PDA

View Full Version : Dual Channel RAM - a question


shazzmatazz
05-08-03, 02:10 PM
2x512MB Corsica Dual-Channel DDR on an Asus A7N8X-Deluxe.

Question: The board will accept DDR that isn't Dual-Channel (of course), so how can I confirm that the board has in fact recognized that the two DIMMs in the blue Dual-Channel-enabled DIMM-slots are being recognized as Dual Channel modules?

The BIOS doesn't indicate as far as I can tell, and I didn't have much luck with SiSoft Sandra 2003 either.

Suggestions?

Harnagel
05-08-03, 02:24 PM
As long as you installed them in seperate banks they will be operating in dual channel mode. It has nothing to do with the modules themselves. If you installed them in the right place and it runs then you're good to go.

shazzmatazz
05-08-03, 02:27 PM
Good enough! Thanks, Harnagel.

john19055
05-09-03, 11:40 AM
If your A7N8X-Deluxe is a revision 2 and you have Bios 1004 it will tell you in the boot process if you are running in sigle or dual channel mode,but haveing them in slots 1and 3 or 2 and 3 you are running in dual channel.

Greg
05-15-03, 07:25 AM
Yep, the earlier A7N8X boards/bios don't report dual channel on screen at boot, but if you download memtest86 (or use SiSoft Sandra or other) test program, you will see a dramatic difference when putting ram in the correct slots.