PDA

View Full Version : Why is Steam so slow?


Pages : [1] 2

Alaa
01-29-08, 02:58 PM
Downloading @ 12KBps ?!! Is it a common problem?

methimpikehoses
01-29-08, 03:24 PM
Your clientz r clogged.

Feyy
01-29-08, 03:29 PM
http://cipha.de/zsblog/wp-content/images/steam_garbage.jpg

bob saget
01-29-08, 03:38 PM
do you have other things loading at same time? Mine is usually in the 150s.

Libertysyclone
01-29-08, 04:19 PM
I avg 400s

Alaa
01-29-08, 04:34 PM
do you have other things loading at same time? Mine is usually in the 150s.
No. Steam alone.

Monolyth
01-29-08, 04:47 PM
I usually download @ about 14mb/s from Steam...I'm not lying, I had CoD4 downloaded & installed <45mins, which is probably just a bit longer then it would take me to go to brick & mortar, get back and install. :P

mumstheword
01-29-08, 04:49 PM
I always had a deterioration in speed outside of the US.

Alaa
01-29-08, 05:28 PM
I always had a deterioration in speed outside of the US.
:rw: :banghead: :thumbdwn: I really hate this!

LordJuanlo
01-30-08, 03:06 AM
I usually download at 400+ kb/s, I think it depends, maybe there was a server maintenance operation in this moment and some servers were offline, or there were tons of people downloading at the same time.

crainger
01-31-08, 12:16 AM
Downloading @ 12KBps ?!! Is it a common problem?

I am sucking all of your bandwidth with my fat pipe.

mezkal
01-31-08, 12:42 AM
Downloading @ 12KBps ?!! Is it a common problem?

You're probably not downloading from a local/nearby server.

Shutdown Steam, delete your clientregistry.blob and then restart Steam.

If that doesn't fix it complain to your ISP I guess.

mcolbourn
01-31-08, 02:18 AM
I normally get about 300K + on my 4MB connection. Sometimes I do notice it is a lot slower I guess when they roll out patches for games like TF2, there must be lots of people downloading them at once.

nemecb
01-31-08, 09:53 AM
I am sucking all of your fat pipe.
:wtf:






That post was just begging for some creative editing.:D

Tr1cK
01-31-08, 09:56 AM
I DRINK YOUR MILKSHAKE! I DRINK IT UP!!

LORD-eX-Bu
01-31-08, 01:53 PM
may have something to do with this..

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,326988,00.html

Bearclaw
01-31-08, 02:55 PM
may have something to do with this..

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,326988,00.html

:lol2: I saw that earlier today and laughed. Suckers.

I usually have download speeds around 70KB/s. My wireless has never been higher. :\

LORD-eX-Bu
01-31-08, 03:10 PM
:udawg:

Alaa
01-31-08, 03:38 PM
may have something to do with this..

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,326988,00.html
It stopped downloading after this happened!

Bearclaw
01-31-08, 06:22 PM
It stopped downloading after this happened!
Well next time watch where you're driving your submarine!

mkoujak
07-09-08, 05:33 PM
Here's what happened to me. I play frequently and then about 3 months ago I tried turning on CS:S and the error came up and said "not available at this time". I deleted the client.blob file twice! No luck. I also notice that on my steam menu the cs:s file is in constant "update" but theres no connection and when it does connect for like a split second, its @ 2-3kbs what's going on? why can't I play my game!:)

LORD-eX-Bu
07-09-08, 05:39 PM
hurr :retard:

hokeyplyr48
07-09-08, 07:42 PM
in steam, change your download speed to fiber >10Mb. Steam automatically throttles your download speed depending on what you choose. just max it out in steam and you'll cap out at whatever your ISP gives you.

brady
07-09-08, 09:24 PM
Fix your internets. Mine's working just fine. :afro:

http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/7347/steamgb5.jpg

Bearclaw
07-09-08, 09:35 PM
Fix your internets. Mine's working just fine. :afro:

http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/7347/steamgb5.jpg

WOW. I wish I had those speeds.