PDA

View Full Version : Unable to access my computer from laptop


Technoholic
05-22-08, 11:11 PM
The workgroup name is the same. On the same router. Enabled file sharing, and blablabla. I made everything possible so the file sharing can happen.

But everytime I want to access my computer in any way possible even though it is already enabled on my computer, it says inaccessible. Why?

I'm using Vista Home Premium 32-bit too. From my laptop, I can access other computers in the house just fine, except my computer.

Maybe I missed something? My father tried to look it over, he don't know what is wrong...

In this case, XP FTW.

glObalist
05-23-08, 02:21 AM
Can you ping the laptop?

Can you get the share to open from the Run.. or explorer window, i.e.

\\laptopname\sharename

or just

\\laptopname

File sharing allowed in Windows Firewall?

Technoholic
05-26-08, 07:24 PM
I can't access my computer from my father's computer too.

So I assume it has something to do with my computer's settings. The file sharing is enabled, the password protection is off too.

When I found the settings, it has something to do with to allow internet sharing, and I enabled it, but it shows me error message, it just fails just like that. It did the same thing for other stuff too, not all, but some.

I'm starting to assume that I need to reinstall the driver for network or something, but which one?

crainger
05-27-08, 08:47 PM
Are you using a 3rd party firewall?

XDanger
05-29-08, 07:15 AM
Connecting my gf's xp laptop directly via lan ports is quite crappy with 4mbps and cuts out after a while, other times shows up but no access ,
Connecting through the router works fine and transfers are about 11 mbps (non gigabit ethernet on her lappy) Not sure if thats ok.

She has the Link-Layer Topology Discovery thing installed.

I set her Zonelalarm sliders to the middle when I needs the access and have allowed an ip range 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.0.6

workgroup had to be specified with one of them vista or xp

I hate networks
_______________
After trying to connect today with nothing changed, took about half an hour of changing settings and whatever then

it connected "by itself"

I ****ing hate networks

betterdan
06-04-08, 12:47 PM
Do you have it setup as a private or public network on your computer? Set it to private.
Also are you sure both have the same workgroup name? Vista uses WORKGROUP while XP uses MSHOME

Technoholic
06-07-08, 12:20 AM
Are you using a 3rd party firewall?
No third party firewall.

Connecting my gf's xp laptop directly via lan ports is quite crappy with 4mbps and cuts out after a while, other times shows up but no access ,
Connecting through the router works fine and transfers are about 11 mbps (non gigabit ethernet on her lappy) Not sure if thats ok.

She has the Link-Layer Topology Discovery thing installed.

I set her Zonelalarm sliders to the middle when I needs the access and have allowed an ip range 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.0.6

workgroup had to be specified with one of them vista or xp

I hate networks
_______________
After trying to connect today with nothing changed, took about half an hour of changing settings and whatever then

it connected "by itself"

I ****ing hate networks
lol... All my workgroups are the same. I cannot see what's wrong, really. I have also tried installing the PCI linksys ethernet card in my system, and hooked it up. And I managed to enable the sharing thing, but it requires other connection or something. Meaning, it still don't work.

Do you have it setup as a private or public network on your computer? Set it to private.
Also are you sure both have the same workgroup name? Vista uses WORKGROUP while XP uses MSHOME
What will it benefit if I use public or private? I tried switching around with those and it doesn't help.