PDA

View Full Version : 9800GX2 vs 8800GTX benchmarks


Pages : [1] 2

Whitestar
05-16-08, 07:21 AM
Setup:
Mainboard: EVGA 680i SLI
CPU: C2D E6700 @ stock 2.67
Mem: 3GB OCZ XTC Platinum 6400 (800Mhz) dual channel
HDD: WD 1500 Raptor
Audio: Audigy 2
OS: Win XP SP 2
Drivers: 175.16 (EVGA 9800GX2 Superclocked) and 169.21 (EVGA 8800GTX KO ACS3)


9800GX2 scores
---------------
3DMark05: 17063 (8800GTX score: not run yet)
3DMark06: 12661 (8800GTX score: not run yet)

Crysis 1280x1024 High (shadows at medium): 46 (8800GTX score: 49)
Crysis 1280x1024 Very High (shadows at medium): 38 (8800GTX score: 32)
Crysis 1680x1050 High (shadows at medium): 40 (8800GTX score: 38)

UT3 HOCBench Containment 8xAF 1280x1024: 91 (8800GTX score: 91)
UT3 HOCBench Containment 8xAF 1600x1200: 89 (8800GTX score: 73)

HL2Ep2 HOCBench Demo1 8xAF 4xAA 1280x1024: 133 (8800GTX score: 137)
HL2Ep2 HOCBench Demo1 8xAF 4xAA 1600x1200: 126 (8800GTX score: 114)


Now call me crazy but isn't this weird? Shouldn't my GX2 outperform my old 8800GTX? In Crysis High at 1280x1024 my 8800GTX actually BEATS GX2 with 3 fps! This is particularly disappointing since I play Crysis mostly in 1280x1024.

Question 1. Is there something wrong with my GX2? Or do I need a more powerful CPU, like the E8400 for example, which runs at 3.0GHz? Should I try to overclock my current CPU and see what happens?

Question 2. Would I be better off returning the GX2 and getting a second 8800GTX instead? Surely 8800GTX SLI would give better results than this? And if I do, will I be able to combine my current EVGA 8800GTX KO ACS3 with a lesser clocked standard EVGA 8800GTX in SLI? Or do I have to have two identical cards?

Thoughts, anyone?

K007
05-16-08, 07:24 AM
Make sure SLI is working properly.

3GB Mem?

David power
05-16-08, 07:55 AM
Setup:
Mainboard: EVGA 680i SLI
CPU: C2D E6700 @ stock 2.67
Mem: 3GB OCZ XTC Platinum 6400 (800Mhz) dual channel
HDD: WD 1500 Raptor
Audio: Audigy 2
OS: Win XP SP 2
Drivers: 175.16 (EVGA 9800GX2 Superclocked) and 169.21 (EVGA 8800GTX KO ACS3)


9800GX2 scores
---------------
3DMark05: 17063 (8800GTX score: not run yet)
3DMark06: 12661 (8800GTX score: not run yet)

Crysis 1280x1024 High (shadows at medium): 46 (8800GTX score: 49)
Crysis 1280x1024 Very High (shadows at medium): 38 (8800GTX score: 32)
Crysis 1680x1050 High (shadows at medium): 40 (8800GTX score: 38)

UT3 HOCBench Containment 8xAF 1280x1024: 91 (8800GTX score: 91)
UT3 HOCBench Containment 8xAF 1600x1200: 89 (8800GTX score: 73)

HL2Ep2 HOCBench Demo1 8xAF 4xAA 1280x1024: 133 (8800GTX score: 137)
HL2Ep2 HOCBench Demo1 8xAF 4xAA 1600x1200: 126 (8800GTX score: 114)


Now call me crazy but isn't this weird? Shouldn't my GX2 outperform my old 8800GTX? In Crysis High at 1280x1024 my 8800GTX actually BEATS GX2 with 3 fps! This is particularly disappointing since I play Crysis mostly in 1280x1024.

Question 1. Is there something wrong with my GX2? Or do I need a more powerful CPU, like the E8400 for example, which runs at 3.0GHz? Should I try to overclock my current CPU and see what happens?

Question 2. Would I be better off returning the GX2 and getting a second 8800GTX instead? Surely 8800GTX SLI would give better results than this? And if I do, will I be able to combine my current EVGA 8800GTX KO ACS3 with a lesser clocked standard EVGA 8800GTX in SLI? Or do I have to have two identical cards?

Thoughts, anyone?

I got 17,500 with my GX2.

I had a x9650 cpu.

XDanger
05-16-08, 08:32 AM
Should I try to overclock my current CPU and see what happens?
Yes, And keep the memory 1:1 don't relax the timings :)

XDanger
05-16-08, 08:36 AM
3GB Mem?
With a 32bit OS is the maximum you can use, What of it?

nekrosoft13
05-16-08, 08:45 AM
With a 32bit OS is the maximum you can use, What of it?

it won't run in dual channel, they don't sell 1.5gb memory sticks

you need pretty much need to identical sticks, they can be different brand, but sometimes it can cause issues.



back to original question, are you sure SLI is enabled?

Whitestar
05-16-08, 08:54 AM
Yes, And keep the memory 1:1 don't relax the timings :)

I'm afraid to say I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to overclocking. My mem is at 4 5 4 15. I should keep it like that, is that what you're saying?
And how do I overclock the CPU. Do I simply adjust the multiplier? Or are there other things to adjust as well? FSB, perhaps? Sorry for asking this, but I know little about oc-ing. :)

I have already adjusted the mem and spp voltage. I got a tip to do so when I increased memory to 3 gig. I got BSODs when I put the extra gig in, but after voltage adjustment it was stable.

I think I may have some headroom for overclocking, because I have a Thermalright 120 Ultra with a 120mm fan to cool the CPU.

nekrosoft13
05-16-08, 09:17 AM
unless you have a special engineering version of the CPU, you can only lower the multiplier, can't raise it.

to OC, you have to raise FSB

ragejg
05-16-08, 09:23 AM
Can't one run 2x1gb and 2x 512mb and keep dual channel? I run 2x 512mb + 2x 256mb and I still have dual channel... this is with an nforce3 however.

Whitestar
05-16-08, 09:35 AM
it won't run in dual channel, they don't sell 1.5gb memory sticks
Yes it will, if you use 2x1GB + 2x512MB as ragejg correctly points out.


back to original question, are you sure SLI is enabled?
You mean Multiple GPU select in the driver control panel? I have activated that, yes.

nekrosoft13
05-16-08, 10:09 AM
Yes it will, if you use 2x1GB + 2x512MB as ragejg correctly points out.
that is true, my post was refering to OEM PCs that are sold with 3GB, when most often Dell, HP and the rest, stick one 2GB stick and one 1GB stick, which kills the dual channel



You mean Multiple GPU select in the driver control panel? I have activated that, yes.

http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/2217/slisetupwa6.jpg

dxx
05-16-08, 10:48 AM
that is true, my post was refering to OEM PCs that are sold with 3GB, when most often Dell, HP and the rest, stick one 2GB stick and one 1GB stick, which kills the dual channel

...which I suspect is your way of saying, "Oh sh*t, I was wrong about something, I will attempt to cover this up by being more wrong about other things".

Dell do not use 1x 2GB stick and 1x 1GB stick in their systems as standard. They use 2x1GB sticks, and 2x512MB sticks. This is stated on their website. The exception to this rule is when using a laptop with only two memory slots, but as we're talking desktops here, I'm not sure how that would come into it.

And you're not even right about 2GB and 1GB together killing dual channel. In such a case, a modern Intel Chipset will use Flex Mode, in which the the first GB of the 2GB module will run in dual channel mode, leaving the second GB of the module to run in single channel mode. You can read about it here (http://www.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/sb/cs-011965.htm), if you like. Clever, isn't it? Something I fear you may never be.

nekrosoft13
05-16-08, 11:08 AM
if a person is wrong, that doesn't mean you have to be a jackass about it.

something that you have mastered on this forum

and btw, about dell that might be a recent change, i seen my share of dell desktops and other OEM with one 2gb stick, and one 1gb stick

Whitestar
05-16-08, 12:29 PM
...which I suspect is your way of saying, "Oh sh*t, I was wrong about something, I will attempt to cover this up by being more wrong about other things".

Dell do not use 1x 2GB stick and 1x 1GB stick in their systems as standard. They use 2x1GB sticks, and 2x512MB sticks. This is stated on their website. The exception to this rule is when using a laptop with only two memory slots, but as we're talking desktops here, I'm not sure how that would come into it.

And you're not even right about 2GB and 1GB together killing dual channel. In such a case, a modern Intel Chipset will use Flex Mode, in which the the first GB of the 2GB module will run in dual channel mode, leaving the second GB of the module to run in single channel mode. You can read about it here (http://www.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/sb/cs-011965.htm), if you like. Clever, isn't it? Something I fear you may never be.


Don't you have better things to do than to insult people?

I appreciate your help, nekrosoft13.

K007
05-17-08, 08:50 AM
To make 100% sure ure GX2 is working in SLI. Use Nhancer to enable load balance bars.

And anyone who buys dell pcs to game with are really going to get ripped off -.-

Vasot02
05-17-08, 09:46 AM
COME ON
Is this a joke ??
Its not even a fair comparison

You can not compare apple to oranges

- 8800 GTX is a single card
- 9800 GX2 is a Sandwich (SLI) type sollution

Next time compare single-based sollutions with other single-based sollutions
(example-8800 GTX vs 9800 GTX)

Stoneyguy
05-17-08, 11:13 AM
COME ON
Is this a joke ??
Its not even a fair comparison

You can not compare apple to oranges

- 8800 GTX is a single card
- 9800 GX2 is a Sandwich (SLI) type sollution

Next time compare single-based sollutions with other single-based sollutions
(example-8800 GTX vs 9800 GTX)

did you even read the OP's post? :headexplode:

mailman2
05-17-08, 02:36 PM
I sent my GX2 back for spotty performance. Picked up a 8800 GTX water cooled, OC'd and its much smoother than the GX2 in everything but a few benchmarks like 3dm06 and vantage.

Xion X2
05-18-08, 01:27 AM
COME ON
Is this a joke ??
Its not even a fair comparison

You can not compare apple to oranges

- 8800 GTX is a single card
- 9800 GX2 is a Sandwich (SLI) type sollution

Next time compare single-based sollutions with other single-based sollutions
(example-8800 GTX vs 9800 GTX)
You have to love guys like the above with their knee-jerk insecure reactions. He didn't even bother to read the OP's post; he just felt immediately threatened that his GTX was being compared to a card w/ 2 PCBs on it. Classic.

Digital_Trans
05-18-08, 03:12 AM
My balls itch......(popcorn)

XDanger
05-18-08, 07:16 AM
I'm afraid to say I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to overclocking. My mem is at 4 5 4 15. I should keep it like that, is that what you're saying?

The reason I say this is the ram can take a lot of OC'ing and dont require extra cooling so not to worry too much
Loosening the timings doesn't help with these sticks, Just keep them at 4 4 4 15 2.2v
Keep the ratio @ 1:1 and just push up the fsb

No reason not to get >3.7ghz stable with a TRUE (depending on climate) although 3.6 is enough for Crysis' physics

Madpistol
05-18-08, 08:59 AM
This thread has really brought out the flamers.

Thanks for your post Whitestar. It was quite helpful. :thumbsup:

dxx
05-18-08, 10:09 AM
if a person is wrong, that doesn't mean you have to be a jackass about it.

something that you have mastered on this forum

and btw, about dell that might be a recent change, i seen my share of dell desktops and other OEM with one 2gb stick, and one 1gb stick


Giggle. Fact is, you were wrong, you pussied out of admitting that you were wrong, and now you're doing the whole victim-mode thing because you were called-out when you were trying to pass your absolute, unquestionable wrongness onto everyone else. And if you think I'm a jackass, well, having witnessed the power of logic that your brain can muster at its peak, I don't really think that's much of an insult. It's more like being kicked out of a club full of retards for not being one of them.

Madpistol
05-18-08, 02:58 PM
Giggle. Fact is, you were wrong, you pussied out of admitting that you were wrong, and now you're doing the whole victim-mode thing because you were called-out when you were trying to pass your absolute, unquestionable wrongness onto everyone else. And if you think I'm a jackass, well, having witnessed the power of logic that your brain can muster at its peak, I don't really think that's much of an insult. It's more like being kicked out of a club full of retards for not being one of them.

You probably need to tone down the flames a little. People (specifically mods) don't take to kindly to this sort of behavior here.

Greasy
05-18-08, 05:18 PM
Going from an 8800GTX to 8800GT SLI sucked big time. I traded that crap in for two 9800GTX and it's much smoother.

If I had to do it all over again, I would have just held on to the 8800GTX.

Oh, and nekrosoft13 is quick to yell at someone else for being wrong (see driver forum).... just saying. ;)