PDA

View Full Version : nForce 2 not supporting 400fsb Athlons?


netviper13
04-28-03, 01:35 PM
Just read this at OCWorkbench:

"nForce2 SPP not suitable for Barton 400Mhz CPU running DualChannel mode ?
Posted by overclocker at 11:02

*Before you read this, take note that i am using a Barton AXP 3000+ (400) model, thus I am not overclocking*

While we are excited about the nForce2 SPP (current) which can be overclocked so that current AXPs can be overclocked to 200Mhz and above. There is something that you might want to know that the current C1 stepping is not the nForce2 Ultra 400.

nForce2 Ultra 400 chipset is the yet to be lanuched and it will support DC-DDR400 and future Barton CPUs. The current nForce2 SPP does not support and in most cases can only run steadily with a AXP3000+ (Barton 400 model) if it is run with only a single DDR stick.

We have done some testing and found that the current nForce2 board hung intermittently many times during our tests. The worst case is that even at CAS 2.5, 8-4-4, it will just hang and the only thing I can is to restart the system. Voltages are also adjusted.

Will a new BIOS resolve this problem, I am not sure. nVIDIA will launch a new nForce2 Ultra 400 chipset which will officially support the new Barton 400 cpus running in dual channel mode. Thus, it can be more or less confirmed that the current generation of nForce2 chipsets can only run your Barton 400 CPUs at Single Channel and probably at Dual Channel (based on some luck)."

What do you think that means? I thought Abit boards were certified to run 400fsb Athlons?

SavagePaladin
04-28-03, 01:53 PM
we've been shipping parts for some time that are Ultra 400's but marked as older models so that the transition would be smooth. Suffice it to say that the only ones who know the true revisions are NVIDIA and the partners shipping the parts.

saturnotaku
04-28-03, 01:54 PM
Originally posted by netviper13
I thought Abit boards were certified to run 400fsb Athlons?

That's what I heard, too. That such support would be coming in the form of a BIOS update. I hope we don't have a situation similar to when the first DVD+RW drives hit the market. They were support to offer support for DVD+R via a firmware update, but drive manufacturers later found out this wasn't possible. Sounds like we might be in the same boat here, too. :|

netviper13
04-28-03, 07:44 PM
They damn well better if what the post says is true. I just paid over $100 of what little money I have for that board mainly for the 400fsb certification.

fldrice
04-28-03, 08:04 PM
The revision 2.0 of the northbridge should support the 400mhz fsb athlons.

goofjb
04-29-03, 06:58 AM
I have just bought the Soltek 75-FRN2 mobo. Maybe I should have waited.

john19055
04-29-03, 10:35 AM
It stated that the Revision 2 supports the 400FSB.Looks like if I can run my A7N8X-Deluxe2.0 with a XP2400 at 215X 10.5,IT WOULD RUN A barton 400FSB.

|JuiceZ|
04-29-03, 12:57 PM
Originally posted by fldrice
The revision 2.0 of the northbridge should support the 400mhz fsb athlons.

they do I've seen 'em run fine.

StealthHawk
04-29-03, 04:19 PM
Ok, so how do you know if you have a revision 2.0 northbridge on your motherboard?

Woodelf
04-29-03, 10:43 PM
Originally posted by StealthHawk
Ok, so how do you know if you have a revision 2.0 northbridge on your motherboard?

Rev 2.0 mainboard,

A7n8x rev 2.0 (I haven't seen the deluxe rev.2.0)
nf7-s ver 2

I had the A7n8x deluxe with the north bridge stepping of A2 (AKA older non 400fsb), Some of the A3 steppings will do it. add a fan to the north bridge and a heatsink to the south bridge.

I now have this on order. Decided to do it right.
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=110096&Category_Code=AMB




;)

john19055
04-30-03, 07:27 AM
With the A7N8X-Deluxe2.0 the cipsets are C1 witch states on the asus site says it has 400bus for the new upcomeing processors.

Woodelf
04-30-03, 09:37 PM
I suppose the c1 stands for "crush".
I'll have to see how well they work out, I have a vapochill premium case arriving tomorrow, along with the NF7-s ver 2, 1GB corsair twinx 3200. WD raptor 10,000 rpm ata150, radeon 9800pro, *Enermax 550w. barton 2800+, next week.;)

Woodelf
04-30-03, 09:55 PM
also the motherboard version number should be between the pci slot's.
:)

Woodelf
05-10-03, 01:04 AM
Originally posted by Woodelf
I suppose the c1 stands for "crush".
I'll have to see how well they work out, I have a vapochill premium case arriving tomorrow, along with the NF7-s ver 2, 1GB corsair twinx 3200. WD raptor 10,000 rpm ata150, radeon 9800pro, *Enermax 550w. barton 2800+, next week.;)

Update: New system
Athlon XP 2800+ *(Barton) @ 2.58GHZ 215x12fsb.
Ram @ 430MHZ 5222

3Dmark 2001se (default) 20500
3Dmark 2003 (default) 6584 :p

*edit