PDA

View Full Version : New E8400


Pages : [1] 2

tornadog
04-15-08, 12:57 AM
I just installed the e8400 with Arctic Freezer Pro 7. THe push pins were a bitch, I broke the clip of one putting pressure on it. Anyway its all installed. At stock settings cpu temp was 28degrees C idle. I pushed it to 4.05 at 1.4V and am running Prime95 as I write this.Its been going strong for the last 1 hour. THe core temps according to RealTemp is 56 on 1 and 52 on the other. Are these load temps in range? The idle temp at this speed was 31-33 degrees.

CaptNKILL
04-15-08, 02:37 AM
Dammmn... that's a nice overclock and those temps aren't bad for the cooler you're using.

That's an awesome chip. :thumbsup:

Just keep an eye on those temps when warmer weather comes around. That's as high as I'd let my CPU get under that kind of testing.

Also, is that the version of p95 that runs on both cores? Check task manager for CPU usage. Both cores should be 100%.

tornadog
04-15-08, 08:34 AM
yeah the orthos....

Revs
04-15-08, 09:23 AM
72.4*C is the limit. I think that's the case temp though, so you're well within limits :)

http://processorfinder.intel.com/Details.aspx?sSpec=SLAPL

tornadog
04-15-08, 10:15 AM
Ah I knew it was too good to last, orthos failed on 1 core after 4 hours 16 minutes. I then changed to 500 x 8(4.0Ghz), memory at 1000(5-5-5-15-2.2V) and its been going 4hrs 25 minutes now. Why did bumping up the FSB make a difference? I will go back home and check it to see if its still running!

mailman2
04-15-08, 10:48 AM
Ah I knew it was too good to last, orthos failed on 1 core after 4 hours 16 minutes. I then changed to 500 x 8(4.0Ghz), memory at 1000(5-5-5-15-2.2V) and its been going 4hrs 25 minutes now. Why did bumping up the FSB make a difference? I will go back home and check it to see if its still running!


Some people have had better luck OC'ing the 45nm chips with higher FSB. There are also rumors you can drop the vcore using 500 x8 vs 445 x9. Keep testing, thats the only way you'll know.

jcossin
04-15-08, 05:12 PM
Promising results Tornadog!

I have an E3110 coming this week (same chip) so I'm hoping for the magic 4GHz myself!

Can you post the link to what you are using to monitor temps so I can compare?

Bearclaw
04-15-08, 05:18 PM
Ya, the 8400 are in at Newegg again. 209, not a bad price at all.

tornadog
04-15-08, 06:13 PM
I am using realtemp

http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/3/1794507/RealTemp.zip

just checked 14 hours and still running :), same temps

tornadog
04-15-08, 06:14 PM
Ya, the 8400 are in at Newegg again. 209, not a bad price at all.

I ordered OEM from directron for 192, free shipping. Got it next day since I was 4 hours from their warehouse.

ATi
04-15-08, 06:32 PM
what the hell why is coretemp 10c hotter than realtemp is realtemp right???

AngelGraves13
04-15-08, 07:50 PM
I've got Arctic Silver 5 and a Zalman fan, but I don't trust overclocking. My idle temp is 25 and load is about 35.

grey_1
04-15-08, 08:02 PM
what the hell why is coretemp 10c hotter than realtemp is realtemp right???
Coretemp and realtemp read identically for me. E4600 @ 3.1 and P5K SE mobo.

-=DVS=-
04-15-08, 09:03 PM
No game pushes CPU so hard if its stable for 5 minutes on orthos , prime id be satisfied ;)

Bearclaw
04-15-08, 11:31 PM
I ordered OEM from directron for 192, free shipping. Got it next day since I was 4 hours from their warehouse.
That's awesome. I always go with a custom cooler for better temps so that is an even better deal. The 8400 is such an awesome chip

fugu_fish
04-16-08, 09:31 AM
I just installed the e8400 with Arctic Freezer Pro 7. THe push pins were a bitch, I broke the clip of one putting pressure on it. Anyway its all installed. At stock settings cpu temp was 28degrees C idle. I pushed it to 4.05 at 1.4V and am running Prime95 as I write this.Its been going strong for the last 1 hour. THe core temps according to RealTemp is 56 on 1 and 52 on the other. Are these load temps in range? The idle temp at this speed was 31-33 degrees.


Nice! I have the same mobo/cooler and am just waiting for the E8400 to arrive (I'll never use ZipZoomFly again.)

How's it going at 4GHZ? Any problems? Did you use the stock thermal pad on the Freezer or replace with AS5 or similar?

My buddy also ordered a DS3L/8400/Artic Freezer...

tornadog
04-16-08, 11:55 AM
its going great at 4.05 Ghz. No crashes. Temps are staying in the 33-38 range at idle. Ran 3dmark06 and temps went to about 52 degrees. I dont know if it was higher during the test. I could see the temp reading only after the last test completed. the vcore is staying stable at 1.408V

I am using the thermal pad that came with the cooler though I messed it up quite a bit trying to get the push pins through the motherboard holes. I dont know if it made any air pockets, but so far I dont see anything that causes me concern. I have AS5, and maybe I will try it out this weekend and see if I can get my vcore down to about 1.35 or so.

XDanger
04-16-08, 12:39 PM
be careful. Dropping the vcore sounds like a great idea.
And watch that VTT;)

tornadog
04-17-08, 09:53 AM
just a quick note. The compound that comes with the Arctic Freezer 7 Pro is very good. I removed it and applied AS5 and found zero difference in temps or overclockability. There goes 1 hour of my life wasted!!!!

CaptNKILL
04-17-08, 10:00 AM
just a quick note. The compound that comes with the Arctic Freezer 7 Pro is very good. I removed it and applied AS5 and found zero difference in temps or overclockability. There goes 1 hour of my life wasted!!!!
It wasn't wasted, you learned that the stock compound is good. :D

tornadog
04-17-08, 12:05 PM
It wasn't wasted, you learned that the stock compound is good. :D

but I wiped it off, so its wasted!!!

jcossin
04-18-08, 02:20 PM
Promising results Tornadog!

I have an E3110 coming this week (same chip) so I'm hoping for the magic 4GHz myself!

Can you post the link to what you are using to monitor temps so I can compare?

Got my E3110 yesterday. It is at 4.05GHz (9 x 450) at 1.35V and running like a champ!

One problem I have is that the core temp monitoring seems totally broken? RealTemp is showing the temps stuck at 49C for both cores and they don't budge. Kind of disturbing...

fugu_fish
04-21-08, 09:57 AM
Got my e8400 system together Saturday and other than a strange Vista 64 hang on installation it went well. No OC yet. Still installing stuff and ordered another 4GB of ram. I used the TIM on the Artic Cooler Freezer 7.

Destroy
04-21-08, 11:10 AM
Impressive overclocks, jeez. Wonder what your cpu would do for my cpu limited Oblivion frame rates that are in the 9-13fps range.

Revs
04-21-08, 11:21 AM
The bottom line on the E8400 IMHO is; 3.6Ghz is a good, 'safe' OC that will keep everything within limits. 4.05Ghz is very easy to achieve and stays well within temp limits but not voltage limits. Over 4.05Ghz and you have to crank the voltages up to what I would say are totally unsafe levels. I got 4.275Ghz without too much effort but the vCore and VTT, etc, were far higher than is safe for regular use. At these speeds this little 2core CPU will kick out as much heat as a Q6600G0 at 3.4Ghz. There's a big jump from 4.05Ghz to 4.275Ghz heat and voltage wise and isn't anything like worth the risk to your PC.

The only question you should be asking is how much do you want to push you luck?!