PDA

View Full Version : Can't choose between X38's


Zapablast05
01-06-08, 04:22 PM
I don't know which of these two motherboards to get. This is probably my last and final step into getting my perfect PC finished.

Should I get the Intel BOXDX38BT and a Q6600 or the Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4 and an Intel Core 2 Duo?

I can't choose....The Intel motherboard has a 1333/1066MHz FSB. I'm used to the Gigabyte BIOS format, I know where everything is and it's got a 1600/1333MHz FSB but the supported processors are $979.

Will I be CPU limited if I get the Intel X3/Gigabyte, or will I be future proof?

Zapablast05
01-06-08, 05:12 PM
Im going to get 2 3850's

stevemedes
01-06-08, 06:04 PM
Go for the gigabyte. Id personally get the Asus Maximus Formula though.

LORD-eX-Bu
01-06-08, 06:45 PM
what about the DFI x38?

Zapablast05
01-06-08, 07:58 PM
Go for the gigabyte. Id personally get the Asus Maximus Formula though.

I was thinking the Gigabyte also. Will the Q6600 work on it?

what about the DFI x38?

I didn't see the DFI when I was looking for an X38.

mullet
01-06-08, 08:05 PM
love my P5E, very stable.

Amuro
01-06-08, 08:07 PM
Problem with Gigabyte is that they tend to revise their PCB very often.

Zapablast05
01-06-08, 10:18 PM
Problem with Gigabyte is that they tend to revise their PCB very often.


I know. The model that I have right now is on Rev. 2.0. I have a 1.0 but I haven't seen many 1.1's floating around. When I look at their site, the 1.0 isn't supposed to have a mosfet cooler, but mine does. I can't tell the difference at all.

DCult
01-08-08, 04:39 AM
love my P5E, very stable.
Mullet, how many sticks are you using? I'm getting errors at vista memtest at both 800MHz and 1066 at 2.2V with my Kingston HyperX 8500/1G, with Bios 5.02. I first found out when playing Crysis at Vista64, (BSOD), probably the first time >2GB were utilised :p

PS. Are you using the extra PCIx sound card that came with the m/b? Is it any good?

namuk
01-08-08, 03:01 PM
i have the GA-X38-DQ6 with a q6600 go . and stable at overclock even on the beta bios but just put the f7 bios on (none beta)

i was wondering how good are the intel motherboards has anyone had an intel board?

Feyy
01-08-08, 03:39 PM
i have the GA-X38-DQ6 with a q6600 go . and stable at overclock even on the beta bios but just put the f7 bios on (none beta)

i was wondering how good are the intel motherboards has anyone had an intel board?

Working perfect here and overclocks fine however the overclocking options are limited and not as varied in options as Asus or other brands.

namuk
01-08-08, 03:57 PM
Working perfect here and overclocks fine however the overclocking options are limited and not as varied in options as Asus or other brands.


i like the bios better than asus . it is easyer only thing is the drr2 vots it adds 0.5 at a time. also have of the asus fetures you turn off anyway .

also how cool do them intel boards run ? they never have a heatpipe on them

ZEROCOOL101
01-08-08, 04:06 PM
I have a DFI x38 LT and its running my QX9650 at 4ghz stable. Great Mobo, got it at newegg but they took it off there website :( MotherboardPro had some last time I checked.

namuk
01-08-08, 04:21 PM
I have a DFI x38 LT and it running my QX9650 and 4ghz stable. Great Mobo, got it at newegg but they took it off there website :( MotherboardPro had some last time I checked.

yea for some reason in uk it was hard to get a dfi x38 . never saw on any of the top computer shops . or even see the release board only the one on net without heatsinks

Zapablast05
01-08-08, 05:36 PM
i have the GA-X38-DQ6 with a q6600 go . and stable at overclock even on the beta bios but just put the f7 bios on (none beta)

i was wondering how good are the intel motherboards has anyone had an intel board?

So it doesn't matter that the Q6600's FSB is 1066MHz and the motherboards is 1600/1333MHz?

namuk
01-09-08, 10:01 AM
So it doesn't matter that the Q6600's FSB is 1066MHz and the motherboards is 1600/1333MHz?

the 1600 fsb is the drr3 board ga x38t dq6 . i have the ddr2 version ga x38 dq6 1066 or 1333 but the board will go too 1600 i have had it running at that with q6600 at 3.2 1.1 with mem

also gigabyte have just released a none beta bios (f7) that supports the yorkfield quads as well

Zapablast05
01-11-08, 08:11 PM
the 1600 fsb is the drr3 board ga x38t dq6 . i have the ddr2 version ga x38 dq6 1066 or 1333 but the board will go too 1600 i have had it running at that with q6600 at 3.2 1.1 with mem

also gigabyte have just released a none beta bios (f7) that supports the yorkfield quads as well

I'm talking about the DS4 though. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128080

Fathertime36
01-12-08, 01:26 AM
Not to sound negative but why bother with x38, it is a go between until x48 is launched, even the manufactures admitted to this being the case when asked why they released it so close to puting out x48, every site I' ve come across state that there are none if any performance gains over p35, the 2.o upgrade is not showing any dramatic gains.....a month or two and x48 will be out and actually give you real performance gains over p35, I would personally wait if I where you.

namuk
01-12-08, 10:47 AM
Not to sound negative but why bother with x38, it is a go between until x48 is launched, even the manufactures admitted to this being the case when asked why they released it so close to puting out x48, every site I' ve come across state that there are none if any performance gains over p35, the 2.o upgrade is not showing any dramatic gains.....a month or two and x48 will be out and actually give you real performance gains over p35, I would personally wait if I where you.

look at the tweaktown review of the x48 there just hand picked x38 chipsets.

Zapablast05
01-12-08, 11:08 AM
Well, how much does the X48 cost?

namuk
01-12-08, 03:15 PM
Well, how much does the X48 cost?

well over here it is 180

Zapablast05
01-12-08, 04:04 PM
well over here it is 180


I don't know how much that is in USD..

namuk
01-12-08, 04:16 PM
I don't know how much that is in USD..

do a search on google then click shopping that will give you a rough idea