PDA

View Full Version : PSU recommendation for GTX280/260


XDanger
06-11-08, 03:45 AM
Running a single card and wanting the best deal, what would be a good PSU to look at,
Something like a Silverstone OP1000 is about 200 and for me just not cost effective enough including the price of a new graphics card.
Sure ,its an expensive hobby but thats taking the piss.

Muppet
06-11-08, 03:58 AM
Damn that's expensive. Way down here at the end of the World it's $300 (about 100 pounds)
It is a great PSU though.

Toss3
06-11-08, 04:07 AM
Running a single card and wanting the best deal, what would be a good PSU to look at,
Something like a Silverstone OP1000 is about 200 and for me just not cost effective enough including the price of a new graphics card.
Sure ,its an expensive hobby but thats taking the piss.

Why not just get the Antec Truepower Quattro 850w?

SH64
06-11-08, 04:24 AM
I'd say a High-quality 600W PSU should suffice ..

CaptNKILL
06-11-08, 04:28 AM
I'd say a High-quality 600W PSU should suffice ..

I agree.

Viral
06-11-08, 04:39 AM
http://www.ornl.gov/info/ornlreview/rev25-34/07828-86.jpg

JK :P

For value the Corsair TX-750 has a 60Amp single +12v rail, retails for $160-$180AUD, so should be decent over there too. Best PSU in its price range for sure.

For high end I also like the 1000w+ Thermaltake toughpowers, not usually a fan of Thermaltake but these are good PSU's! Or the Silverstone DA1200, which has a single 90A 12v rail and is better value for your money.

SH64
06-11-08, 05:01 AM
For high end I also like the 1000w+ Thermaltake toughpowers, not usually a fan of Thermaltake but these are good PSU's! Or the Silverstone DA1200, which has a single 90A 12v rail and is better value for your money.
My Thermaltake 750W is doing just fine with the 8800U overclocked :cool:

Ninja Prime
06-11-08, 07:32 AM
I'll never buy anything but Corsair power supplies again, best PS ever. Corsair power supplies are rated on actual power, the 620w, which I have, it equal to a 750w 80% efficent PS from anyone else. 620w should be plenty for any single card.

spajdr
06-11-08, 08:36 AM
My corsair 750W have no problem with two 8800GTX/Ultras ;)

XDanger
06-11-08, 12:07 PM
Truepower Quattro 850w, That looks perfect ,Thanks.

Now all I need to do is discover some money down the sofa.

Medion
06-11-08, 02:25 PM
I'll never buy anything but Corsair power supplies again, best PS ever. Corsair power supplies are rated on actual power, the 620w, which I have, it equal to a 750w 80% efficent PS from anyone else. 620w should be plenty for any single card.

I think you're misunderstanding the efficiency rating. It has nothing to do with power output, so much as power input.

For instance, my SeaSonic S12 500 can output 500W (if you max out every rail). It's also rated as 80+ efficient, so for this argument, we'll use 80% as it's efficiency.

Since energy is lost in the form of heat, the PSU has to draw more power from the wall than your PC actually needs. So, if your PC needs 200W, and the PSU is 80% efficient, the actual power draw from the wall would be 250W. No PSU is 100% efficient, and most high quality PSUs, including SeaSonic, PC P&C, and several others, can output their rated power.

evox
06-16-08, 02:36 PM
I'll never buy anything but Corsair power supplies again, best PS ever. Corsair power supplies are rated on actual power, the 620w, which I have, it equal to a 750w 80% efficent PS from anyone else. 620w should be plenty for any single card.
Just FYI, HX620W is manufactured by SeaSonic. :)

mullet
06-17-08, 12:40 AM
*NEW* PC Power & Cooling PPCS750QBL Silencer 750W Quad Blue
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817703019

Single 60A rail FTW!!!!!

SH64
06-17-08, 12:47 AM
So for those with no 8-pin rail PSU's , are we going to get a converter with the GTX280 ??

i dont wanna shell for a new PSU if thats not needed.

XxDeadlyxX
06-17-08, 02:40 AM
So for those with no 8-pin rail PSU's , are we going to get a converter with the GTX280 ??

i dont wanna shell for a new PSU if thats not needed.

I was worried about that, and I got a Thermaltake 1200W coming in the mail, because 1) I'm sick of my current PSU not being modular, and 2) the Tt has 3x 8-pin PCI-e connectors so I'll be all good for GTX 280 SLI without worring about PSU requirements, and finding out in the middle of a game that there is insufficient power (BSOD or other) :o

Anyone who has the Tt 1200W, what are your opinions of it?

Blacklash
06-17-08, 04:47 AM
I'm going to try it on my Seasonic. We will see.

Dreamingawake
06-17-08, 06:14 PM
says minimum 550w for the 280..

doesn't seem that bad, i wouldn't go with anything lower tho..

mojoman0
06-17-08, 07:22 PM
500 for the 260 possibly???

Medion
06-17-08, 07:25 PM
says minimum 550w for the 280..

doesn't seem that bad, i wouldn't go with anything lower tho..

They assume an average PSU. I'm sure a quality 500W could push it, but that in itself, would be pushing it :)

BCKator
06-17-08, 07:40 PM
I'm going to try it on my Seasonic. We will see.

I just bought another one of these as well (4th Seasonic I've purchased - all going strong). Planning on running C2D 8500, X35MB, 4G DDR2, 1-2 optical, 2-3 HD, 2pumps, and 7 120mm fans on it as well as a next gen vid (non-sli) GTX 280 or Ati (TBD)

conantheogar2
07-26-08, 06:29 PM
Dont be Fooled!

you'll need a High Quality 650w with at leat 40A on the 12V.

I have a cheap 570w and it doesnt work.

Xion X2
07-26-08, 07:12 PM
You don't need a 650w PSU. A quality 550w PSU should suffice as full system draw w/ a 280 is around 456w:

http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/ati_radeon_4850_4870_performance/page16.asp

SH64
07-27-08, 12:41 AM
I'd recommend the one i've got : Tt ToughPower 850W.
modular cables , 2x modular 6-pins , 2x 8-pins (come with power cable) & 2x 8-pin to 6-pin converters , in short you wont be needing to replace it for a while!

azanon
07-27-08, 01:55 AM
Buying a Seasonic nowadays would be a mistake. To my knowledge, none of them have a genuine 8-pin PCI connector (not counting 6+2's, or 8-pin modulars that convert from 6-pin).