PDA

View Full Version : Network monitoring for clusters


Tuork
02-18-08, 09:58 AM
Hello all...
I'm working on a research project at my Uni, and to sum things up, I need to figure out a way to monitor the network status of a computer cluster that is going to be doing some 3D processing.

I heard ethereal can do this, but my knowledge of this tool is very limited.

Seeing as I recall reading some of the guys at nvNews are network admins, I thought it wouldn't hurt to ask. :)

BTW, all of the computers are running Fedora Core 8.
I am currently using (or at least trying to use) Ganglia to monitor performance and resources over the grid.

I thank you all.

Runningman
02-18-08, 01:37 PM
http://www.solarwinds.com/
i know its not open sauce but you might want to try these guys. a few years ago i used some of there tools for some SNMP monitors i needed. i dont know how they now compare to other sources out there.

SLippe
02-19-08, 05:58 AM
http://www.solarwinds.com/
i know its not open sauce but you might want to try these guys. a few years ago i used some of there tools for some SNMP monitors i needed. i dont know how they now compare to other sources out there.
open sauce? :rofl

Sorry. Back to topic. :cool:

Runningman
02-19-08, 08:09 AM
open sauce? :rofl

Sorry. Back to topic. :cool:
ya, i lifted from the inq...lol

SLippe
02-19-08, 10:48 PM
ya, i lifted from the inq...lol
Figures! :rolleyes:

Teh Inquirer is teh suck.

Tuork
02-20-08, 08:36 AM
Ganglia is up a running. Nifty tool, btw.

Any other suggestions for network monitoring? Open Source is preferred.
Oh, and Linux compatibility is MUST.

I've looked at Ethereal (now wireshark) but it would only work if I'm behind a hub seeing as switches send packets to individual MAC addresses.

Runningman
02-20-08, 04:37 PM
Ganglia is up a running. Nifty tool, btw.

Any other suggestions for network monitoring? Open Source is preferred.
Oh, and Linux compatibility is MUST.

I've looked at Ethereal (now wireshark) but it would only work if I'm behind a hub seeing as switches send packets to individual MAC addresses.
if you have access to the switch you can port forward or in the cisco world, doa span. this would send the traffic you needed to the port with the monitor active. most managed switches has something like this on it
http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/473/41.html

Tuork
02-21-08, 11:31 AM
Dont think they'll let me even near the switches, let alone mess with them.

I could pass a request for them to do it. Thanks for the info.