before I installed anything I made sure I have all important hotfixes, like that microcode one: hxxp://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=936357

Which I am not sure if is included in windows update (I guess it is).

And also checked the GPU and CPU temperatures to make sure all is good.

Dreamingawake
01-05-08, 01:05 PM
cod4 never dips below 60 fps for me, but my processor is bottlenecking. EDIT: this is with everything maxed, 4xAA and at a res of 1680x1050

Crow_Nest
01-05-08, 09:18 PM
COD4 hardly goes to the 30s - 40s for me, and im running my GT stock and at max settings at 1024x768. And my CPU is bottlenecking my video card as well.

JcFlys
01-05-08, 10:15 PM
I couldn't run it on one 8800gt. I had to get SLI and put on an after market cooler, but it could of been my fx-57 chip causing the problem.

jeffmd
01-05-08, 11:38 PM
cod4 hits some bad frame rates in some areas at 1680x1050 (this is with 2xAA, because I cannot turn AA off without the graphis looking totaly screwed up), 1280x was a definite improvement.

Dreamingawake
01-06-08, 12:31 AM
crazy, everyones getting randomly different frames..

i would think the ultra^ coupled with that proc. would get better frames than my bottlenecked Gt's

Burnt_Ram
01-06-08, 10:56 AM
COD4 hardly goes to the 30s - 40s for me, and im running my GT stock and at max settings at 1024x768. And my CPU is bottlenecking my video card as well.
thats odd! i run COD4 @ 1280x1024 16xCSAA 16xAF max settings with an 8800GT @ stock coupled with a single core Athlon64 @ 2.7, and it never drops below 45-50 fps. average is 70-80.

ASUSEN7900GTX
01-06-08, 11:12 AM
is gainwards cards known to be good or bad?

well im thinking of their GS 8800GT 1GB 650+core so what do you think?

or shall i go for a 8800GT TOP (ASUS)

i have the first GTS 640mb card as im thiking of uppgrading thus sellin my caomputer and buila new Q6600 2GB 8500DDR2 and a new GT/GTS

Burnt_Ram
01-06-08, 12:19 PM
is gainwards cards known to be good or bad?

well im thinking of their GS 8800GT 1GB 650+core so what do you think?

or shall i go for a 8800GT TOP (ASUS)

i have the first GTS 640mb card as im thiking of uppgrading thus sellin my caomputer and buila new Q6600 2GB 8500DDR2 and a new GT/GTS
i had a Gainward once when they where still available in north america, and it was an excellent card!

Tuningmaster
01-06-08, 12:41 PM
thats odd! i run COD4 @ 1280x1024 16xCSAA 16xAF max settings with an 8800GT @ stock coupled with a single core Athlon64 @ 2.7, and it never drops below 45-50 fps. average is 70-80.

Actually 16XCSAA does not work properly in COD4, its capped at 4XAA. I tested it with fraps using 4XAA and 16XAA and my frame rates were identical each and every time.

Burnt_Ram
01-06-08, 12:49 PM
Actually 16XCSAA does not work properly in COD4, its capped at 4XAA. I tested it with fraps using 4XAA and 16XAA and my frame rates were identical each and every time.you can force coverage sampling anti alliasing (CSAA) via nHancer ;)

Crow_Nest
01-07-08, 03:43 AM
thats odd! i run COD4 @ 1280x1024 16xCSAA 16xAF max settings with an 8800GT @ stock coupled with a single core Athlon64 @ 2.7, and it never drops below 45-50 fps. average is 70-80.

Well, i have my res lower at 1024x768 maybe that explains. Also forgot to mention i have 4x AA enabled by optimal settings. The only time where i noticed it drops to the 30s is when im looking at a whole lot of smoke with guys running about. Other than that i think 30 is the lowest FPS ive ever gotten with this game, on this rig, and on this setting.

Tuningmaster
01-07-08, 03:51 AM
you can force coverage sampling anti alliasing (CSAA) via nHancer ;)


I dont think it works any differently than forcing it in the Control Panel does it?

wysiwyg
01-07-08, 07:52 AM
all maxed out here