PDA

View Full Version : Home Premium 32bit to 64bit


|MaguS|
06-18-08, 08:48 PM
So my laptop came with Home Premium 32bit and I want to switch to a 64bit version of Vista. Now I tried using a disc with the 64bit version of the OS on it but my key forces the 32bit to be installed. Is there a cost effective way to switch? I looked at the upgrade options but they only offer premium to ultimate...

nekrosoft13
06-18-08, 08:52 PM
but my key forces the 32bit to be installed

what does that mean? if you use 64bit CD, key can't force 32bit from 64bit CD

when i bought my Dell XPS also came with HP 32bit, I used the 64bit CD that i got with my Ultimate, and it installed 64bit with out any issues

|MaguS|
06-18-08, 08:58 PM
Huh I used my friends Ultimate CD with the Key that came with my Laptop (sticker stuck under my Laptop) and yet it continued to install the 32bit version, never gave me an option.

nekrosoft13
06-18-08, 09:06 PM
not exactly 100% sure, but aren't 32bit and 64bit seperate. two seperate disc with Vista Ultimate

personally i haven't seen 32bit and 64bit on same disc

biggest picture i found so far
http://i19.tinypic.com/68c6a6f.jpg

and that disc says 64bit only

|MaguS|
06-18-08, 09:11 PM
Maybe my friend gave me the wrong disc...

BTW It's not possible to go from 32 to 64 without reinstalling everything right? I know I can go up in versions without reinstalling but going to 64bit will cause me to lose everything, right?

nekrosoft13
06-18-08, 09:13 PM
even reading this from microsoft.com

Please note that 64-bit media is included in the box with the purchase of Windows Vista Ultimate.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/1033/ordermedia/default.mspx

from the sound of it it has to be seperate disc

|MaguS|
06-18-08, 09:23 PM
Im just gonna order a 64bit copy from MS directly, they only charge shipping and handling.

Medion
06-18-08, 09:40 PM
Im just gonna order a 64bit copy from MS directly, they only charge shipping and handling.

You have a link to where I can do this? Or is it a phone call?

|MaguS|
06-18-08, 09:45 PM
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/windowsvista/editions/64bit.mspx

Medion
06-18-08, 09:51 PM
EDIT: NM, I'm wrong.

Won't work for me, though, I got an OEM version.

mullet
06-19-08, 01:09 AM
Im just gonna order a 64bit copy from MS directly, they only charge shipping and handling.

Yeah I ordered mine it came pretty fast, you need a key and 6 bucks I think if you want it shipped faster through DHL.

Ghosthunter
06-19-08, 08:18 AM
Magus,

if you have the 64 bit CD you can do it, does not matter it if you have oem cd or retail here you go read this entire thread and follow the directions

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=120228


you need to use the utility ABR which saves your OEM key, read the entire post it goes into great details

ViN86
06-19-08, 08:44 AM
Slightly off topic, but regarding cd-keys for Vista:

I got a copy of Vista Ultimate from Microsoft, and the 32-bit disc and 64-bit disc have different cd-keys.

Does that mean I can install the 32-bit on one computer, and the 64-bit on another, or are they somehow tied together? I'd asked around before, but no one seemed to know. Hopefully one of you guys with Vista Ultimate can enlighten me.

really, different keys? that's weird. :confused:

i have no idea what it means lol.

|MaguS|
06-19-08, 11:11 AM
BTW Its a complete reinstall if I want to install Vista 64bit right? Think I might wait, don't want to lose all my **** yet.

nekrosoft13
06-19-08, 12:36 PM
yes, you can't perform an upgrade, you could back-up your files/music etc..

|MaguS|
06-19-08, 01:22 PM
That sucks.

nekrosoft13
06-19-08, 01:44 PM
i know, i done that to my dell right after receiving it. opened the box, booted once to see if it works. format and install 64bit.

Destroy
07-01-08, 11:36 PM
Upgrading from 32bit so I can use 4gigs properly. Just ordered Home Premium Vista 64bit 'alternate media' tonight for $10.41 shipped from MS. Kinda sucks they don't include both versions on one DVD.

I'm currently dual booting with my main winXP 32bit and secondary Vista 32bit. Not wanting to ruin my winXP install, any tips to 'uninstall' Vista 32bit so I can easily install 64 bit?

nekrosoft13
07-02-08, 12:05 AM
install 64bit over 32bit,

installer will move your current 32bit install to a folder on C drive Windows.old

Destroy
07-02-08, 02:59 PM
install 64bit over 32bit,

installer will move your current 32bit install to a folder on C drive Windows.old

So I would still have dual boot correct? Or would I now have tri-boot?

Can I simply delete Windows.old dir after Vista64 is installed?

nekrosoft13
07-02-08, 03:03 PM
yes you can, and if need be, you can also copied certain files that you might need from that directory, maybe some game save etc...

john19055
07-12-08, 09:07 AM
You need a 64bit key ,just because you have a 64bit disk ,it want install 64bit with a 32bit key.But it kinda did with my I had vista ultimate 32bit OEM and I half blind and when I put the key in to get the $10 copy from microsoft they sent me vista home premium 64bit,and when I went to install it it would no let me use the key that I wrote down ,but when I put my 32bit key from my vista ultimate it install vista ultimate 64.bit.