PDA

View Full Version : cant get a 1:1 ratio for the life of me


firehawk
05-25-08, 07:48 AM
ive been trying to OC this old e4600 for awhile now, it refuses to run in 1:1 according to cpu-z.

fbs and dram are set the same but it always reports 1:2. it does it even if i set the bios to a "linked" set up. i know thats not a horrible thing. but it worries me because i had had it running in 1:1 before i oc'd the cpu and only farted with mem timings

i don't get it :|

if you have any ideas as to what it might be shoot me a responce


e4600.
evga 780i mobo latest bios

Zapablast05
05-25-08, 11:31 AM
Disable linked and run your memory at it's stock speeds.

CaptNKILL
05-25-08, 11:55 AM
Technically, 1:1 with DDR is 1:2. Some BIOSes will say 1:2 when the FSB and RAM are set to the same speed.

firehawk
05-25-08, 12:01 PM
Technically, 1:1 with DDR is 1:2. Some BIOSes will say 1:2 when the FSB and RAM are set to the same speed.

well.....thats stupid :P

CaptNKILL
05-25-08, 12:06 PM
well.....thats stupid :P
Its just another way of saying the same thing, and its actually a bit easier to understand.

800Mhz DDR2 is "1:1" at 400Mhz FSB. Its really 1:2, so that makes a bit more sense.

Maybe this is what you're running into?

firehawk
05-25-08, 07:51 PM
Its just another way of saying the same thing, and its actually a bit easier to understand.

800Mhz DDR2 is "1:1" at 400Mhz FSB. Its really 1:2, so that makes a bit more sense.

Maybe this is what you're running into?


my mobo bios says its running in 1:1, its cpu-z that reports it as 1:2. i guess i have just never seen it report it like that when i have had it set to my fsb speed.


come to think of it. it was only AFTER i updated my bios that it started to appear in cpu-z as 1:2