PDA

View Full Version : How do I maximize performance on 8800GTX?


Kemo
06-04-08, 04:28 PM
My PC:
EVGA 8800GTX, stock speeds. I tried to OC the card but it yielded little to none performance gain.
Core 2 Duo E6320 @ 3Ghz,
Corsair 2GB DDR2 800Mhz,
EVGA 680i SLI LT

I do also have a Q6600 in a box but I am not sure what type of cooling I should use should I OC it to 3.6Ghz. I see all over the net that this speed can be achieved with air cooling. Basically what I'm trying to do is to raise my minimum FPS up for my games, especially Crysis and Call of Duty 4.
Crysis min 16fps max about 40-50fps.
CoD4 min 30fps max 250fps (com_maxfps 250 is a required CVAR on most servers).
Both games I run are using max settings @ 1680x1050. I read that this resolution is low as far as SLI goes, so I'm trying to avoid SLI because of cost (PSU and another 8800GTX). Will the Q6600 OCed to 3.6Ghz help at all? If so, what type of cooling should I use. Your input is appreciated. Thank you.

Dreamingawake
06-06-08, 10:19 AM
you could try overclocking your FSB, adding 2 extra GB of much faster ram, buying a 2nd 8800GTX !! (Which will be even cheaper than it is now very soon), orrrr you could use Windows XP (I'm assuming you're using Vista) :)

shabby
06-06-08, 05:40 PM
You cant make crysis run any better with today's gpu's, but cod4 shouldnt be dipping that low, i'd overclock your cpu a bit higher first.

Kemo
06-07-08, 09:38 PM
I am using XP-32bit. Unfortunately, my E6320 wont go past 3.0Ghz. I've tried voltage and the 9 yards. What I need to know is this, will the q6600 oced to 3.6Ghz bring my minimum fps up? If so, whats the best air cooling solution to use?

Dreamingawake
06-07-08, 09:48 PM
wow picky aren't we.

ur processor won't help much in this situation.

for crysis what we need is raw GPU power.

try putting shadows on medium for now. you cant reeeally tell that much
of a difference..

just be patient and wait a little longer and there will be better hardware out ! :D

walterman
06-07-08, 09:55 PM
Do not worry about your CPU.

I recently upgraded from a 2.75 GHz Athlon X2 4400+, to a 3.6 GHz Xeon 3350, and Crysis runs exactly at the same framerate.

I remember a 60% of cpu usage on the X2, and now a 15-20% of cpu usage while running Crysis.

About your main question, try to oc the shader & memory clock of your card.

jAkUp
06-07-08, 10:45 PM
DL Precision and OC your GTX :)

Kemo
06-09-08, 04:24 PM
Yes finally some reasonable feedback. Thanks to all. I upped my gtx to 600/1080 and my minimum fps went up. my 3dmark score went from 11800 to about 12300. I also lowered my resolution in CoD4 to 1440x900 and 1024x768 in crysis. i lost the ultra-sharpness of my monitors native res but gained a huge amount of performance. i guess i expected too much from my system. i should probably sell my q6600 right?

Toss3
06-09-08, 04:59 PM
Yes finally some reasonable feedback. Thanks to all. I upped my gtx to 600/1080 and my minimum fps went up. my 3dmark score went from 11800 to about 12300. I also lowered my resolution in CoD4 to 1440x900 and 1024x768 in crysis. i lost the ultra-sharpness of my monitors native res but gained a huge amount of performance. i guess i expected too much from my system. i should probably sell my q6600 right?

No you should buy a decent cooler for it and overclock it beyond 3,0Ghz.! :O

http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r260/mootsfox/DSC00059.jpg?t=1169359113

DRen72
06-09-08, 10:41 PM
:lol2:
Overkill!

Kemo
06-10-08, 12:09 AM
i used to put my pc outside during the coldest winter days and OC it beyond reason. that was fun.