PDA

View Full Version : the wrong fsb


rage10
05-05-08, 09:22 PM
what happens if one were to put a cpu with a 800 mhz fsb in a mobo with a 533 mhz fsb?
thanks,
rage10

crainger
05-05-08, 11:25 PM
The CPU would set itself to run at 533Mhz.

Dazz
05-06-08, 05:21 PM
Well technically, yes but as it's CPU locked it would mean that it will be underclocked as well.

rage10
05-06-08, 11:02 PM
Well technically, yes but as it's CPU locked it would mean that it will be underclocked as well.
I was afrad of that.:(
EDIT: any idea how much?

Dazz
05-07-08, 11:05 AM
Well if you have a Pentium 4 3800MHz Processor which is 19x200 it will be (19x133) 2533MHz, but although the board may not officaly support 800MHz you maybe able to overclock it.

rage10
05-07-08, 08:28 PM
Well if you have a Pentium 4 3800MHz Processor which is 19x200 it will be (19x133) 2533MHz, but although the board may not officaly support 800MHz you maybe able to overclock it.
will I see a difference over clocking my current CPU as opposed to overclocking a under clocked CPU? and if speed fan says my board can be set higher is that a trust worthy source/ keep in mind I have not contacted the manufacturer yet.

Dazz
05-08-08, 06:44 PM
Not really no.