PDA

View Full Version : Gutted! damn crappy BFG GT overheating again :(

Pages : [1] 2

wysiwyg
03-07-08, 06:36 AM
a few months ago i had the Gt replaced due to lockups and artifacting. the store replaced it. now this replacement's been fine for the last few months but now all of a sudden its been locking up and artifacting again.

sucha load of hassle :headexplode:

EciDemon
03-07-08, 06:40 AM
What are the temps on the card, idle and load ?
and if possible, ambient temp too

Im still new at my gt card, so Im not sure where the comfort zone ends.

wysiwyg
03-07-08, 06:48 AM
well all i can see are core temps

it again a mem issue not being able to run at OC2 settings and there is no way to see the temp of that

core is 60c

im using a thermalright cooler and mem heatsinks too

ATOJAR
03-07-08, 07:56 AM
I remember when i first got my GT, i think it was idleing at 60c & going over 90c load! ... that was way to warm for me when my older GTS 640MB was running at 46c idle with a thermalright HR-03-PLUS! .... i whipped that stock cooler off the next day when my zalman (VF900-CU) cooler arrived! i put the (VF900-CU) on with some AS5 thermal compound and now my card idles at 48c! load is around 65c.

That just dont seem right when you have a thermalright on there, those things are darn good cooler! ... you sure its seated right?

wysiwyg
03-07-08, 09:17 AM
as said

the core is fine

is the memory that is the problem. they just have heatsinks. the thermalright is just for the core

bacon12
03-07-08, 09:39 AM
When mine would go over 72+ degrees mine would artifact/lockup. I put a VF-900 on mine as well, and installed a 120 side fan blowing directly on it.

No more problems and temps mid 40s

wysiwyg
03-07-08, 10:00 AM
no space for another fan in my case :(

XDanger
03-07-08, 07:00 PM
(please excuse stating the obvious but) Fans come in many different sizes

core 60c idle or load?

Would you consider epoxy on the sinks?

grey_1
03-07-08, 07:20 PM
Case swap?

ChuckyQ