PDA

View Full Version : 8800gt PSU problems??


futtbucker
01-20-08, 03:03 PM
I ended up buying an evga 8800gt. Didn't work, no problem, brought it back got a new one, didn't work. Call up their tech supports, and the guy said that its my antec power supply? he said its a "known issue that our cards do not work with antec power supplies" I said whatever ill try different ones, tried a thermaltake, ultra, and even went out and bought a bfg 600w monster thing. Still no signal from card.

Went to EVGA forums. Don't ever go there and tell them your **** doesent work, they will bring everything in to question besides the fact that the mother****er on the phone told me its the power supply.....

has anyone heard of this? I want to get a 8800gt but I dont want to fork out the scrilla if its not gonna work.

I also think my motherboard may be too obsolete. Whatever you guys can tell me will help

asus a8nsli premium
3500+ amd
2gb ocz platnium
bfg 650W psu with like dual 12v rails or some ****.
currently have xfx 6800gt in there.

Ive tried alot of **** like changing ram and plugging all kinds of stuff in whatnot. thx (nana2)

namuk
01-20-08, 03:32 PM
I ended up buying an evga 8800gt. Didn't work, no problem, brought it back got a new one, didn't work. Call up their tech supports, and the guy said that its my antec power supply? he said its a "known issue that our cards do not work with antec power supplies" I said whatever ill try different ones, tried a thermaltake, ultra, and even went out and bought a bfg 600w monster thing. Still no signal from card.

Went to EVGA forums. Don't ever go there and tell them your **** doesent work, they will bring everything in to question besides the fact that the mother****er on the phone told me its the power supply.....

has anyone heard of this? I want to get a 8800gt but I dont want to fork out the scrilla if its not gonna work.

I also think my motherboard may be too obsolete. Whatever you guys can tell me will help

asus a8nsli premium
3500+ amd
2gb ocz platnium
bfg 650W psu with like dual 12v rails or some ****.
currently have xfx 6800gt in there.

Ive tried alot of **** like changing ram and plugging all kinds of stuff in whatnot. thx (nana2)

i had a A8N32-SLI (think yours is one below) and the xfx gt xxx run fine in that was in for two weeks then i upgraded . have you got lastest bios for mb?

the other thing is the psu mmm not shure . there should be enough power there

futtbucker
01-20-08, 03:43 PM
Yup i updated to the latest bios

http://www.buy.com/prod/bfg-650w-power-supply/q/loc/101/203946447.html this is the psu plenty of power.

namuk
01-20-08, 04:00 PM
Yup i updated to the latest bios

http://www.buy.com/prod/bfg-650w-power-supply/q/loc/101/203946447.html this is the psu plenty of power.


yea looked on net seems you have enough power and that board is the one my mate had and he has a gt also.

can you not try the card in aonther system to make shure it is not the card . did you get it from shop if so see if they will let you try it

futtbucker
01-20-08, 04:51 PM
i already brought it back im going to try a different brand

namuk
01-20-08, 05:24 PM
i already brought it back im going to try a different brand

the shop should let you test it to see if it works .

daforce
01-20-08, 11:19 PM
The general thing is to steer clear of dual rail power supplys, either go for a big single rail PSU or one with 3-4 rails.

Reason being in a dual rail is the first rail is 100% dedicated to the CPU, then the 2nd rail has to run everything else. This can often lead to power starvation on things like hungry video cards. However the GT aint that bad so maybe thats not the cause.

AthlonXP1800
01-21-08, 02:58 AM
I see that BFG PSU is the problem, accorded to BFG website it used ATX 2.0 spec but new Geforce 8800GT require ATX 2.2 PSUs, it wont worked with older ATX 2.0 PSUs.

mustrum
01-21-08, 06:52 AM
I can't see the PSU being the problem really. I run a AMD X2 at 3070mhz (90nm CPU - quite the powerhog) and a 8800 GTS at 800mhz and my OCZ Modstream 520 is doing just fine. It only has 28A on the 12V rail (single rail).

Burnt_Ram
01-21-08, 10:50 AM
I can't see the PSU being the problem really. I run a AMD X2 at 3070mhz (90nm CPU - quite the powerhog) and a 8800 GTS at 800mhz and my OCZ Modstream 520 is doing just fine. It only has 28A on the 12V rail (single rail).
hell i use a Antec 480w with 28a 12v and it runs a heavily overclocked A64 and my 8800GT @ 750/2000 with *no* issues. hmmm