PDA

View Full Version : Safe voltage for Q6600 GO?


Harnagel
02-22-08, 01:49 PM
Hey guys, I'm running my Q6600 G0 at 1.5V (everest reads back 1.44 under load). Is that too high for 24/7 use?

stncttr908
02-22-08, 02:29 PM
Update your profile! :D

I would think 1.5V is safe for a 65nm, but I wouldn't go higher.

Harnagel
02-22-08, 02:32 PM
Thanks stncttr908. I just lowered it to 1.475V and it still seems stable. If prime95 is good here for 1-2 hours I'll try and lower it again. It wasn't stable at 1.45.

:D yeha, I gues I should update my sig...

Harnagel
02-22-08, 06:51 PM
Well, it looks like 1.475 is as low as I can go for 3.6GHz. After a couple of hours of prime95 Small FFT CPU temps are around 57C, so I'm pretty satisfied with that.

methimpikehoses
02-22-08, 07:33 PM
I think mine is set to 1.49 and reads 1.43-4 in everest.

Muppet
02-22-08, 07:47 PM
I have minw at 1.53 volts for 3.8 overclock. That's 24/7, mine is watercooled though. Idles temps are high 30's and load is in the high 60's.

Roliath
02-22-08, 09:48 PM
Mine is at 1.5vcore (1.45 under load) @ 3.2Ghz.
I can boot to 3.6Ghz but its not entirely stable yet at those speeds.

My VID was 1.35 though

DeusGear
02-22-08, 10:09 PM
I have mine set to 1.4875 core and in windows it's 1.40-1.43
my VID is 1.2625V

Muppet
02-22-08, 10:14 PM
Mine is at 1.5vcore (1.45 under load) @ 3.2Ghz.
I can boot to 3.6Ghz but its not entirely stable yet at those speeds.

My VID was 1.35 though
I found, I got alot more stability at 3.6, when I lowered the multiplier to 8 and up the FSB to 475. Alot more stable it was.
Whoops, sorry that is 3.8, but try to drop the mutiplier to 8 and see how you go.

Roliath
02-23-08, 12:01 AM
I found, I got alot more stability at 3.6, when I lowered the multiplier to 8 and up the FSB to 475. Alot more stable it was.
Whoops, sorry that is 3.8, but try to drop the mutiplier to 8 and see how you go.
Yeah I noticed that too with 3Ghz, but i'd have to run my ram on a divider because there's not a chance in hell it'll do 475.
I'll toy with it tomorrow.

Harnagel
02-23-08, 12:48 AM
Thanks you guys. It's good to see the voltages I'm using aren't too far out of the norm. On a side note I put some of these coil things over my tubes and my temps went down by several degrees.

http://www.petrastechshop.com/40swsm625f5o.html

I guess some of the bends in my loops were a bit tight, these things work really well though.

$n][pErMan
02-23-08, 11:42 AM
My VID is 1.2500v... whatever that means :p Running it at 1.26V @ 3.15Ghz

Feyy
02-23-08, 03:53 PM
[pErMan']My VID is 1.2500v... whatever that means :p

Stock voltage your CPU runs at, (at stock speed) Edit :)

Lenin
02-23-08, 05:21 PM
Sounds a bit high. Mine is 1.4V @ 3.6ghz (reads 1.35V) and 1.3V @ 3.2ghz (reads 1.25V).

Stock voltage your CPU runs at.
No, stock voltage for q6600 g0 is 1.20V.

Feyy
02-23-08, 05:48 PM
No, stock voltage for q6600 g0 is 1.20V.

(bs2)

Harnagel
02-24-08, 03:45 AM
I think the stock voltage for the Q6600 varies from chip to chip. I have heard anything form 1.20 to 1.35, the default on mine is 1.30.

Amuro
02-24-08, 04:05 AM
The VID voltage range for the G0 is 0.85-1.5V according to Intel. (http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLACR) So I would say anything below 1.5V is safe, anything above that, you take your chances.

Lenin
02-25-08, 04:58 PM
I think the stock voltage for the Q6600 varies from chip to chip. I have heard anything form 1.20 to 1.35, the default on mine is 1.30.
Well, the default on mine is 1.20V, and I've seen many others with the same.
You're the first one I see with a default voltage of 1.30V.

The VID voltage range for the G0 is 0.85-1.5V according to Intel. (http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLACR) So I would say anything below 1.5V is safe, anything above that, you take your chances.
I'd rather stay a good bit below that maximally acceptable 1.5V for 24/7 operation, like 1.45V tops.

Harnagel
02-25-08, 05:12 PM
I found a pretty good thread for this subject over at xtreme...

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=152603&page=88

If you read through it you can see the VID values for the Q6600 are pretty varied. Supposedly, the lower the VID the better it should OC, but there's quite a bit of luck invloved in that too.

Revs
02-25-08, 05:13 PM
http://processorfinder.intel.com/Details.aspx?sSpec=SLACR

0.85V – 1.5V

< 71*C