PDA

View Full Version : Help me out guys! Birthday is comming :D


HiCZoK4
03-04-08, 11:24 AM
Hi to you all. So ,I will have an opportunity to upgrade my pc a bit. And I cant justice what to change.
This is how it works. I mainly use 1280x800 or 1440x900 res. The weird thing is that I get good fps in most games and stuttering. For example:GoW fps is same good in booth resolutions but 1440x900 stutters as hell. And this is common for most new games.

So i am thinking. Is 2gb ram too low or is 320mbgts just not enought for 22' widescreen? What do you recommend me to do?(I am ocing my gts if that matters)
ps.Xp vista=all the same+vista=a bit worse than xp :D
thx in advance and sorry for 999999 topic about this.

qube
03-04-08, 11:38 AM
a new GFX 9800gtx and a new cpu q6600 or q9450

HiCZoK4
03-04-08, 11:42 AM
a new GFX 9800gtx and a new cpu q6600 or q9450
lol NO i did not robbed a bank :headexplode:

qube
03-04-08, 12:02 PM
ok a Q6600 does not cost much and a amd 3870x2 is cheap as hell

HiCZoK4
03-04-08, 12:13 PM
ok a Q6600 does not cost much and a amd 3870x2 is cheap as hell
I have problem selling 320gts.(No one wants it dunno why :D ) and then that amd is too expensive. still gt512 is about 60% of its price.

But hey This is not what I asked.
Is stuttering caused by 2gb ram ot gpu ?
is there a way to make games use standard ram more than gpu ram ?
becouse 4gb is cheaper than gpu just for ram

Lenin
03-04-08, 06:24 PM
So i am thinking.
Yes, I can hear the cog wheels running :D

Is 2gb ram too low
Depends. Should be ok with XP, but too little for Vista with its voracious memory appetite :headexplode:

is 320mbgts just not enought for 22' widescreen?
Whoa, a 22 *foot* screen? :headexplode:
You mean 22", right? That would be 1680x1050. (Weren't you using 1440x900?)
Anyway, using a 320mb gts with that res is rather tight, but could work without aa if you don't need to play the newest games avaiable.
Otherwise, I'd strongly recommend an upgrade - the 3870x2 would do fine there.

Heinzftw
03-05-08, 10:00 AM
Birthday ehh?
Get 400+$$ for your b-day. Save up a grand and then sell your computer or its parts. Once you reach around 1400 you can do something with it. Still I must say that to build a moderate system with modern technology such as SLI. 680 or 780 motherboard, Q6600 processor or E8400, cheap ram such as patriot 3+gb of it, and your cooling? What are you looking to do with this comp? Video games, coding, pr0n?

HiCZoK4
03-05-08, 10:24 AM
Birthday ehh?
Get 400+$$ for your b-day. Save up a grand and then sell your computer or its parts. Once you reach around 1400 you can do something with it. Still I must say that to build a moderate system with modern technology such as SLI. 680 or 780 motherboard, Q6600 processor or E8400, cheap ram such as patriot 3+gb of it, and your cooling? What are you looking to do with this comp? Video games, coding, pr0n?
i think my system is moder enought, just could use more ram and gpu with more memory.
my e6300 1.86 is oced to 2.80 so its not bad at all

XDanger
03-06-08, 04:09 PM
I think it was GRAW you could offload a lot of the textures or something into RAM

I think.

The e6300 can do 3.5 no probs with your ram ,PUSH IT.

Crysis likes 3.2

Toss3
03-06-08, 04:58 PM
Your setup is fine for all of todays games except for maybe crysis at high settings. I run on 2Gb also, and haven't run into any stuttering as of yet(and I run vista 64 bit). So the problem isn't really your comp itself, but rather the ue3 engine. I haven't played a single ue3 game yet, due to reports much like this one, but the ones I play on the xbox360 stutter like crazy.

What you could do is try no-cd patches, since it would cause the game to load directly from your harddrive which such be faster than loading it from a dvd. Don't really know if it would make any kind of difference though, but it's worth a shot.
Another thing I could recommend is reading tweak guides to find settings that minimizes the use of you system ram.

What I would do were I in your shoes, is that I would get an 8800gt as a present and buy the 2Gb of extra ram myself, since you can get it for ~30. This way you could make an easy 50 since you should be able to sell that 8800gts for ~80 if not for more. If you want you could always pitch in on the 8800gt with the extra money you get from selling the 8800gts. :captnkill:

If you do however only receive money I'd say go for both the 8800gt and ram especially since the latter wouldn't add much to the price.