PDA

View Full Version : Lost Planet using *8 CORES*


Pages : [1] 2

3DBrad
02-07-08, 11:58 AM
http://www.gamespot.com/features/6185511/index.html?tag=topslot;title;4&om_act=convert&om_clk=topslot

:D

Revs
02-07-08, 12:01 PM
Lost Planet was always good at making full use of hardware. FEAR was too.

SeriTonin
02-07-08, 12:03 PM
I agree. I still use the little benchmark that they added to the demo of this game, I wonder why it wasnt included in the retail version.

This game defintely uses every part in your rig. Im sill amazed at the texture job of the monsters, epic might want to take note on how textures are supposed to look.

Revs
02-07-08, 12:23 PM
Yeah, the textures are super duper on teh monsters. I never did get round to finishing it :o

SeriTonin
02-07-08, 12:31 PM
Yeah, the textures are super duper on teh monsters. I never did get round to finishing it :o

Neither did I, actually. I played a good portion of it and then Bioshock and Stranglehold came out at the time I was playing this, and I just never got back to it.

I'll finish it when there's a dry spell in gaming, usually always a few dead months in the summer.

3DBrad
02-07-08, 12:35 PM
I agree. I still use the little benchmark that they added to the demo of this game, I wonder why it wasnt included in the retail version.

This game defintely uses every part in your rig. Im sill amazed at the texture job of the monsters, epic might want to take note on how textures are supposed to look.

The benchmark is back with the latest updates. :)

LordJuanlo
02-07-08, 12:49 PM
I abandoned the game months ago at level 7, but last weekend I got it back and finished it. Great game, worth every second spent on it.

BTW notice how the SLI on the Skulltrail system beats the 780i (last benchmark on that page)

Thingding
02-07-08, 03:00 PM
Sadly the game never lived up to levels 1&2. if they'd just given us 4 more of those it would have been an amazing game, but sadly I felt the more you played it, the more it sucked.

also it was harder than a pirate.

SH64
02-07-08, 08:01 PM
Take notes Mr.Yerli.

brady
02-07-08, 08:04 PM
Take notes Mr.Yerli.

Seriously, what was all that business about more cores. The octo core machine outperforms the dual core by 3fps :barf:

JigenD
02-07-08, 08:11 PM
Seriously, what was all that business about more cores. The octo core machine outperforms the dual core by 3fps :barf:

Either GPU limited or not coded well enough to take advantage of the cores. More cores ARE better, but it's not magic.

nutcrackr
02-07-08, 08:11 PM
ut3 is using 8 cores pretty well too.

SeriTonin
02-07-08, 08:18 PM
ut3 is using 8 cores pretty well too.

For those 1024x1024 wall textures? :retard:

nutcrackr
02-07-08, 08:29 PM
hay guys ut3 has low res textures LOL AMIRITE? :rolleyes:

SeriTonin
02-07-08, 08:30 PM
800x600?

hell_of_doom227
02-07-08, 08:37 PM
Unlike Crysis..just look at that unoptimised crap called Crysis. I already stated that you can have 8 ultra cards 16 cores it wouldn't do a ****. Crytek programmers don't know their job well.

3DBrad
02-07-08, 08:55 PM
Unlike Crysis..just look at that unoptimised crap called Crysis. I already stated that you can have 8 ultra cards 16 cores it wouldn't do a ****. Crytek programmers don't know their job well.

I didn't know UT3, LP, and all the other games have subsurface scattering, immense physics, vast worlds full of millions of polygons, and modding tools that rival and pass a lot of commercial 3d apps. :p

SH64
02-07-08, 08:57 PM
Unlike Crysis..just look at that unoptimised crap called Crysis. I already stated that you can have 8 ultra cards 16 cores it wouldn't do a ****. Crytek programmers don't know their job well.
Yep! Or to be precise Crytek programmers didnt do their job well on the CPU department as they did with the graphics department. what a shame for such a great engine :thumbdwn:
& kudos to Capcom on thier pretty well optimized Framework engine. simply amazing how this engine takes advatange on whatever GPU/CPU you throw at it :thumbsup:

3DBrad
02-07-08, 09:03 PM
Yep! Or to be precise Crytek programmers didnt do their job well on the CPU department as they did with the graphics department. what a shame for such a great engine :thumbdwn:
& kudos to Capcom on thier pretty well optimized Framework engine. simply amazing how this engine takes advatange on whatever GPU/CPU you throw at it :thumbsup:


Where's the graphics card to run Crysis? :p

SH64
02-07-08, 09:06 PM
Where's the graphics card to run Crysis? :p
The max quality graphics of Crysis is simply beyond our current gener of video cards. people need to understand that.
oh & its nvidia's job now to put a card that can play Crysis at its full glory , not a fully milked GPU that lasted more than a year with no refresh just yet (i.e. G80)

3DBrad
02-07-08, 09:08 PM
The max quality graphics of Crysis is simply beyond our current gener of video cards. people need to understand that.
oh & its nvidia's job now to put a card that can play Crysis at its full glory , not a fully milked GPU that lasted more than a year (i.e. G80)

Indeed!

"Bringing you the newest hardware from. . .2006. . .is. . .the 8800gtx. .errr. . .Ultra. . .uhhmmm. . .Gx2. . .which is 30% faster than it's 1 1/2 year old cousin." :(

Nanosuitguy
02-07-08, 09:09 PM
Tell me, whats the difference between the QX9770 and QX9775 cpu?

I thought this new 8 cores "skulltrail" deal was just two QX9770, but what about 9775?

SH64
02-07-08, 09:10 PM
Tell me, whats the difference between the QX9770 and QX9775 cpu?

Different pinout ;)
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/intel/showdoc.aspx?i=3216&p=2

MustangSVT
02-07-08, 09:18 PM
I still don't understand why they do comparisons at 1024x768. Completely useless since I play all of my games at 1680x1050 or 1920x1200 at which the game will be limited by the GPU, not CPU.

mythy
02-07-08, 09:34 PM
so that there not gpu limited