PDA

View Full Version : 8800 gts got higher score then my new quad 9800 sli ??? what gives?


ServerTweak
05-28-08, 11:11 PM
Asus crosshair
AMD x2 5200+ @ 2.6GHZ air cooled
4GB DDR2 OCZ pc800
8800 GTS

3Dmark06 score 11,600



I have upgraded the system to the following
Asus crosshair
AMD x2 5200+ O/C 2.8GHZ water cooled by danger den
(1) PhysX Card
4GB DDR2 OCZ pc800
(2) 9800 x2 on SLI (Quad SLI)

3Dmark06 score 9,400

RaidenWoW
05-29-08, 12:00 AM
Drivers.

ServerTweak
05-29-08, 12:54 AM
what would you use ?

ragejg
05-29-08, 12:59 AM
Play Crysis @ 1680x1050 with 4xAA/8xa, HQ with Dx10 turned on. Maybe then SLI will ease your single card pain. At 1280x1024 even my AGP HD 3850 should generally keep up with both of your setups.

SLI is for mad crazy AA, AF and resolution. If you use a dainty amount of each then even an 8600 GTS works fine for today's games.

ragejg
05-29-08, 01:22 AM
Play Crysis @ 1680x1050 with 4xAA/8xa, HQ with Dx10 turned on. Maybe then SLI will ease your single card pain. At 1280x1024 even my AGP HD 3850 should generally keep up with both of your setups.

SLI is for mad crazy AA, AF and resolution. If you use a dainty amount of each then even an 8600 GTS works fine for today's games.

k0py
05-29-08, 01:23 AM
Asus crosshair
AMD x2 5200+ @ 2.6GHZ air cooled
4GB DDR2 OCZ pc800
8800 GTS

3Dmark06 score 11,600



I have upgraded the system to the following
Asus crosshair
AMD x2 5200+ O/C 2.8GHZ water cooled by danger den
(1) PhysX Card
4GB DDR2 OCZ pc800
(2) 9800 x2 on SLI (Quad SLI)

3Dmark06 score 9,400
First, I would say you are severly cpu limited. Next, I'd like to say I have ran into a similar issue(sorta) goin from my 8800ts512MB to the 9800GTX. Feels like my 8800gts was faster. Also i can't break my high score. With the 8800gts I got 14,627 and, with the 9800gtx 14,300 is the best I've been able to pull. At higher clock speeds mind you. What gives?

ragejg
05-29-08, 01:28 AM
... at least do this: using pro version, compare 3dmark 06 scores at 1680x1050 or higher with aa and af up all the way... then you'll see your difference probably, from a synthetic benchmark standpoint.

XFX Support
05-29-08, 10:10 AM
Also what are the specs on your PSU? I know if these cards to not get enough juice they do not perform up to expectations.

ServerTweak
05-29-08, 11:12 AM
Rosewill 600watt

Wolken007
05-29-08, 12:31 PM
That PSU is surely not powerful enough for quad SLI. I would 100% look for a new one. Also, you are most likely being massively CPU limited.

Viral
05-30-08, 02:07 AM
Your system isn't balanced, you really should've bought a new CPU and only one GX2, then bought a second one later along with a PSU that can handle it.

Dazz
05-30-08, 11:23 AM
I agree, the reason behind it is the extra CPU overhead when running SLI never mind 4 cards in SLI.

ServerTweak
05-30-08, 02:29 PM
Your system isn't balanced, you really should've bought a new CPU and only one GX2, then bought a second one later along with a PSU that can handle it.


lol, i got 3 x2 for a way 3 sli but forgot about everything else

ServerTweak
05-30-08, 02:30 PM
would this work ?

SILVERSTONE ZM1200M 1200W ATX 12V 2.3 & EPS 12V Power Supply
power supply has an 90amp single rail

AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor

K007
05-30-08, 10:38 PM
Why not get a E8400? or a Q Cpu from intel?

wwec
05-30-08, 11:03 PM
Yeah get a Wolfdale, Phenoms are not much faster than your average 486...

ATi
05-31-08, 03:52 AM
:) E8400

ServerTweak
05-31-08, 11:26 AM
I have a new mobo not using, only reason i haven't start building it up is that it takes ddr3 that i don't have yet.

Evga 790i ultra sli, i guess is time to build it up

Dazz
05-31-08, 05:54 PM
GTe 2GB DDR3 1333MHz memory for the time being it's fairly cheap and an E8400.

ServerTweak
05-31-08, 11:46 PM
GTe 2GB DDR3 1333MHz memory for the time being it's fairly cheap and an E8400.

wwas thinking more quad'ish like a q9300, looks good, any feed backs ?