PDA

View Full Version : Test Coming: DSL vs Cable: Online Gaming


Pages : [1] 2

Viventis
05-10-08, 10:40 AM
After another full day with my Charter internet off line, I ordered Embarq DSL. It will be installed Monday. I have been reading about bad ping times with DSL, and with no guarantee that I can get fast-path rather than interleave, I call Emabarq back to cancel the install. That threat earned me a waiver of the normal $99 cancellation fee and all install and setup charges. I will be having them both up and running for a while so I will be able to do apples to apples comparisons (both are 5 mb download). My Charter connection will certainly have lower pings at low traffic times, but I am hoping that the weekend and evening pings will be comparable. I have also been getting disconnected from BF2142 servers alot lately so this will help determine whether this is ISP or game related.

RaidenWoW
05-10-08, 03:36 PM
..... make sure your modem has enough signal to sustain opperation. go to http://192.168.100.1 then go to "signal" and tell me the up/downstream power levels,

bacon12
05-10-08, 03:39 PM
I have the same issue with charter, and have been a charter customer for over ten years. I dealt with it for over 2 months, same situation I would randomly loose my connection, and it would recover. My modem had not dropped in over six months, there was an issue somewhere in the line.

Of course they wanted me to traceroute and find the problem for them. I never could and finally I threatened to go dsl enough they fixed it.

I am happy right now, but at that time I was really frustrated. I bet I called at least ten times bitching up the chain till they fixed it.

RaidenWoW
05-10-08, 03:55 PM
Any cable company will do it.

Here's my suggestion: Go look around the spilitters. They can be outside your house on any side. Just find the coaxial cable splitters.
Mine were rusted over and all I had to do was buy a replacement coaxial splitter and splice the rusted cables (if necessary) and it was all fixed.

The reason your cable modem cuts out is because it requires 15dB of signal (as opposed to a tv cable box which requires 1dB max). If the line can't supply it, (e.g. rusty or crappy line) then it cuts out periodically.


(I'm very skilled with cable modem internet btw... I experiment with SB5100's and my friend even has factory models).
http://bitemytaco.net/bitemymodems.jpg

bacon12
05-10-08, 04:14 PM
My issue was a router or switch somewhere that wasn't passing me thru but rather bouncing back and forth. Or at least the last tech that I was able to get on the phone said.

bob saget
05-10-08, 05:11 PM
i am actually switching to DSL in several days :D cant wait to see results.

grey_1
05-10-08, 06:48 PM
Any cable company will do it.

Here's my suggestion: Go look around the spilitters. They can be outside your house on any side. Just find the coaxial cable splitters.
Mine were rusted over and all I had to do was buy a replacement coaxial splitter and splice the rusted cables (if necessary) and it was all fixed.

The reason your cable modem cuts out is because it requires 15dB of signal (as opposed to a tv cable box which requires 1dB max). If the line can't supply it, (e.g. rusty or crappy line) then it cuts out periodically.


(I'm very skilled with cable modem internet btw... I experiment with SB5100's and my friend even has factory models).
http://bitemytaco.net/bitemymodems.jpg
15dB hitting the back of most modems is way too high, generally +/- 5dB is ideal. And every bit as important is the SNR, too low and your levels can be perfect and your connection can still be intermittent or gone altogether.

Bearclaw
05-10-08, 07:02 PM
I have DSL and I hate it. My ping is usually in the low 100's to the low 200's.

seeker
05-10-08, 07:47 PM
If any of you were still stuck on dialup, like myself, you would be very happy with either cable or DSL.

mojoman0
05-10-08, 08:34 PM
my parents finally moved up from dial up about 6 months ago...phew, finally available in the area

Shamrock
05-10-08, 10:09 PM
If any of you were still stuck on dialup, like myself, you would be very happy with either cable or DSL.


Amen! I'm on dialup :(

Madpistol
05-10-08, 11:31 PM
So, I clicked on that link, and I got 38.4 dB downstream, and 49 dBmV upstream... is that good or bad?

I hardly ever lose my internet connection btw.

Bman212121
05-10-08, 11:35 PM
So, I clicked on that link, and I got 38.4 dB downstream, and 49 dBmV upstream... is that good or bad?

I hardly ever lose my internet connection btw.

If you have 38dB downstream you have some serious issues. :p I'm guessing it's supposed to be 38 SNR (Signal to Noise Ratio). Anything above 30dB and you should be okay. At 49dB upstream you should still be within the range of your modem. Most modems can push 55 - 60dB back to your cable company.

Bman212121
05-10-08, 11:36 PM
15dB hitting the back of most modems is way too high, generally +/- 5dB is ideal. And every bit as important is the SNR, too low and your levels can be perfect and your connection can still be intermittent or gone altogether.

QFT

Mr Bigman
05-11-08, 12:49 AM
..... make sure your modem has enough signal to sustain opperation. go to http://192.168.100.1 then go to "signal" and tell me the up/downstream power levels,

Is this my cable modem page?

I was told that these motorla modems didn't have a page according to Comcast.

I can play with these settings and do cool things.

Zapablast05
05-11-08, 03:45 AM
I've had cable for 10 days already. I went to that site that Raiden posted, here's what I got. I don't know what to look for or what I'm looking at.

Downstream
Freq/Power: 739.750 MHz 1 dBmV
Signal to Noise Ratio: 36 dB
Modulation: QAM256
Upstream
Freq/Power: 25.344 MHz 54 dBmV
Channel Type: DOCSIS 1.x (TDMA)
Symbol Rate: 2560 kSym/sec
Modulation: QAM16

Status
System Uptime: 10 days 6h:28m:0s
Computers Detected: 1
CM Status: Telephony-AC Power Iso OFF Reg Complete
Time and Date: SUN MAY 11 07:42:25 2008

Madpistol
05-11-08, 09:37 AM
Is this my cable modem page?

I was told that these motorla modems didn't have a page according to Comcast.

I can play with these settings and do cool things.

I think it's time for you to pay a visit to good 'ole Comcast and give them a good 'ole fashioned Ass whoopin... ;)

Revs
05-11-08, 09:56 AM
Just gone from ADSL to cable here and it's quite a bit better. Very low ping and more consistant DL speeds. Much faster up and downstream, too.

Bman212121
05-11-08, 11:08 AM
I've had cable for 10 days already. I went to that site that Raiden posted, here's what I got. I don't know what to look for or what I'm looking at.

Downstream
Freq/Power: 739.750 MHz 1 dBmV
Signal to Noise Ratio: 36 dB
Modulation: QAM256
Upstream
Freq/Power: 25.344 MHz 54 dBmV
Channel Type: DOCSIS 1.x (TDMA)
Symbol Rate: 2560 kSym/sec
Modulation: QAM16

Status
System Uptime: 10 days 6h:28m:0s
Computers Detected: 1
CM Status: Telephony-AC Power Iso OFF Reg Complete
Time and Date: SUN MAY 11 07:42:25 2008


Your downstream is perfectly fine, but the upstream is pushing the limits of the modem. How many splitters do you have before the modem? The most common setup is a 2 way splitter with one leg going straight to your modem, and then the other leg for the rest of your devices.

Bman212121
05-11-08, 11:12 AM
Is this my cable modem page?

I was told that these motorla modems didn't have a page according to Comcast.

I can play with these settings and do cool things.

It's the page on most modems, including all of the surfboards. There isn't anything you can change on it; it is mainly for information. I believe there is another page on the other interface of the modem (Coax Side) which Comcast can access that actually lets you change stuff.

Viventis
05-13-08, 10:56 PM
Just got DSL from Embarq installed. I have one computer hooked to the router/cable and the other in the same room directly connected to the DSL modem. I did the first round of tests at 10 PM which turned out to be a bad connection time for Charter Internet. All tests are with speedtest.net from Hickory, NC. Charter is 5mb down, 500 kb up; Embarq DSL is 5 mb down, 750 kb up:

............................. DSL............................................... ......Cable
City.............. Ping...........down..........UP .................Ping...........down.......up

Greensboro.......121...........5031.........437... .............145............2141......400
Washing DC:.....109...........5029.........562............ ....178............4990......436
NY,NY:..............61...........4983.........759. ...............140............4359......468
Atlanta:...........148...........5037.........731. ...............193............4856......453
Chicago:............74...........4146.........756. ...............150............4671......458
Miami:...............81...........4932.........755 ................109............3742......431
Toronto:..........181...........5239.........720.. ..............227..............791......410
Los Angeles:.....121...........4932.........744....... .........205..............498......427


Battlefield 2142........DSL: ... 51 servers under 100 ping ............. Cable: 14 servers under 100 ping

Note: These are not "typical" reading for Charter Cable in my neighborhood. But, I have been getting some bad numbers after work and on weekends lately. It is one of the reasons I switched. However, in an hour or so the Cable pings might come down well under 100. Another thing I noticed is that the DSL readings were very consistent when I repeated for a given city while the Cable pings and DL/UL numbers would vary a great deal from test to test. Glad to see a whole bunch of playable servers on the DSL.

I will repeat the tests at another time when the Cable is running faster.

Dazz
05-14-08, 03:10 AM
This was the information i got from my cable modem has been connected solid for god knows how long.

Downstream Value
Frequency 331000000 Hz

Signal To Noise Ratio 39.1 dB

Power Level 6.1 dBmV
The Downstream Power Level reading is a snapshot taken at the time this page was requested. Please Reload/Refresh this Page for a new reading


Upstream Value
Channel ID 2
Frequency 29200000 Hz
Power 44.0 dBmV

Viventis
05-14-08, 08:06 AM
Round #2 at 8 AM. Cable wins this one by a mile! The Cable numbers are improved a great deal while the DSL numbers are almost identical. It looks like the pattern so far is that the DSL is more consistant while the Cable will vary much more based on time of day (and presumably traffic). It's hard to ignore how much lower the Cable pings are when it is at its best.


............................. DSL............................................... ......Cable
City.............. Ping...........down..........UP .................Ping...........down.......up

Greensboro.......121...........5069.........570... ..............85............5031......472
Washing DC:.....109...........5041.........563............ .....69............4894......364
NY,NY:..............61...........5045.........759. ................43............4992......463
Atlanta:...........148...........5037.........578. ................34............4842......475
Chicago:............74...........4722.........756. ................40............4898......443
Miami:...............80...........5036.........755 .................58............4746......467
Toronto:..........180...........4798.........541.. ..............108............4736......427
Los Angeles:.....121...........4979.........744....... ..........69............4907......458


Battlefield 2142........DSL: ... 19 servers under 100 ping .......Cable: 31 servers under 100 ping

This time of morning there was only 115 BF2142 servers up (lots of folks trying the 1.50 beta, also)

Note: These are more "typical" reading for Charter Cable in my neighborhood.

SLippe
05-14-08, 09:21 AM
Here's what I just got;

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=31441&stc=1&d=1210771163

I have a splitter from the wall to the modem, but there is nothing (at the moment) on the other half, but usually a TV. I don't know about outside. Also, running my computer and my wife's computer via Linksys Router.

Cox Cable 12MB-15MB D / 1MB U.

Zapablast05
05-14-08, 06:49 PM
Your downstream is perfectly fine, but the upstream is pushing the limits of the modem. How many splitters do you have before the modem? The most common setup is a 2 way splitter with one leg going straight to your modem, and then the other leg for the rest of your devices.

I have Cable. It's only my computer that has internet.