PDA

View Full Version : blurred text


peter-overduin
01-21-08, 01:16 PM
Dear all,

I hope someone can help me.
I have a new 22" monitor (1680x1050).
My old card FX5200 did not like it, and I have the impression it was too slow.
I bought a MSI NX7600GS-TD to solve this.
Now Windows XP likes it, but my Debian Etch doesn't.
The problem is still the same: the images seem OK, but the text is blurred. Most letters are not sharp at all, which makes it difficult to read.
The NV driver shipped with Etch didn't understand the card. A recent driver recognized it, but didn't fix the problem. Neither did the latest driver.
The driver is loaded and runs, but it is still blurred.
I have a very good cable. Analog or digital port does not make any difference.

Any suggestions?

PS The logfile was too large, so is not included.

khellandros66
01-21-08, 02:54 PM
Regedit

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SOFTWARE
NVIDIA Corporation
Global
NvCplApi
Policies
ContextUIPolicy <- Change Policy DWORD to a 1

Then you should have the ability to install/enable advanced timings, change the front porch and gate to tweak for blurry text.

Cheers

Bobby

lduguay
01-21-08, 03:57 PM
Are you sure you are running your card at your LCD's native resolution?

SLippe
01-22-08, 03:35 AM
Regedit

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SOFTWARE
NVIDIA Corporation
Global
NvCplApi
Policies
ContextUIPolicy <- Change Policy DWORD to a 1

Then you should have the ability to install/enable advanced timings, change the front porch and gate to tweak for blurry text.

Cheers

Bobby
Is this for real?

peter-overduin
01-22-08, 02:19 PM
Hi,

thanks for your reply!
Only, am I right that your solution is for Windows?
On windows it works fine, but not on Debian Etch.

Could you or anybody else help me?

Thanks!

Peter.

khellandros66
01-25-08, 04:17 PM
Is this for real?

Yes it tis!

You try it? You can tweak all the timings of the front porch, the vsync for vertical and horizontal, etc, pretty leet. No need for any 3rd party utility.

If I remember I will do some screenies this weekend.

~Bobby

peter-overduin
01-26-08, 02:44 AM
No, I didn't try it because on Windows it works fine as it is.

Only, I don't like M$ and so I need a solution for Linux.

Thanks anyway.