PDA

View Full Version : Fraps recording


kingme02
04-11-08, 12:09 AM
OK when I am recording a mmorpg game with fraps full screen at 1024,768 with sound. I get average 50+ fps when recording but at some times there would be a lag. Its not really bad but I would like to know what it is. Is it Fraps recording to the HD? I have a 7,200 rpm Western digital 250gb HD. Would a 10,000 rpm drive help the small lags?. My cpu is q6600 and gpu is 8800gt 512mb btw. What will give most improvement for fraps recording, HD,CPU, or gpu?

jcrox
04-11-08, 12:16 AM
24GB of memory

kingme02
04-11-08, 12:24 AM
I have 2gb of memory. 24gb of memory what?

WeReWoLf
04-11-08, 12:29 AM
Basically he means the more Ram you have, the better your recording experience will be.

evox
04-11-08, 12:35 AM
Not to mention FRAPS kills your system anyway. No CPU is powerful enough to encode on the fly, sadly. :( You can try increasing the frame rate, it will output larger files, but it'll be significantly smoother.

B-LOVE
04-16-08, 07:14 PM
Here is how I got fraps to record like it's suppose to . Set Fraps to record to another hard drive in your computer. For some reasons you get really poor performance out of it unless you record to a hard drive that your game and OS is not located on. I though my 2 x Raptors in raid 0 could handle a little video recording while I was playing but I was wrong.