PDA

View Full Version : Aquarium PC cooling with mineral oil


AthlonXP1800
02-07-08, 10:29 AM
http://media.techeblog.com/images/submerge_5.jpg

Very impressive video showing off PC up and ran 3D Mark filled with mineral oil and watched the aquarium tank bubbled. :)

http://www.techeblog.com/index.php/tech-gadget/feature-mineral-oil-absorbs-heat-cools-computer-system-video-

nekrosoft13
02-07-08, 10:34 AM
would be nice if you could use real water, and have fish swimming.

nekrosoft13
02-07-08, 11:17 AM
hmm, what if the aquarium would be bigger, and put a PC in seperate compartment with mineral oil. sorrounded by normal water and fish ;)

breathemetal
02-07-08, 11:18 AM
hmm, what if the aquarium would be bigger, and put a PC in seperate compartment with mineral oil. sorrounded by normal water and fish ;)

Now that would be awesome!

Could this be a 24/7 rig? Is the mineral oil safe for that?
Would you have to change it out every so often?

nekrosoft13
02-07-08, 11:25 AM
i need to find out how much a medium size aquarium would cost.

then some acrylic and that non-toxix glue paste to seperate compartments.

Tr1cK
02-07-08, 11:27 AM
i need to find out how much a medium size aquarium would cost.

then some acrylic and that non-toxix glue paste to seperate compartments.

The one I have my turtles in is a 30 gallon tall that was around $100 at Walmart.

I would just set a smaller one inside a larger one if I pursued this.

nekrosoft13
02-07-08, 11:30 AM
i could probably get one for less then that. would be a cool idea.

Harnagel
02-07-08, 12:08 PM
I think the aquarium gets pretty warm, they were saying at load it was 70C. I'm not sure if it would be too warm for fish. I guess you could put the radiator on it though.

http://www.pugetsystems.com/submerged.php

nekrosoft13
02-07-08, 12:34 PM
tropical fish then ;)

or, i could run pipes of mineral oil through rest of the tank (water) to cool it down.

jcrox
02-07-08, 12:48 PM
I've got an empty 55 gallon tank sitting in my basement.... come summer I think I might have to experiment a bit. I think I'll start on this 8 year old dell I got for free from the wife's work though..... just to be sure ;)

XDanger
02-07-08, 03:02 PM
because theres no air flow needed you could drop it in a deep freeze.

LORD-eX-Bu
02-07-08, 03:04 PM
because theres no air flow needed you could drop it in a deep freeze.

:wtf:

RaidenWoW
02-07-08, 03:57 PM
because theres no air flow needed you could drop it in a deep freeze.
:screwy:

bacon12
02-07-08, 05:11 PM
Quick whats the freeze point for mineral oil?

I saw this almost a year ago, still amazes me.

XDanger
02-07-08, 05:17 PM
I remember they tried it with de-ionized water or whatever, not so good.

Hmm I cant find the freeze point of mineral oil but I can see what machine to use to find out ??!!
http://www.bartec.de/homepage/eng/downloads/produkte/analysegs/FRP_4_e.pdf