PDA

View Full Version : 9800 GX2 1G


Pages : [1] 2 3

Mr Bigman
04-01-08, 10:52 PM
So we know in SLI, the memory on the 2nd card isn't used which was a waiste.

Now with this card out having 1gig vram, since this is an SLI baed card, is the whole 1 gig used or is this the same thing where only half the ram is used but both cores are?

Remember SLI doesn't use ram but from only 1 core.

Si even with 2 of these badboys, only 512 vram would be used? Wouldn't that make snece cuz of SLI and memory?

SLippe
04-01-08, 11:00 PM
I don't think any 1GB cards make full use of all the memory, even the single-slot 1GB cards. I think it's a little misleading when they advertise 1GB of memory when it's just two 512MB cards together. False advertising?

methimpikehoses
04-01-08, 11:03 PM
It is VERY misleading. Unless you're are a graphics card tech nerd.

:bleh: vim :bleh:

SLippe
04-01-08, 11:10 PM
It is VERY misleading. Unless you're are a graphics card tech nerd.

:bleh: vim :bleh:
Know any?

Muppet
04-01-08, 11:33 PM
Know any?
Stop jiggling, how am I supposed to concentrate. What was your question

MUYA
04-01-08, 11:44 PM
Each 512MB of memory on each PCB is used for a GX2 as they work in SLI. When in SLI mode, any two/more GPUs work in symmetry. Ie the memory linked to each GPU contain more or less the same referential data set.

You cannot load up memory linked to one GPU differently to the other as that would bork SLI.

nekrosoft13
04-02-08, 12:04 AM
Each 512MB of memory on each PCB is used for a GX2 as they work in SLI. When in SLI mode, any two/more GPUs work in symmetry. Ie the memory linked to each GPU contain more or less the same referential data set.

You cannot load up memory linked to one GPU differently to the other as that would bork SLI.

so in the end you have 512mb of effective memory

MUYA
04-02-08, 12:13 AM
Yup..in effect 512MB, but in reality, the 512MB is not wasted...its just a near mirror of the other set of 512MB memory. Therefore, 1 Gbis being used, just that are a mirror of each other essentially.

No wastage etc

Mr Bigman
04-02-08, 12:15 AM
Yep, 512 of total texture memory but mirrored off the other 512 and off the 1 gig on the 2nd card if used.

Nice 2 gigs or vram, but only 512 of availble texture memory.

MUYA
04-02-08, 12:18 AM
Texture and other data are stored on the on board memory.

Mr Bigman
04-02-08, 12:30 AM
But still the point is, we only have 512 buffer memory even though 1 gig is localized.

SLippe
04-02-08, 01:32 AM
We need two 1GB cards together in a GX2. :D

CaptNKILL
04-02-08, 01:34 AM
Its sorta like RAID 1...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_RAID_levels#RAID_1

:p

SLippe
04-02-08, 01:54 AM
Its sorta like RAID 1...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_RAID_levels#RAID_1

:p
Yeah, that's what I was thinking when reading MUYA's post. :thumbsup:

David power
04-02-08, 03:14 AM
So does this card come up as two when installed? (sorry if that sounds crazy) When talking SLI does that game have to support it or does the driver installed do the work, Like in call of duty 4 there is an option for SLI config on/off (or something like that) Does the GX2 support those options? (the whole 512MB thing is a balls an't it. Imagin it was actaully 1 Gigabit of Vram! lol that would suck more....)

MUYA
04-02-08, 05:15 AM
But still the point is, we only have 512 buffer memory even though 1 gig is localized.
Yup, you will have wait for the 2 GB GX2...if you want 1 GB of frame buffer memory...if they ever get made. Dunno, some companies are releasing 1 GB versions of the G92

SLippe
04-02-08, 05:24 AM
Yup, you will have wait for the 2 GB GX2...if you want 1 GB of frame buffer memory...if they ever get made. Dunno, some companies are releasing 1 GB versions of the G92
All 1GB cards on Newegg.com. (http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2010380048+1305520548+1068320729&name=1GB)

I know that some of those are GX2 cards and most are not G92, but just thought I'd link all the 1GB cards. A 1GB 8500GT? :rofl

nekrosoft13
04-02-08, 06:29 AM
All 1GB cards on Newegg.com. (http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2010380048+1305520548+1068320729&name=1GB)

I know that some of those are GX2 cards and most are not G92, but just thought I'd link all the 1GB cards. A 1GB 8500GT? :rofl

some people actually thing that having more memory on video card means better performance.

r2d2d3d4d5
04-02-08, 06:57 AM
Its sorta like RAID 1...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_RAID_levels#RAID_1

:p

Shame the can't do sort of RAID 0 then.

But I guess they'd need something in between deciding which card gets which half of what. :captnkill:

Revs
04-02-08, 07:19 AM
Have a look at the table at the bottom of this (http://www.nvidia.com/object/geforce9.html) page. It says the GX2 has a 512-bit bus. nVidia really are pushing the limits of false advertising. :thumbdwn:

LovingSticky
04-02-08, 07:52 AM
So we know in SLI, the memory on the 2nd card isn't used which was a waiste.

How people on this forum with 2.400 posts can be so technologically clueless? :headexplode:

Maybe you should write less, and educate yourself (=read) more ;)

9800GX2 1GB is the same as 2x8800GTS 512MB. It does have 1GB of DDR3 RAM total, but of course each "card" (GPU) is using assigned 512MB RAM only. These cards work in AFR (alternate frame rendering - first frame done by GPU1 using its RAM, second frame done by GPU2 using its RAM) mode with very high efficiency (close to 80%) or SFR (split frame rendering - top half done by GPU1, bottom half of each frame done by GPU2) with less efficiency (about 20%).

SLI profiles control this behaviour and modes (AFR1, AFR2, SFR, no SLI; there is/was also SLI antialiasing). Profiles are important. They are also major advantage of SLI over Crossfire, as ATI does not allow users to modify application profiles. But as most users are clueless, that might not be such a big deal...

http://www.nhancer.com/ is excellent for altering profiles...

LovingSticky
04-02-08, 07:53 AM
Have a look at the table at the bottom of this (http://www.nvidia.com/object/geforce9.html) page. It says the GX2 has a 512-bit bus. nVidia really are pushing the limits of false advertising. :thumbdwn:

Well, that asks for class-action lawsuit..

mcolbourn
04-02-08, 08:42 AM
Have a look at the table at the bottom of this (http://www.nvidia.com/object/geforce9.html) page. It says the GX2 has a 512-bit bus. nVidia really are pushing the limits of false advertising. :thumbdwn:

Yep I can't understand why they have done that. Most people who will buying the GX2 it would know better and know that that false advertising.

yehuda
04-02-08, 05:58 PM
My 7950GX2 has a 512bit 1GB sticker on it and the box too.

fivefeet8
04-02-08, 06:18 PM
Have a look at the table at the bottom of this (http://www.nvidia.com/object/geforce9.html) page. It says the GX2 has a 512-bit bus. nVidia really are pushing the limits of false advertising. :thumbdwn:

How else would they get that "128" g/Byte memory bandwidth?? :p