PDA

View Full Version : RAID/configuration question


hokeyplyr48
02-09-08, 10:15 AM
I have 3 150gb Raptors and I'm looking for the setup that will give me the best performance.

theres a couple options:
raid 0 all three
raid 0 two and put OS/program files/users and pagefile on another raptor
(but would i need a big pagefile since i have 4gb?)
1 raptor for os and put program files/users on the other two raptors in raid 0

there's a bunch of combinations and I'm not sure what to do. any ideas for the best performance?

Wolfhound
02-09-08, 12:41 PM
I have 3 150gb Raptors and I'm looking for the setup that will give me the best performance.

theres a couple options:
raid 0 all three
raid 0 two and put OS/program files/users and pagefile on another raptor
(but would i need a big pagefile since i have 4gb?)
1 raptor for os and put program files/users on the other two raptors in raid 0

there's a bunch of combinations and I'm not sure what to do. any ideas for the best performance?

I use this config if I were you, put two raptors on raid0, here goes system and programs, use other raptor to page file (I have 4 gigs and a pagefile of 4 Gigs exactly) and user files.

stncttr908
02-09-08, 12:44 PM
It might be worth checking out RAID5 performance for some built in redundancy.

hokeyplyr48
02-09-08, 01:39 PM
I use this config if I were you, put two raptors on raid0, here goes system and programs, use other raptor to page file (I have 4 gigs and a pagefile of 4 Gigs exactly) and user files.

i think i'll give this a try. would there be a benefit to making the pagefile any bigger than 4 gigs?

stncttr908
02-09-08, 01:55 PM
No. You don't even need it to be 4GB.

Roliath
02-09-08, 02:01 PM
In my experience (across hundeds of Servers) I'd say buy another Raptor and run them in Raid10.
If this isn't possible, you could always go Raid 5 however I was not too impressed with Raptors in a Raid 5 vs Raid 10 (on at least 6 different raid cards).
I could go into more detail if you would like, PM me.

Wolfhound
02-11-08, 02:57 AM
i think i'll give this a try. would there be a benefit to making the pagefile any bigger than 4 gigs?


No 4 Gigs is more than enough

stncttr908
02-11-08, 10:51 AM
I keep mine at 2GB. A 4GB pagefile and 4GB hibernation file is too much. :D

hokeyplyr48
02-11-08, 03:47 PM
is there any harm in having too much? is there like a point of diminishing returns or what?

Armed_Baboon
02-11-08, 05:38 PM
redundency is for pussies or those who use there computer for work.


surely all 3 in raid 0 for 3x the performance.

it'll be loud though.

XDanger
02-11-08, 07:14 PM
if you have a case with bad acoustic dampening.

I never hear a peep out of my drives. Well maybe a little peep.

stncttr908
02-11-08, 07:15 PM
redundency is for pussies or those who use there computer for work.
:wtf:

XDanger
02-11-08, 07:18 PM
when your striped array breaks you change your mind quickly and decide its not worth it.

Id have 1 for Vista ,1 for xp and one for Crysis.

einstein_314
02-11-08, 07:37 PM
when your striped array breaks you change your mind quickly and decide its not worth it.

Id have 1 for Vista ,1 for xp and one for Crysis.
Yup, that's what happened to me. Never again will I use a RAID-0 array for anything that is even slightly important. Redundancy FTW!