PDA

View Full Version : Xeon X3350 + Asus Maximus


LovingSticky
04-13-08, 02:34 PM
Will Xeon X3350 + Asus Maximus combo work? Or shall I get Q9450 instead to replace my Q6600?

// edit: it should work
http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=20080310195842531&board_id=1&model=Maximus+Formula&SLanguage=en-us&page=4


Anyway, what is the difference between X3350 and Q9450?

mullet
04-13-08, 02:40 PM
No difference. Yes it should work like my P5E.

JohnDoe641
04-14-08, 08:06 AM
I'm wondering the same thing for my Gigabyte P35-DS3P rev 2. I ordered it back in December and I've been waiting on the Q9450 but I keep thinking about ordering the X3350 instead. But there's nothing really solid on google that's telling me that my board will work with it. The v2.1 seems to be a bit more compatible with the Xeons, too bad I don't have that board. :/

Joe Public
04-14-08, 08:20 AM
Apart from the name, the CPUs are technically/electrically the same as Core 2 Duo/Quad. I see no reason why they should not work. Perhaps if there's no BIOS support for it, the name could show up wrong, but it should still work. I've seen people run Xeon 3xxx CPUs on the mobo in my sig (P965 chipset) so the P35 should work too.

Technoholic
04-14-08, 12:55 PM
9450 on Maximus is not a good overclocker though.... Some people have it stable at 3.5GHz.

robiatti
04-14-08, 02:54 PM
I can't Vouch for the Overclockability of the 9450 on the Maximus yet.
But the E8400 OC's very well on this board. The only thing Keeping me from 4.5 Is the Voltage requirements are to high. Maybe someday ill get a Vapo-Chill "Yeah Right!"