PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading from GTS to GTX...drive wipe?


tornadog
03-03-08, 09:35 AM
Should I format and install OS or just uninstall drivers insert new card reboot?

CaptNKILL
03-03-08, 09:39 AM
Just uninstall, replace card, and install the new driver.

ATOJAR
03-03-08, 11:04 AM
As said above, just uninstall the old drivers & run driver cleaner pro in safe mode! job done. :)

jcrox
03-03-08, 03:17 PM
video cards don't require a fresh windows install. Just uninstall the old drivers and install the new ones. Run driver cleaner if thats your thing as well

Lenin
03-03-08, 05:22 PM
Uninstall, swap cards, reinstall.
Drivercleaner should only be neccessary when changing from nvidia to Ati.

shabby
03-03-08, 09:14 PM
Low level format!

mullet
03-04-08, 12:12 AM
make sure the PC is off first. (throwpc) :birthday:

SLippe
03-04-08, 03:25 AM
What they ^ said, more or less.

Lenin
03-04-08, 05:12 PM
Low level format!
Yes, and pull the new card through your butt crack while you're at it :captnkill:

3DBrad
03-04-08, 05:20 PM
The only time I had to do otherwise was with my 7950gx2.

If I ever replaced a card with it and didn't reinstall Windows, I'd keep getting random BSODs. After a reformat, I wouldn't have this problem, usually.

Blacklash
03-04-08, 05:28 PM
I remove the drivers in safe mode. Shut down the computer. Remove the old card, install new. I then boot and install the drivers under windows.

I use Driver cleaner if switch from ATi to nVidia. I also make sure my prefetch folder is clean.

$n][pErMan
03-04-08, 07:54 PM
make sure the PC is off first. (throwpc) :birthday:
+1 ... lol.

mullet
03-05-08, 12:43 AM
I remove the drivers in safe mode. Shut down the computer. Remove the old card, install new. I then boot and install the drivers under windows.

I use Driver cleaner if switch from ATi to nVidia. I also make sure my prefetch folder is clean.

I can see you doing the robot dance while saying this. :captnkill: (nana2) :captnkill:

turdhat
03-05-08, 11:34 AM
I swapped an asus p5wdh deluxe with an asus p5k with a totally different chipset and didnt reformat so I would say no. Just run driver cleaner in safe mode etc...

You can swap mobo's if you know the tricks. My system is fast and rock solid..