PDA

View Full Version : Is 512MB enough video memory these days?


DoomUK
01-05-08, 03:42 PM
Some of you may know that I've been having some trouble with video stuttering in various games. The only thing left for me to do is invest in a new video card with more video memory than what my 7800GTX SLI setup has to offer (256MB x2, which in SLI mode is the same as having a single 256MB frame buffer... right?).

So, will 512MB suffice? Or should I be looking into a card which has more?

Thanks.

ASUSEN7900GTX
01-05-08, 03:48 PM
i think 1GB is minimum these days my 640mb isnīt enough so perhaps 1GB VID MEM. and 4GB Ram to get it smoother

THatīs just my thoughts of it

$n][pErMan
01-05-08, 04:18 PM
If you can't afford an 8800GTX with 768mb of vram a very nice choice would be a 8800GT with 512mb of vram. Both are stellar cards IMO, one will just set you back a little more in price for the extra memory :) The GTX will prove much better if you game at higher resolutions like 1920x1200... if you only game at 1280x1024 the GT would be plenty.

SH64
01-05-08, 04:20 PM
For some high-end games nope. games like Dirt & Oblivion+QTP3 require more than just 512MB of video memroy.

sytaylor
01-05-08, 04:31 PM
My GTS feels fine. I don't think video ram is that big of an issue compared with the clocks the core/mem and shaders are running at... which don't seem to be getting much quicker than the GTS 512 for a little while.

AngelGraves13
01-05-08, 04:47 PM
For today, yes. For tomorrow, no.

sytaylor
01-05-08, 05:25 PM
For today, yes. For tomorrow, no.

Really?

Whats on the horizon?

GeniusPr0
01-05-08, 07:45 PM
Really?

Whats on the horizon?

the only games that look demanding for 2008 are alan wake/project offset/fc2.

i really dont see anything else =\

sytaylor
01-05-08, 08:04 PM
My thoughts exactly.

XxDeadlyxX
01-05-08, 08:44 PM
Wait a sec... isn't 9800GX2 only 2x512MB? That would make it the same as 7950GX2... is that a good idea :o

SH64
01-05-08, 09:02 PM
Wait a sec... isn't 9800GX2 only 2x512MB? That would make it the same as 7950GX2... is that a good idea :o
No its not , but do you think Nvidia would care ?

SlieTheSecond
01-05-08, 09:47 PM
I must be in the minority thinking 512 is enough.

Probably because I have a 512 8800 GT and game at 1680x1050 with 16xAA (32xAA with SLI) perfectly fine.

There was a review done between the 8800 GT 256/512/1024 variants. The 512 and 1024 had a 1 fps difference. Though you have to take into consideration how fast the memory is.

Check out all the reviews with video cards that have 512 vram and up.

SH64
01-05-08, 09:54 PM
Sometimes or usually the extra VRAM helps with eliminating the stuttering due to textures preloading/swapping not necessarily affecting the framerates.
it helps with the framerates at very high or extreme resolutions like 1920x1200,4xAA/8xAA & up to 2560x1600.

Crow_Nest
01-05-08, 10:06 PM
Your next video card shouldnt be anything less than 512MB of vram, thats all i can say.

jeffmd
01-06-08, 12:34 AM
512 megs will be enough. I think crysis may be the only one capable of more atm. Sure you may see more memory used in the future, but frankly you could probably lower the texture quality a notch just fine and not notice.

Rakeesh
01-06-08, 12:52 AM
For some high-end games nope. games like Dirt & Oblivion+QTP3 require more than just 512MB of video memroy.

I run oblivion with QTP3 at 1920x1080, with some added INI tweaks that require yet more memory, including a mod that enables open cities and thus requires even more memory. In spite of all of that, 640MB works fine for me and my framerates are outstanding.

I would imagine that if somebody is running at any resolution lower than that at all, or even removes one or two of the INI tweaks I have done, 512MB would work just fine. In fact it would probably work fine without taking any of that away.

I think the key limitation, if anything, would be the CPU. When I enabled these tweaks on the C2D E6300 that I had, there was definitely a frame rate decrease. My current C2Q Q6700 just asks for more though.

marqmajere
01-06-08, 01:00 AM
320 megs of ram on my card. I only game at 1280x1024, but I have 4xAA and 16xAF on all my games and they run great. Oblivion, Bioshock, HL2 to name a few.

SH64
01-07-08, 08:38 PM
I run oblivion with QTP3 at 1920x1080, with some added INI tweaks that require yet more memory, including a mod that enables open cities and thus requires even more memory. In spite of all of that, 640MB works fine for me and my framerates are outstanding.

Again you are talking about framerates & i was talking about stuttering/longer texture loading times that are caused by less VRAM.
besides , you have 640MB which should be fine.

TheSmJ
01-07-08, 09:00 PM
512MB is all you need if you game at 1680x1050 or lower, and will be for another year at least. At 1900x1200 or higher you'd want more.

Furthermore if you like to use AA in your games, then the more VRAM available the better.

Keep in mind the 640MB G80 GTS is slower than the 512MB G92 GTS in games running at 1680x or lower by quite a large margin when AA isn't involved. The G92 core is much more efficient than the G80, thus it's able to make up for the less available VRAM. A higher resolution tends to even the playing field between the two cards depending on the game being played, as physical available VRAM begins make a difference.


So in short, it mostly depends on the monitor/resolution you plan on playing games at.