PDA

View Full Version : dvi to hdmi?


namuk
04-23-08, 05:19 PM
is dvi to hdmi leads as good as dvi to dvi . as there are no or not many lcd and plasma screens on market .

i am just wondering if there is anyone on here that use a dvi to hdmi lead which have gone from dvi to dvi

same image or better or worse image

Revs
04-23-08, 05:29 PM
I've got a DVI to HDMI adapter and just a normal HDMI to HDMI cable, which is, in effect, the same as what you're wanting. Picture quality is perfect. No issues what-so-ever.

XFX Support
04-23-08, 05:34 PM
Both DVI and HDMI are a digital signal so great quality.

namuk
04-23-08, 05:55 PM
so when looking for a new lcd or plasma i have no need to look for dvi . yes? just get a good dvi to hdmi lead ? so basically dvi and hdmi are same but just differant connectors ?

Stoneyguy
04-23-08, 06:09 PM
The biggest problem with DVI to HDMI is that HDMI has audio as well. So you need a HDTV that accepts an additional audio signal besides the one it assumes is being transmitted by HDMI.

namuk
04-23-08, 06:16 PM
The biggest problem with DVI to HDMI is that HDMI has audio as well. So you need a HDTV that accepts an additional audio signal besides the one it assumes is being transmitted by HDMI.


can understand that due to the hdcp . but i mean graphics card to plasma/lcd just image i want . wnat to no mate due to no one is supporting dvi in on plasma/lcd but the silly thing is they still put that d-sub there dam silly that . who uses that now lol

fivefeet8
04-23-08, 07:53 PM
The biggest problem with DVI to HDMI is that HDMI has audio as well. So you need a HDTV that accepts an additional audio signal besides the one it assumes is being transmitted by HDMI.

Most High Quality HDTV's will have that and much more.

namuk
04-24-08, 02:52 PM
I've got a DVI to HDMI adapter and just a normal HDMI to HDMI cable, which is, in effect, the same as what you're wanting. Picture quality is perfect. No issues what-so-ever.


what resaloution can you run with that tv through hdmi i take it is 1080p?

einstein_314
04-24-08, 03:16 PM
The only difference between DVI and HDMI is that HDMI also has audio with it. There is no conversion being done. The signal just passes straight through.

Revs
04-24-08, 03:25 PM
what resaloution can you run with that tv through hdmi i take it is 1080p?

Yeah, 1920x1080.

namuk
04-24-08, 04:31 PM
Yeah, 1920x1080.


nice one and that shows on res are you setup as 1080p in drivers or just the standard 1920x 1080 res .

i am running through the dvi so i can pick both . with you running dvi to hdmi is it the same thing? or are you forced to run 720p 1080p etc if you get my drift .

i am asking due too and shure i am having a handshake problem with my lx2r and amp with dvd connected . i got a buyer for lcd in wourse case. i may need to get a new screen but only option is hdmi in with the dvi and use adapter like you . also what adapter are you useing i did not get one with xfx card i bought

Revs
04-24-08, 04:38 PM
I just picked a Belkin one up from PC World. It's one of the few things they sell at non-ripoff prices.

As for the res, it just show up like a monitor. Plenty of options on desktop and in game. I use Vista's 'Display Settings' to adjust, though. Not NVCP.

EDIT:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=31184&d=1209073239

namuk
04-24-08, 04:53 PM
have you a link for the belkin adaptor? . (no what you mean about pc rip off lol)


also you look like same setup driver as me . in video and tv and in change signal or hd format is it on none hdtv? underneath that it says resize hdtv desktop i do not have that maybe due to connection

Revs
04-24-08, 05:07 PM
http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/store/pcw_page.jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@0189640100.120907470 3@@@@&BV_EngineID=ccejadedmddfhfgcflgceggdhhmdgmi.0&page=Product&fm=null&sm=null&tm=null&sku=103212&category_oid=

You've not heard the term 'rip-off before? :wtf: :D A rip-off is when you're being over-charged. I though you were from the UK for some reason, lol

EDIT: Is this what you mean?

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=31185&d=1209075207

namuk
04-24-08, 05:20 PM
http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/store/pcw_page.jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@0189640100.120907470 3@@@@&BV_EngineID=ccejadedmddfhfgcflgceggdhhmdgmi.0&page=Product&fm=null&sm=null&tm=null&sku=103212&category_oid=

You've not heard the term 'rip-off before? :wtf: :D A rip-off is when you're being over-charged. I though you were from the UK for some reason, lol

EDIT: Is this what you mean?

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=31185&d=1209075207


i go in pc would to look at prices wot a laugh lol they never heard of tinernet lol .
i have a dvi to dvi lead so i need the opposite dvi to hdmi. also settings are differant in pic i have a setting were it says none hdtv . i am wandering if the dvi to hdmi adapter will work

also have you tryed 1080p24 setting

namuk
04-24-08, 05:31 PM
i think maplin just been bought out by pc world lol


http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=97886&doy=24m4&criteria=DVI%20to%20HDMI%20Adaptor

wot a joke you can get a good lead for that price lol

Revs
04-24-08, 05:38 PM
:eek: That's a rip-off :D

It's also a HDMI to DVI adapter. Make sure you get a DVI to HDMI adapter. It will have a female HDMI socket.

EDIT: Just read you last post, lol. Never mind what I just said. And no, i've not changed any settings for the TV in the NVCP. Not had a need to.

namuk
04-24-08, 05:46 PM
:eek: That's a rip-off :D

It's also a HDMI to DVI adapter. Make sure you get a DVI to HDMI adapter. It will have a female HDMI socket.

EDIT: Just read you last post, lol. Never mind what I just said. And no, i've not changed any settings for the TV in the NVCP. Not had a need to.

your not wrong there maplin these days are taking piss

i have this lead

http://www.profigold.com/index?act=product&product=PGM1410&division=Multimedia&subcat=DVI+to+DVI+Interconnects

so i need a dvi to male hdmi for some reason there are less of them than dvi to hdmi odd . thats whats make me wonder if they do not transmit as well . the 8800 gt i have supply dvi to dsub crap above that there hdmi to dvi odd that . who the hell uses d-sub

namuk
04-24-08, 05:49 PM
i need this type of adaptor

http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=195672

Revs
04-24-08, 05:51 PM
Which ever way you do it, it shouldn't make any difference to quality. I susspect most people do like I did and have a DVI to HDMI adapter in the back of their card and run a HDMI cable to the TV.

You might have trouble getting an adapter and cable to fit in the back on the TV if you're wall mounting it. I know I couldn't do it with mine.

Bed time for me anyhow. Later :)

namuk
04-24-08, 06:00 PM
Which ever way you do it, it shouldn't make any difference to quality. I susspect most people do like I did and have a DVI to HDMI adapter in the back of their card and run a HDMI cable to the TV.

You might have trouble getting an adapter and cable to fit in the back on the TV if you're wall mounting it. I know I couldn't do it with mine.

Bed time for me anyhow. Later :)

ok mate thanks for help . also understand with wall mount . i just thought getting a adapter whould give wouse image quality as to a lead made up from dvi to hdmi.

namuk
04-24-08, 06:09 PM
also what hdmi lead are you useing? with adapter? .