PDA

View Full Version : Vista x64 swap file?


Yaboze
05-03-08, 11:53 AM
What do you guys with x64 set your swap to? I can't find any tweak guides or info on what's best.

I have 4GB.

rflair
05-03-08, 01:20 PM
I have 8 gigs, its set to 0.

When I had 4 gigs, I had it set to 2gigs.

MrTexTure
05-03-08, 03:11 PM
I have mine set to 1Gb = 1024!
I have 4 Gb mem!

crainger
05-03-08, 07:29 PM
I just use system managed.

XDanger
05-03-08, 07:54 PM
I have it set at 200mb

UberRN69
05-04-08, 03:18 PM
How big should the swap file be? Or is it better to have it smaller. I have 4GB of RAM and a 4GB swap file of a 2nd SATAII drive and my primary drive is 2 SATAII in RAID 0.

Would I 'force' windows to used the emory more if I shrink the swap file? Would I have 'not enough memory' issue's? All I do is game and watch the occasional DVD, with rare HD content

LovingSticky
05-04-08, 04:16 PM
Vista will use as much as it needs, if you are not low of disk space, there is no reason to set it to 200MB or even 0MB, as some apps might crash because of that. 0MB pagefile = better performance is one of many Windows myths.

It is good to set a fixed pagefile size though instead of "system managed", as it does not get fragmented. I have 8GB RAM and 8GB swapfile.

lduguay
05-05-08, 08:03 AM
0MB pagefile = better performance is one of many Windows myths.

Link? ;)

nekrosoft13
05-05-08, 08:06 AM
setting it to 0 is not good, few programs will freak out when no page file is present.

compuguy1088
05-09-08, 12:24 AM
I have 4 GBs of ram, and my page file is set to 6138 MB.

malachi1313
05-09-08, 12:52 AM
setting it to 0 is not good, few programs will freak out when no page file is present.
Thats true. I have mine set to 2500 and I have 4 gigs of ram

iron99
05-09-08, 12:57 AM
I have 8GB of RAM and pagefile fixed at 12GB.

Absolution
05-09-08, 05:52 AM
vista will use ram before the pagefile, set it to system managed

compuguy1088
05-09-08, 07:58 PM
vista will use ram before the page file, set it to system managed

I don't recommend setting it to system managed, that allows windows to expand/shrink the page file, resulting in fragmentation.

npras42
05-09-08, 08:18 PM
I have 8GB of RAM and pagefile fixed at 12GB.


I know that it used to be set your PF at 1.5 x physical RAM but 12GB is totally excessive! Surely.

I don't recommend setting it to system managed, that allows windows to expand/shrink the page file, resulting in fragmentation.

Yeah, you should have a fixed amount meaning having the min and max value the same to prevent fragmentation which for page files can cause big performance hits. If you set to system then Windows will constantly making discontinuous page files all over the drive and then deleting them again.

Dr.Nick
05-09-08, 09:11 PM
I have 8GB of RAM and pagefile fixed at 12GB.

Same here. 12GB was the recommended size by windows so I stuck with it. I've tried to run with no page file but there was no noticeable difference and quite a few apps complained (but sitll ran fine) Better safe than sorry imho

Absolution
05-10-08, 01:05 AM
I don't recommend setting it to system managed, that allows windows to expand/shrink the page file, resulting in fragmentation.
And if you set it to a fixed amount, there may be a time where this amount is not enough. If you have enough ram, your pagefile won't move around. Mine hasn't changed value to my notice, always at 4GB.

npras42
05-10-08, 06:07 AM
And if you set it to a fixed amount, there may be a time where this amount is not enough. If you have enough ram, your pagefile won't move around. Mine hasn't changed value to my notice, always at 4GB.

If you have enough RAM, then your pagefile will never run out.

Absolution
05-11-08, 11:10 PM
If you have enough RAM, then your pagefile will never run out.
Never say never. . .

compuguy1088
05-13-08, 03:08 PM
And if you set it to a fixed amount, there may be a time where this amount is not enough. If you have enough ram, your pagefile won't move around. Mine hasn't changed value to my notice, always at 4GB.

If you need a larger swap...then you just manually set the swap larger...

j0j081
05-15-08, 07:44 AM
just use system managed. With Vista there is no reason to alter it. If anything you'll probably screw up performance.

Revs
05-15-08, 07:56 AM
4Gb RAM, no swap file. Never been a problem.

just use system managed. With Vista there is no reason to alter it. If anything you'll probably screw up performance.

I quietens the HD's down and probably reduces wear. There is a slight performance increase with no SF.

xmichaeluk
05-16-08, 03:54 PM
I totally agree, I've never had any problems with paging file set to 0. I have 4GB of memory and the system is running 100% There is no noise coming from the hard drive at all!

compuguy1088
05-17-08, 02:48 AM
just use system managed. With Vista there is no reason to alter it. If anything you'll probably screw up performance.

I've actually seen performance go DOWN with the page file set to system managed. It is better to have a fixed page file.....which in a way immatates how a Linux/Unix swap is (minus the partition stuff)