PDA

View Full Version : DSL...The Nature Of The Beast

seeker
02-25-08, 09:10 AM
I have never used anything except dialup before, but my ISP was just bought out by a company that claims that they shall offer nationwide DSL by next month. Depending on several factors, I will probably subscribe to it. However, one question keeps running around in my head...is DSL always on, or is there a dialup to connect, like I'm doing now?

Alaa
02-25-08, 10:53 AM
Always on.

seeker
02-25-08, 12:17 PM
Thanks, I was afraid of that, since I only have one telephone line and can't afford another. However, I was reading about a new internet telephone service called Ooma, that provides a second line free. The catch is that they require you to buy a telephone hub from them that costs $400. I guess that in the long run it would be cheap enough.

The reason that this is an issue for me now, is because one change made with the buy out of the ISP is that instead of unlimited connection time, it is now only 350 hours a month, which I usually exceed. They don't just charge extra for the overtime, they suspend service til the next month.

Monolyth
02-25-08, 12:45 PM
DSL runs concurrently with your phone service. You usually just need a filter installed on your wall outlets and you're good to go. Since DSL is always on the only way they might be able to cap your usage is by actually tracking the amount of data you download, so that 350hrs probably only applies to dial-up, which makes sense, I would check their ToS on the various packages they will be offering for more details, and when in doubt call'em up and ask'em.

seeker
02-25-08, 02:14 PM
That is good to know, but it still sounds strange that I could dial a regular telephone number while DSL is operating at the same time. However, I'm not questioning it. Just guessing, I suppose that ToS is the baudrate of the DSL...yes?

Monolyth
02-25-08, 02:24 PM