PDA

View Full Version : I dunno about the 280..


Pages : [1] 2

Dreamingawake
06-16-08, 12:42 PM
whats the point of getting a 280/260 right now other than to play Crysis??

serrriously.. i'm urging people not to get caught up in the hype..

i'm definitely going to be avoiding this one until the refresh.. hell maybe even
all together.

just be patient, save your pennies for now.

it's not worth it !!!!!

six_storm
06-16-08, 12:54 PM
I kinda agree with you on this one. Besides Crysis, all other games out right now work just fine, even at high resolutions. I guess it's just an e-p3n1S thing . . .

Zeus666
06-16-08, 01:00 PM
this card is a must have for who have big screen like 2560x1600, although i would wait until the shrink comes out and price drop a bit . . .

Dreamingawake
06-16-08, 01:06 PM
for sure, i understand the enthusiast buying one for sure.

in fact that's probably where the majority of sales will come from anyway..

i just wanted everyone else who's debating one of these cards to really
stop and think about it a second time, especially those who already
own an 8800 -and have room for another card.

two 8800gt's or even 3 can be had for much much cheaper than this and
perform admirably.

don't get me wrong the 280 series looks amazing, it's just far too expensive
to justify paying for at this point.

interested to see what AMD does..

evox
06-16-08, 01:29 PM
Simply, if you want the very best performance, you go with GTX280. It's not a "e-penis" thing, it's just personal preference. Many people want the best of the best.
http://www.nvnews.net/reviews/geforce_gtx_280/images/1680_1050_16xq_aa.png

Dreamingawake
06-16-08, 01:47 PM
simply.. the 'best' performance sometimes isn't worth shelling out thousands of dollars..

especially in the case of one single game..

there isn't a damn game out there the 8800's can't handle decently, besides the obvious
and if anyone isn't happy with not playing at 1280x1024-1680x1050 with minimal AA + AF ONCE in a while
well.. then they're just spoiled. (not saying there's anything wrong with spending the coin on yourself if you've got it)

just don't put yourself in a pinch financially

like i said in my above post a better investment right now would be to grab a 2nd or 3rd 8800..just my opinion.

namuk
06-16-08, 01:47 PM
would not mind seeing far cry 2 running on these cards but it is not out:( with the cards being that price will the 280 run it well

G-Man
06-16-08, 02:34 PM
very big disappoint for $650 price range, i'll stick to $425 gx2 lol

Roliath
06-16-08, 03:56 PM
I'll pay the difference and the main reason I want a 280 is the performance is similar if not better than a GX2, and it can drive TWO displays. I rather have one solid GPU solution than two gpu's on one pcb and get stuck messing with sli profiles, flickering, driver conflicts....etc.........

G-Man
06-16-08, 04:30 PM
Simply, if you want the very best performance, you go with GTX280. It's not a "e-penis" thing, it's just personal preference. Many people want the best of the best.
http://www.nvnews.net/reviews/geforce_gtx_280/images/1680_1050_16xq_aa.png

how can this be true for crysis, is the settings on medium or low? all the reviews i've seen at 1920 on high settings it gets around 25 fps no aa or af

-=DVS=-
06-16-08, 04:48 PM
They also claim 8800 GTX gets 26fps @ 1680x1050 16xQ AA , same settings i don't get anywhere near that score i got 16~ with 177.26 , without AA i got ~28 fps , so my guess is they didn't actually use 16xQ AA.

G-Man
06-16-08, 04:56 PM
yeah i dont get it at all unless nvidia gave them some special drivers? lol

Maverickman
06-16-08, 04:56 PM
Most reviewers state that the GTX 280 is just overpriced for the performance it delivers. You can get 2 8800 GTs for a little over $300 that can approach the performance of the GTX 280 in Crysis.

pingu2
06-16-08, 05:21 PM
personally mine is coming tomorrow to play Age of Conan with!

MikeC
06-16-08, 06:33 PM
how can this be true for crysis, is the settings on medium or low? all the reviews i've seen at 1920 on high settings it gets around 25 fps no aa or afNote that the results were for 1680x1050.

G-Man
06-16-08, 06:36 PM
Note that the results were for 1680x1050.

even at 1680x1050 on high settings with AA/AF turned up , you got 47fps, thats amazing ;/ all the other reviews i've noticed got nowhere like urs..... just curious how you got those, maybe some special tweaking?

MikeC
06-16-08, 06:36 PM
They also claim 8800 GTX gets 26fps @ 1680x1050 16xQ AA , same settings i don't get anywhere near that score i got 16~ with 177.26 , without AA i got ~28 fps , so my guess is they didn't actually use 16xQ AA.My results were with 16xQ AA enabled under Windows XP. I didn't claim that the frame rate displayed 26 fps. That's what the results from the benchmark stated. Note that I also used ForceWare WQHL 175.16 when I tested the GeForce 8800 GTX.

MikeC
06-16-08, 06:42 PM
even at 1680x1050 on high settings with AA/AF turned up , you got 47fps, thats amazing ;/ all the other reviews i've noticed got nowhere like urs..... just curious how you got those, maybe some special tweaking?What review are your referencing and were they benchmarked under Windows XP with high quality (as opposed to very high)?

No special tweaking. Installed the GeForce GTX 280 and drivers and ran the benchmark.

Edit: Just re-ran the benchmark on the GeForce GTX 280 at 1680x1050 with 16xQ AA and high quality settings:

http://www.nvnews.net/reviews/geforce_gtx_280/images/crysis_1680_16xqaa.png

hell_of_doom227
06-16-08, 06:47 PM
Crysis runs like crap even with GTX280 which means that something badly is ****ed up with DX10 or Crysis itself.

Overall nothing to be impressed about. My SLI 8800GTX does equal or maybe even better job then single GTX280. Simply, it would be waste of money for me...

-=DVS=-
06-16-08, 06:58 PM
There must be big difference between Win XP dx9 and Vista DX10 in Crysis.

MikeC you should use Crysis Benchmark Tool , http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1791

namuk
06-16-08, 07:00 PM
crisis is just a bench util now . with no big games been out for a bit how can i tell if this is a good card??

you have bf3 dx10 (mmm 64 player dx10 at maxed out graphics) coming out end of year and farcry2 . then you have the physics drivers coming out thats a big punch there.

the only reason i whould upgrade me card is for the cooler at 450 big money that if i see no differance only on numbers on a bench mark not real world

ArrowMk84
06-16-08, 07:01 PM
Looks like I'll be skipping this go around. Everything runs well at 2560x1600 with a single 8800GTX here (with Crysis and Bioshock being the exceptions, but even they're playable with a couple of options turned down). So I'll see what AMD has to offer later this week, or wait until the fall/winter refresh (when I'll be upgrading the rest of my system, anyway).

And damn, the power draw on full load...

ragingWS6
06-16-08, 07:01 PM
Crysis runs like crap even with GTX280 which means that something badly is ****ed up with DX10 or Crysis itself.

Overall nothing to be impressed about. My SLI 8800GTX does equal or maybe even better job then single GTX280. Simply, it would be waste of money for me...

Was thinking the same thing. Going to keep my 8800GTX system as long as I can. I finished up Crysis anyway playing with Custom settings @ 1440x900, 2xAA and I was averaging just under 40 FPS (except for the last part on the aircraft carrier...that was a slideshow with AA enabled). Good enough for me though.

MikeC
06-16-08, 07:04 PM
Crysis runs like crap even with GTX280 which means that something badly is ****ed up with DX10 or Crysis itself.

Overall nothing to be impressed about. My SLI 8800GTX does equal or maybe even better job then single GTX280. Simply, it would be waste of money for me...But you have to admit that it is tempting to pick up one GeForce GTX 280 instead of two GeForce 8800 GTX :)

I didn't compare the GeForce GTX 280 to the GeForce 8800 GTX in SLI, but as I was running benchmarks on the GeForce GTX 280, I felt that the GeForce 8800 GTX in SLI would offer better performance overall. This is something I am interested in comparing and will likely do a follow up.

MikeC
06-16-08, 07:08 PM
There must be big difference between Win XP dx9 and Vista DX10 in Crysis.

MikeC you should use Crysis Benchmark Tool , http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1791Thanks for the tip. I believe there still is a difference in 3D performance between Windows XP and Vista. Most visitors to nV News continue to use Windows XP.