PDA

View Full Version : New to 360. Some questions...


Pages : [1] 2

HiCZoK4
05-03-08, 12:03 PM
Hi guys. So following my previevous thread ("kill me but i am .....") I decided to get 360 premium with 20gb hdd.
Currently I have Burnout Paradise and GTA4 offcourse :D Connected to standard tv via composite so quality isnt the best but that is to be expected with normal old tv.
(Poland so console is PAL)

Anyway, here are some questions.
1)I don't have live account yet (have to send my 360ip adress to my internet provider yet) and tried to update from cd. After updating console restarted and message appeared that update has FAILED and i had to restart console, But strange is that I think it updated well becouse some menus (like arcade tab) are different.
WHAT IS THE CURRENT DASHBOARD VERSION ? So I can check in system info tab is mine good.

2)Hdd should be 20gb. I have free only 12gb and only 1,5gb is being used by demos etc. Is it normal? Can I defrag it ?

3)Can't get movies from pendrives to work. (avi)

4)Its very loud. Is it normal ? (I guess it is)

5)Can I copy thing (music, videos) to 360hdd from dvd or pendrive ?

6)I am considering getting vga cable to use my 22'' pc lcd for 360 but what about sound then ?(Display doesnt have speakers and I cant see and inputs in 360) hmmmm....

7)Any usefull hints and tips how to use console? Is there anything I should known about ?

Sorry for that noob questions but Its my first console evar !!! I am pc gamer over 12 years (lee) :D so it is something new to me.

btw. Falcon 175W console

MowTin
05-03-08, 12:25 PM
I used to connect my 360 to my 226BW Samsung same LCD as you have.

As you can see from this link the VGA cables also have two red white stereo cables. You will have to buy a Y connector to plug those two audio cables into one jack on your audio card.

Or if you have a stereo near your PC you could just plug the red white cables directly into that.

Edit: Oh yes it's loud. Sounds like loud PC. Keep it well ventilated. Don't stuff it in a cabinet. Don't let too much dust collect. Keep your warranty and receipt handy :D I would avoid console FPS games because they suck compared to PC ones. Focus on 3rd person games like GoW.

Bearclaw
05-03-08, 12:32 PM
Not to hijack but I have a question of my own here.

What is the difference between the Xbox 360 Arcade (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8514306&type=product&id=1186006196578) and the Xbox 360 Console System (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8492838&type=product&id=1186003685732)?

Is it just different specs or what? Why is the price difference so much?

HiCZoK4
05-03-08, 12:33 PM
What link ??!! You forgot to put it :D
And yes I already have a Y connector so all I need is those cables from mysterious link ?

|MaguS|
05-03-08, 12:41 PM
2) The X360 has some space allocated specifically for system cache, also remember that it's not really 20GB (HD manufacturers need to stop faking these numbers).

3) What codec are the movies? AVI is just the container...

4) For the most part yes, if its idle it should be decently quiet... loud when in use though.

5) Not that I know of...

6) VGA cable has RC Cables attached to it.

ClosetFanBoy
05-03-08, 12:50 PM
Not to hijack but I have a question of my own here.

What is the difference between the Xbox 360 Arcade (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8514306&type=product&id=1186006196578) and the Xbox 360 Console System (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8492838&type=product&id=1186003685732)?

Is it just different specs or what? Why is the price difference so much?

The Arcade version just has a 256MB memory storage deal thing. No hard drive. So if you planned on using market place, you wouldnt be able to download a whole hell of a lot. I almost bought one of these till I read the fine print.

Bearclaw
05-03-08, 01:04 PM
The Arcade version just has a 256MB memory storage deal thing. No hard drive. So if you planned on using market place, you wouldnt be able to download a whole hell of a lot. I almost bought one of these till I read the fine print.
So basically, no hard drive? Hmm. That would almost be worth it. I won't even be using online for gaming so downloading stuff isn't an issue and I wouldn't use marketplace anyway. This might be the better deal for the price.

Thanks for your help.

HiCZoK4
05-03-08, 01:11 PM
So basically, no hard drive? Hmm. That would almost be worth it. I won't even be using online for gaming so downloading stuff isn't an issue and I wouldn't use marketplace anyway. This might be the better deal for the price.

Thanks for your help.
Didn't games write cache on hdd ?

Bearclaw
05-03-08, 01:14 PM
Didn't games write cache on hdd ?
I'm not sure how that exactly works but if it can still play the game, then so be it. :D I don't mind saving to a memory stick or card or whatever.

ClosetFanBoy
05-03-08, 01:15 PM
So basically, no hard drive? Hmm. That would almost be worth it. I won't even be using online for gaming so downloading stuff isn't an issue and I wouldn't use marketplace anyway. This might be the better deal for the price.

Thanks for your help.

Hey no problem. You can always grab the HD later if you decided to go that route. :)

Bearclaw
05-03-08, 01:33 PM
Hey no problem. You can always grab the HD later if you decided to go that route. :)
I'm just going to keep laying questions on you here, lol. Is there any difference in specs/performance or is it basically an xbox 360 w/o a hard drive?

ClosetFanBoy
05-03-08, 02:29 PM
I'm just going to keep laying questions on you here, lol. Is there any difference in specs/performance or is it basically an xbox 360 w/o a hard drive?

It's the same, minus a few cables, headset, etc. The Pro and Elite are supposed to play 300 or more original Xbox titles. Here's a comparison content wise: Xbox 360 versions (http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/compare101.htm)

Bearclaw
05-03-08, 02:39 PM
It's the same, minus a few cables, headset, etc. The Pro and Elite are supposed to play 300 or more original Xbox titles. Here's a comparison content wise: Xbox 360 versions (http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/compare101.htm)
Oh wow, that chart really helps out. Thanks for that.

ClosetFanBoy
05-03-08, 03:01 PM
Oh wow, that chart really helps out. Thanks for that.

No prob. :D If you did decide to go with a hard drive version and get Live eventually, which is one of the coolest things about the 360 imo. I can link you to a 13 month membership for 43$ plus your free month that would be 14 months for 43 dolla! :p

@HiCZoK4.

Your lucky, my drive only had like 9gig free. If you go to the System blade, memory, hard drive, you can see all the stuff that is loaded on it and size. I ended up with 13 gigs free in the end, and I still left a demo or 2 and some of the preloaded Arcade stuff I wanted to try.

Movies. From what I understand the codecs downloaded through Live are a separate download then the dash update itself. I've messed with Xvid and Divx, both play fine, and of course Windows associated media works. So far, every type of video has worked. Your probably going to need to get connected to the net and get the codecs.

You can rip music from a CD to the 360 drive or from a flash drive etc. No go on the movies. You can get an external USB hard drive, flash/pen etc. and load that up with movies, music, pics. The drive has to be fat 32. This is my plans when hitting the road, take usb with me loaded with fav TV shows, music, vids.

Yup, the drive is loud. Some games dont read from it as much as others I think. I do know Madden 07 keeps that baby spinning like crazy. I truly notice it when playing that game.

Dont know of too many tips or tricks. You can clear the cache, supposedly it helps if games start to seem sluggish. I have yet to try it, not having any problems. Clear cache linkage (http://news.teamxbox.com/xbox/11131/Xbox-360-Cache-Clear-Code-Revealed/)

Windows Media Center on the 360 to me is pretty freaking cool. Had a hell of a time figuring out how to get it up and running, turned out to be a router setting. Fun extra to play with.

Dont know of much else. You can change your background with custom pics from your pc, flash/pen. Those will stay in the themes section. It's just too bad you cant customise each individual blade.

Hope you enjoy it dude. I'm enjoying mine. ;)

npras42
05-03-08, 03:27 PM
I'm surprised that the people who've posted in this thread up to now don't know (or failed to mention) the real reason his HDD has such low free space. Yeah there's a few demos and stuff you can delete but the majority of the missing space is taken up by Backwards Compatibilty files that are required to play original XBOX games. I think it is somewhere in the region of 6.5GB.

ViN86
05-03-08, 03:35 PM
Not to hijack but I have a question of my own here.

What is the difference between the Xbox 360 Arcade (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8514306&type=product&id=1186006196578) and the Xbox 360 Console System (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8492838&type=product&id=1186003685732)?

Is it just different specs or what? Why is the price difference so much?
360 Arcade doesnt have a harddrive. dont think it's a wireless controller either. comes with a memory stick instead i believe.

nvm he already answered :o

HiCZoK4
05-03-08, 03:38 PM
ClosetFanBoy thx for anserw. Thats lot of usefull stuff.
I have external usb maxtor 160gb. And I wonder Why it dont work.... Yep I have it formatted in ntfs format. So getting it back to fat should help.
And yeah, I am enjoying it a lot !!! As for now I am searching for that vga cable to connect 360 to my 226bw(yes, I known 16:9 vs 16:10 stuff)
Can someone explain more how to connect speakers or headphones then ?
Also links to that cable would be usefull :D

Gta IV is Crazy game althought it spin dvd slower than burnout paradise.... baaahhh I have exams of my life at monday and I am playing GTA :D:D Damn me :p

ClosetFanBoy
05-03-08, 03:58 PM
VGA connector (http://hardware.teamxbox.com/reviews/xbox-360/40/Xbox-360-VGA-HD-AV-Cable/p1/)

You can probably find one for a decent price on ebay.

Are you trying to use your PC speaker setup? If so, you probably need an adapter. My speaker setup came with one. I dont think that has true surround sound either. But I'm sure it sounds better then just using the TV speakers.

HiCZoK4
05-03-08, 04:03 PM
VGA connector (http://hardware.teamxbox.com/reviews/xbox-360/40/Xbox-360-VGA-HD-AV-Cable/p1/)

You can probably find one for a decent price on ebay.

Are you trying to use your PC speaker setup? If so, you probably need an adapter. My speaker setup came with one. I dont think that has true surround sound either. But I'm sure it sounds better then just using the TV speakers.
thx. This is what I am looking for
But how the heck to pin up headphones to that 2 cables, There is sure nothing bundled with my 5.1 creative speakers and creative headphones !!! Damn I am bad at this stuff...:headexplode:

ClosetFanBoy
05-03-08, 04:11 PM
thx. This is what I am looking for
But how the heck to pin up headphones to that 2 cables, There is sure nothing bundled with my 5.1 creative speakers and creative headphones !!! Damn I am bad at this stuff...:headexplode:

lol. It's ok dude, we've all been there. ;)

You'll need something like this - Sound Adapter (http://www.compuvisor.com/logacoad97.html)

HiCZoK4
05-03-08, 04:25 PM
lol its that simple ??? Well then ok But what about headphones ?

ClosetFanBoy
05-03-08, 04:31 PM
Your TV doesnt have headphone jack?

You can hook your headphones up to that adapter. ;)

ClosetFanBoy
05-03-08, 04:47 PM
Here ya go, this adapter is a little better :D

Sound Adapter (http://www.amazon.com/Console-Adapter-Convert-Plugs-Single/dp/B0006U3ACY)

Lyme
05-04-08, 12:15 AM
Answers to a number of questions (probably lots of repeats).

#1 - Get a router, plug your pc and 360 into it. Typically the easiest way to get a net connection into your 360. It is also the best way to update your console, plus there are optional video playback updates.

#2 - The HD is roughly 20gig, however a significant amount of it is reserved for the OS, backward compatibility, etc. You end up with ~13gig usable if you delete everything. The limited size isn't really a problem, unless you download a lot of movies/tv from xbox live (movie/tv availability varies depending on country).

#3 - Check the December 2007 playback faq http://blogs.msdn.com/xboxteam/default.aspx note that you need to update the console before that will work.

#4 - Yes, it is normal that it is loud. Ensure that it is very well ventilated, as it doesn't like the heat it puts out.

#5 - No, you shouldn't copy movies or music to the 360, or via pen drive. I assume you have a pc as well as the 360? Simply share the media on your pc with the 360 http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/systemuse/xbox360/digitalmedia/pc.htm

#6 - This is a decent vga cable http://www.play-asia.com/SOap-23-83-5a7w-71-de-49-en-84-j-70-16s8.html

mailman2
05-04-08, 12:22 AM
VGA connector (http://hardware.teamxbox.com/reviews/xbox-360/40/Xbox-360-VGA-HD-AV-Cable/p1/)

You can probably find one for a decent price on ebay.

Are you trying to use your PC speaker setup? If so, you probably need an adapter. My speaker setup came with one. I dont think that has true surround sound either. But I'm sure it sounds better then just using the TV speakers.


Cables, cables, cables.... always - MONOPRICE.com

XBOX 360 VGA CABLE $9.08
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=108&cp_id=10830&cs_id=1083005&p_id=4010&seq=1&format=2