PDA

View Full Version : 8800


jatsos
02-15-08, 10:50 PM
ok so i have an gigabyte ga-k8nf-9 nForce 4 chipset and i was wondering if i could have an 8800GT,8800GTS(92), or any other 8800.
http://tw.giga-byte.com/Products/Motherboa...?ProductID=1860
thats the link to my mobo

methimpikehoses
02-16-08, 12:56 AM
ok so i have an gigabyte ga-k8nf-9 nForce 4 chipset and i was wondering if i could have an 8800GT,8800GTS(92), or any other 8800.
http://tw.giga-byte.com/Products/Motherboa...?ProductID=1860
thats the link to my mobo

You need a mobo with a PCI-Express x16 slot. Your link is broken...

SlieTheSecond
02-16-08, 02:06 AM
Yes your mobo can support the video card.

http://tw.giga-byte.com/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ProductID=1860

jatsos
02-16-08, 02:57 AM
allright thanks. but will it crash couse i heard about pcs crashing if your pc isnt good enough for the vid card
and how can i update my bios?

RaidenWoW
02-16-08, 03:15 AM
You'll be fine. Just make sure you plug in the 2 pin power adapter for extra power for your video card.

john19055
02-16-08, 04:36 AM
I don't think that model has no extra hookups except the 4pin 12v plug ,I did'nt see no extra hookups like some of them have .All you need to do is plug it in to your PCIe 16x slot and hook up the power plug on your video card ,and set it to PEG in your BIOS for the 16x PCI express card .But any of the 8800 models will work fine with it,as for as that goes even the AMD 3850 0r 3870 will work with it too.But unless the prices have come down on the 3870 ,the 8800GT 512mb is the best deal.

jatsos
02-16-08, 12:55 PM
thank you guys for the hlep. it really helped me out(nana2)

jatsos
02-16-08, 01:01 PM
I don't think that model has no extra hookups except the 4pin 12v plug ,I did'nt see no extra hookups like some of them have .All you need to do is plug it in to your PCIe 16x slot and hook up the power plug on your video card ,and set it to PEG in your BIOS for the 16x PCI express card .

Wat do you mean by that my mobo doesnt have any extra plugins so shoud i just plug a plug from my psu
i have a 600watt cooler master

jatsos
02-16-08, 09:11 PM
i heard that the 8800 would be limited couse of my mobo is this true?

K007
02-16-08, 09:34 PM
i heard that the 8800 would be limited couse of my mobo is this true?

The only thing it would be limited is weather or not you have enough juice in ure psu.