PDA

View Full Version : ram voltage question


grey_1
04-17-08, 04:19 PM
I'll be replacing my 2Gb pc6400 which uses 1.8v. The ram I'll be replacing it with (PC2-8000) uses a higher voltage, 2.0 - 2.1. My P5K SE ranges from 1.8 to 2.6v and the board lists *unofficial* support for the speed, so all is good there.

WRT the voltage, does the board automatically assign the needed voltage upon boot? I know it's a silly question, but I wouldn't mind knowing for certain if it will or if I will have to manually set it.

Thanks in advance!

Dazz
04-17-08, 11:31 PM
It will default to stock JEDEC speeds which will be PC6400 and 1.8v, you will need to up the memory clock speeds and in turn up the memory voltage manually also.

grey_1
04-18-08, 03:27 AM
Alrighty, Thanks Dazz. Now I'm glad I asked. :)

Dazz
04-18-08, 03:32 AM
No problem all memory are ment to run atleast with JEDEC standard specs and for compatibility. I would say once you put the memory in it will boot at 800MHz, 5-5-5-16, 1.8v. Allowing you to get into the BIOS and fine tune.

grey_1
04-18-08, 04:26 AM
It'll be interesting to see how low I can keep the voltage and maintain a stable system. I'm always nervous about upping any voltage. :o

Dazz
04-18-08, 05:53 AM
In which case start from 2.0v and drop from 1GHz memory clock.

grey_1
04-18-08, 09:20 AM
Will do, thanks for the input Dazz.

XDanger
04-18-08, 03:39 PM
No problem all memory are ment to run atleast with JEDEC standard specs and for compatibility. I would say once you put the memory in it will boot at 800MHz, 5-5-5-16, 1.8v. Allowing you to get into the BIOS and fine tune.
Mine wont boot with 1.8, 1.9 minimum is required to be set prior to installation I think.

grey_1
04-18-08, 06:15 PM
Mine wont boot with 1.8, 1.9 minimum is required to be set prior to installation I think.
What's your OCZ rated at?