PDA

View Full Version : HL2 Fakefactorry Cinematic Mod - Anyone play with it recently?


ragejg
05-04-08, 12:29 PM
PoWyhMce7qE

http://screenshots.filesnetwork.com/32/files2/88111_15.jpg

I'm installing it right now, and am kinda excited about the enhanced textures and modified music...

Anyone else here play HL2 with this mod?

ragejg
05-04-08, 12:45 PM
and fwiw I'm such and awsom speler. It's "Fakefactory", oops lol.

bu1basaur
05-04-08, 12:50 PM
Got me excited about finishing HL2 (the motion sickness pretty kept me from going on). I went to the d/l site, and it's 2.2gb?!! Really?

Revs
05-04-08, 12:51 PM
Yeah, I've been messing with 6.0 and now 7.0. There are one or two threads in the Gaming Central section somewhere. Awesome mods!

EDIT:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=108262 Half-life cinematic mod v6

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=110424 Half Life 2 Cinematic 2 Mod 7.0

nekrosoft13
05-04-08, 12:57 PM
Got me excited about finishing HL2 (the motion sickness pretty kept me from going on). I went to the d/l site, and it's 2.2gb?!! Really?
version 7 is about 5 gb

evox
05-04-08, 01:08 PM
version 7 is about 5 gb
Wow, twice the size of original HL2 install. :eek:

H3avyM3tal
05-04-08, 01:48 PM
20+ gigs installed :)

nekrosoft13
05-04-08, 02:05 PM
only 15.6gb installed over here

ragejg
05-04-08, 03:06 PM
Bah, I didn't at first think the 32 bit issues appeared to be that bad; and thought that by ver. 7 that a 32 bit OS could run this fine... but after doing some reading it looks to me that I'm gonna run into crashes etc on my rig with 1.5gb RAM, 512mb VRAM and Vista x32.

I think I gotta stick with Vista x32 on this rig because of some legacy chipsets...

K8t800 Pro
Promise RAID controller
AGP Interface + AGP HD 3850

... I'll give this a whirl anyway and see how it goes... if it crashes etc, then I'll just remove it and find some other mod.

It sure would be nice if they made a 32 bit friendly version with textures kicked up not quite as much etc...

bu1basaur
05-04-08, 03:24 PM
It's 64bit only? It didn't say anything about that on the website...

nekrosoft13
05-04-08, 04:22 PM
It's 64bit only? It didn't say anything about that on the website...

its not 64bit only, but its recommended, 32bit simply can't handle it, and very good chance that it will crash.

its posted on the download link

Loreman
05-04-08, 08:45 PM
I have been running it since version 6 on 32bit Win XP for a while now and hardly any problems. I think it might be helping me that I have the 768MB GTX though, maybe that takes off some texture load, not sure.

All I know is only 1 or 2 crashes from beginning to end of half life 2 vanilla with MOD.

And this is with MAX settings too and all new characters enabled in the character pimper.

bu1basaur
05-05-08, 04:23 AM
I got Version 4 working fine, and it looks great! However, Version 5 and 6 don't want to work. It'll start up and just be a blank screen, but I can hear the HL2 music and when I mouse over the menu I can hear the sounds. Oh well...enjoying HL2 for the hundredth time.

hokeyplyr48
05-05-08, 05:04 AM
yah i installed it, but whenever the game auto-saves it crashes and gives me a nvlddmkm stopped responding or straight to a bsod. wasn't sure if it was vista 64 that's causing the problem or what. anyone else have this problem?

Revs
05-05-08, 05:11 AM
Not had any problems so far, but from what i've read it's not as stable as v6.0. Are you overclocking your GPU?

SeriTonin
05-05-08, 08:52 AM
downloaded this monster last night, I'll give it a go today when I get home.

hokeyplyr48
05-05-08, 04:31 PM
Not had any problems so far, but from what i've read it's not as stable as v6.0. Are you overclocking your GPU?

nope just the factory overclocked ultra from evga.
what drivers are you using? i'm using 169.25 which are pretty old, should try updating i guess