PDA

View Full Version : Official "I just got my GeForce GTX 260 or 280" thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17

trivium nate
07-05-09, 07:29 PM
nice man you'll be very happy with it :)

im running sli GTX 260's crysis everything very high no aa about 30 fps

:wonder:
:wonder:
:wonder:

pakotlar
07-05-09, 08:57 PM
nice man you'll be very happy with it :)

im running sli GTX 260's crysis everything very high no aa about 30 fps

:wonder:
:wonder:
:wonder:

yeah that game is beaautiful once you have the hw to run it

trivium nate
07-05-09, 09:03 PM
hell yeah

Misfire
07-08-09, 09:04 AM
I also got my GTX 260 a few days ago, the thing is a beast, had to move a few hard drives to fit it in. Surprisingly it runs around the same temps as my 8800GTS.

I'm not sure how much improvement there is yet but I can pretty much max all my games with 16xXQ and 16xAF, excluding crysis of course which still runs below what i'd expect.

Koko56
07-08-09, 09:42 AM
I also got my GTX 260 a few days ago, the thing is a beast, had to move a few hard drives to fit it in. Surprisingly it runs around the same temps as my 8800GTS.

I'm not sure how much improvement there is yet but I can pretty much max all my games with 16xXQ and 16xAF, excluding crysis of course which still runs below what i'd expect.

WHat do you mean below what you expect?

Misfire
07-08-09, 11:38 AM
hehe, well I play at 1680x1050 (no AA) since thats my native resolution. So I was hoping I could max it out with frames not going below the 30 mark, but unfortunately I get around 22ish sometimes.

Although, I was testing using Crysis Wars, but I figure Wars is less intensive cuz the settings are different where Best Graphics mode is actually just high in crysis instead of very high.

Koko56
07-08-09, 12:34 PM
hehe, well I play at 1680x1050 (no AA) since thats my native resolution. So I was hoping I could max it out with frames not going below the 30 mark, but unfortunately I get around 22ish sometimes.

Although, I was testing using Crysis Wars, but I figure Wars is less intensive cuz the settings are different where Best Graphics mode is actually just high in crysis instead of very high.

I see. It sound about right, though I recall playing Crysis at 1680x1050 on E8400 at ~4Ghz, 4GB of RAM and a 260GTX at about stock - and that felt similar to palying Crysis at 1280x1024 with E6600 @~ 3Ghz, 2GB of RAM and an 8800GTX. Though it's been a while since I palyed on theother system (E6600,2GB RAM and 8800GTX is mine).

Also I'm not sure if the settings were the same... :p

six_storm
07-09-09, 06:00 PM
My 260GTX will be here tomorrow!!!!11111

six_storm
07-10-09, 01:12 PM
Finally got my 260GTX! This thing is freakin huge! (That's what she said) Can't wait to hook it up and try a few games out.

Koko56
07-10-09, 01:26 PM
Finally got my 260GTX! This thing is freakin huge! (That's what she said) Can't wait to hook it up and try a few games out.

Compared to the 8800GT it might be. Your mum said that? Really?

She must have had a 6600GT beforehand or something...


:o

betterdan
07-10-09, 03:03 PM
Finally got my 260GTX! This thing is freakin huge! (That's what she said) Can't wait to hook it up and try a few games out.

If you compare it to my member it's actually pretty small. Don't try this at home...

Misfire
07-10-09, 03:05 PM
Finally got my 260GTX! This thing is freakin huge! (That's what she said) Can't wait to hook it up and try a few games out.

Have fun :)

The main difference I see is my minimum frame rates have gone up and I think thats the most important.

six_storm
07-13-09, 05:57 AM
Well I finally got a chance to play a few games on my new 260GTX. Although it's not a HUGE boost in performance compared to my 8800GT, it does make my games a lot smoother.

For Crysis Warhead, I was able to run the game in "Gamer" around 30FPS avg with 2xAA; it still had some spots where it would creep down to 12-14FPS in wide open areas. I tried cranking down the shadows, water and particle effects, but it did not effect the framerate. Then I remembered . . . I can run this in DX9! After I made the -DX9 change in the shortcut, this made all the different in the world. Now I'm able to run everything on "Gamer" with 35-40FPS average, sometimes dipping down into the high 20's for minimum. Not bad!

I also tried GTA4; it's finally smooth with everything turned on or turned on high. FRAPS does say that the framerate dips down into the 30's at some times, but it's still smooth in my eyes.

Finally, L4D. The 8800GT was running this game pretty smoothly with everything turned up and 2XAA/AF. Now I'm doing the same thing with 8XAA/AF. I haven't tried 16XAA/AF . . . but the Source engine is so gorgeous anyway, I dunno what difference it would make.

One of the main reason I got a new video card was because of temps. I played GTA4 for a straight hour yesterday and guess what? It only hit 60C! My 8800GT would almost idle at this temp. Freakin awesome.

The noise of this card is about the game as my 8800GT so I'm cool with that.

Really glad that I upgraded. For $160 even, my games are a lot smoother now, especially Crysis and GTA4.

Rogozhin
08-26-09, 02:46 AM
Mine will be here friday!

Burnt_Ram
09-29-09, 12:34 PM
hopefully my GTX260 will be here in the next week. and then to see how it compares to my 8800's ...

trivium nate
09-29-09, 07:56 PM
thats cool probably will blow that card away gtx 260 is amazing!

j0j081
09-30-09, 04:15 AM
I just got a BFG GTX 260 core 216 from Best Buy for $160 last weekend. Have only played Aion with it so far but I can easily max that out. I'm guessing my old 9600gt would have choked quite a bit in the busy areas.

Burnt_Ram
09-30-09, 09:35 AM
thats cool probably will blow that card away gtx 260 is amazing!

i hope so, but remember i'm running 8800 SLi not a single 8800, so im not expecting a huge difference ...

MowTin
09-30-09, 09:29 PM
***deleted****

Wrong thread for GTX 275

Burnt_Ram
10-15-09, 09:34 AM
i got my 260GTX 216 a couple days ago, and its not as big of an improvement as i had hoped. my dual 8800GTS's 640mb are faster in most cases. anyone have a eVGA 260 55nm they want to sell so i can go back to SLi ;)

i have the 260 clocked to 702/1458/2400. hows that for an OC?

Redeemed
10-15-09, 01:05 PM
i got my 260GTX 216 a couple days ago, and its not as big of an improvement as i had hoped. my dual 8800GTS's 640mb are faster in most cases. anyone have a eVGA 260 55nm they want to sell so i can go back to SLi ;)

i have the 260 clocked to 702/1458/2400. hows that for an OC?

I have one that I've been contemplating selling. Used maybe a few months, never oc'd, and I still have the retail packaging.

I'd like to get about $150 for it, but shipping to you would probably be kinda' expensive... and I'm still not 100% sure I want to sell it. :p It's a good card. It's a lot faster than my two 9600GTs were (which is what I ran before I got the GTX260).

If you're dead serious, shoot me a PM and maybe we can work out a deal.

Burnt_Ram
10-15-09, 01:34 PM
I have one that I've been contemplating selling. Used maybe a few months, never oc'd, and I still have the retail packaging.

I'd like to get about $150 for it, but shipping to you would probably be kinda' expensive... and I'm still not 100% sure I want to sell it. :p It's a good card. It's a lot faster than my two 9600GTs were (which is what I ran before I got the GTX260).

If you're dead serious, shoot me a PM and maybe we can work out a deal.

thx for the reply Redeemed, i'm not 100% sure either. the smart thing to do would be to wait and see how the 300 series pans out, but unless it's double the performance of 200 series SLi'ed i'll pass and get a nice affordable upgrade. specifically another 260 :) DX11 won't be used a lot for a long time i bet. lol DX10 barely is used ....

Redeemed
10-16-09, 01:39 PM
thx for the reply Redeemed, i'm not 100% sure either. the smart thing to do would be to wait and see how the 300 series pans out, but unless it's double the performance of 200 series SLi'ed i'll pass and get a nice affordable upgrade. specifically another 260 :) DX11 won't be used a lot for a long time i bet. lol DX10 barely is used ....

No problem. :) I'm holding out on any upgrade until I see what the GTX300 series brings. Also because I can't afford any upgrade ATM. :lol: :o

I had a co-worker lined up to buy it... but I think he's gonna' back out. So as far as I'm concerned it's available for purchase. Like I said, I'd like to get $150 for it... but I'm not dead set on that price. Due to what shipping would be to send it to you, I'd probably be a bit more flexible as far as price goes. :)

yuriz43
11-29-09, 06:21 PM
Does anybody run their gtx 260 on a 500w PSU?

yuriz43
12-02-09, 05:17 PM
Well, just in case anybody wants to know. I received my gtx 260(core 216) today, and it works fine with my 500w PSU. No stability issues what so ever.

It's a great inexpensive upgrade for anybody with <= 9 series card.