PDA

View Full Version : A TI4600 And DX9


john19055
05-05-03, 07:51 AM
Haveing a TI4600 is there going to be any gains or better IQ installing DX9a or is this really for DX9 cards .

Kev1
05-05-03, 11:19 AM
MS says that newer DX versions have optimizations for older DX versions included. Whether they work correctly is another story.

Since you have a Ti4600, installing DX9a should not hurt anything, but it may not help much either. Actually it may not help at all as I think I read all the optimizations in it were for DX9 and not DX8.1 which is what your video card supports.

If you had a GF2 I would say definitly don't install it or DX9. I tried a GF2 GTS with DX9 installed and in 2D its ok, but 3D is a mess. I am running DX9 myself with a GF3 and have no problems at all.

I know this dosen't help, cause basically the decision is up to you. It won't hurt to install it but it probably won't help much either.

EDLIM
05-05-03, 01:51 PM
I have a Geforce 4 ti 4200 Golden Sample 128 MB and running the WHQL 43.51 driver. Not Bad with DX 9.0A

10998 3D Marks in 3D Mark 2001SE
1450 3D Marks in 3D Mark 2003

john19055
05-07-03, 06:38 PM
I created a restore point and down loaded DX9a,I have'nt had any problems so far with any of my games and gain a 120 marks in 2001se,no big deal I just did'nt want to screw up my games that I'm playing.