PDA

View Full Version : Samsung SpinPoint 750GB


xmichaeluk
05-11-08, 07:00 AM
Hi guys, I bought my new SpinPoint 750GB yesterday, it's a brilliant drive, quiet and fast.
However, I discovered that the whole computer would freeze while transferring large files or installing large applications. This was when all 3 SATA drives were powered using only one continous cable. So I swapped the cables over and now I have 2x250 connected via one cable and the new samsung connected using another cable. Guess what, freezing has stopped and computer works like a dream!
Is this normal? Has anyone ever encountered something like this?

Thanks!

Gnu_Raiz
05-11-08, 07:39 AM
That is not that common, but if your power supply is marginal this could be a problem. You might encounter other problems in games as well, as it seems you are a little under powered. I would check your setup and see if you are getting the proper power you need on your 12 v rails.

Also if you overclock you could be having more problems I would go for good folding at home test, or a prime 95 test to test for stability.

xmichaeluk
05-11-08, 04:20 PM
Well, I figured out what was causing the problem. Disabling command queueing in nforce serial ata controller bios has helped. No more freezes (nana2)

nekrosoft13
05-12-08, 07:34 AM
could you post a hdtune speed test?

xmichaeluk
05-12-08, 08:53 AM
Will do as soon as I get some spare time :)

xmichaeluk
05-13-08, 03:05 AM
Well, I don't know much about hdd benchmarks, but I feel like there's something wrong with this one:

http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/8683/benchnt0.jpg

xmichaeluk
05-13-08, 03:09 AM
Here's the Windows' one
http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/2027/bench2bc2.jpg

Dazz
05-13-08, 02:32 PM
I have been debating on replacing my 2x 150GB Raptor X drives for 2x Spinpoint 750GB drives not sure what to do. Ah i decided on the 2 Spinpoint drives can't go wrong with 110 for 1.5TB space. Considering it costs 96 for a single 1TB Spinpoint drive.

RejZoR
05-15-08, 06:28 AM
Well i don't seem to have any problems with my SP F1 750GB. Though my disks are controlled by Intel chipset...