PDA

View Full Version : NVIDIA Launches PhysX!


mailman2
06-19-08, 06:12 PM
You will need to install the latest 177.39 ForceWare driver in addition to the PhysX driver. At this moment, PhysX support has only been enabled for those four GPUs. NVIDIA will progressively enable PhysX support in the other GeForce 9 and GeForce 8 graphics over the next few weeks.

http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=560

This is effin' awesome!!! Check out the UT3 benchies and encode times. Free PhysX for 8800 and up users!

Absolution
06-19-08, 06:21 PM
Very neat

nrdstrm
06-19-08, 06:25 PM
Well, not 8800 and above atm. Right now only GTX280, GTX260 and 9800 GTX are supported...Can't wait to try it on my 8800 GTX, but if it's not up to snuff, it's time for an upgrade...

mailman2
06-19-08, 06:28 PM
Well, not 8800 and above atm. Right now only GTX280, GTX260 and 9800 GTX are supported...Can't wait to try it on my 8800 GTX, but if it's not up to snuff, it's time for an upgrade...

Oh it's coming...its already built into the unified design. I'm sure with the modded .inf we can get the GPU drivers 177.39 to work, not sure if the PhysX driver will need tweaking to work with the 8xxx series, hopefully not.

NVIDIA will progressively enable PhysX support in the other GeForce 9 and GeForce 8 graphics over the next few weeks.

nekrosoft13
06-19-08, 06:30 PM
aha

Today, NVIDIA officially launched GPU acceleration for PhysX when they released the PhysX driver version 8.06.12

released is past tense, so where are these magic drivers

mailman2
06-19-08, 06:47 PM
aha



released is past tense, so where are these magic drivers

Yea, but whether or not there is some sort of .inf in the PhysX that will unlock that feature is unknown. Hopefully just the 177.39 drivers will open up the PhysX features.

KasuCode
06-19-08, 07:05 PM
lets go play cell factor now :P this should increase my 3d vantage score too i would think.

Stevedroid
06-19-08, 07:36 PM
The article doesn't clarify, does this mean that you need a separate card dedicated to PhysX, or you can get it with a single video card?

I'd imagine you'd take a hefty performance penalty if the card was split between both rendering graphics and running the physics code.

bacon12
06-19-08, 07:41 PM
I think it would be a separate card to run it. That is what we were told when they first announced it.

nekrosoft13
06-19-08, 08:54 PM
first part

http://nekrosoft.net/NVIDIA_physX_8_06_12_driver.exe

64bit vista 177.39 driver soon

seeker
06-19-08, 09:31 PM
I realize that I'm totally out of sync here, because I do not, nor will not have any of those video cards in the foreseeable future. But, I do have an Ageia PhysX driver required for one of my TV tuners. I know that this is apples and oranges as far as hardware goes, but is the driver of the same sort?

mailman2
06-19-08, 09:48 PM
The article doesn't clarify, does this mean that you need a separate card dedicated to PhysX, or you can get it with a single video card?

I'd imagine you'd take a hefty performance penalty if the card was split between both rendering graphics and running the physics code.


I think this is handled by a single card -

After all, the unified architecture used by NVIDIA since the G80 should have no problem handling physics calculations as well.

Best of all, unlike video transcoding, PhysX acceleration is FREE. All GeForce 8 and 9 series, and of course, the new GTX 200 series will have no problem accelerating PhysX.

nekrosoft13
06-19-08, 09:55 PM
nm file was corrupt, fixed version should be available soon

SH64
06-20-08, 04:06 AM
Sweet!

David power
06-20-08, 05:30 AM
Does this mean that my graphics card will act as a physics card also? wont this reduce graphics performance ? I'm sure my CPU could calculate physics better than a graphics card. 4 cores at 3.6GHz or 2 cores at 640MHz..... can some one explain how its better?

-=DVS=-
06-20-08, 11:02 AM
Does this mean that my graphics card will act as a physics card also? wont this reduce graphics performance ? I'm sure my CPU could calculate physics better than a graphics card. 4 cores at 3.6GHz or 2 cores at 640MHz..... can some one explain how its better?


Megahertz only matter when you compare apples to apples.

David power
06-20-08, 12:30 PM
Megahertz only matter when you compare apples to apples.

kk

jolle
06-20-08, 02:32 PM
a 8800GTX for example has 128 SP units at 1.3Ghz (or is it 1.5?).
So its suitable for highly parallell task such as physics.
I guess there are lot of things taht go into it aswell, but some types of calculations could benefit alot from running on a GPU.

aceflier
06-21-08, 02:07 PM
Sad the 8800 users have to wait even longer as this was supposed to be part of the 8800 series long ago. I think it was supposed to use havok physics back then.

Wish they would incorp havok into gpu would help alot more games than physX.

Either way I'm a bit disapointed that they are using this as marketing much like the purevideo 6800 days that were borked. Would not be surpised if 8800gtx/ultra ends up not running physX.

Eliminator
06-21-08, 02:15 PM
Sad the 8800 users have to wait even longer as this was supposed to be part of the 8800 series long ago. I think it was supposed to use havok physics back then.

Wish they would incorp havok into gpu would help alot more games than physX.

Either way I'm a bit disapointed that they are using this as marketing much like the purevideo 6800 days that were borked. Would not be surpised if 8800gtx/ultra ends up not running physX.
nvidia has always done this and they will do it again... this WHQL driver for 8800 may very well be the last one... future drivers if any wont have any fixes/improvements for 8800's

jolle
06-21-08, 05:02 PM
nvidia has always done this and they will do it again... this WHQL driver for 8800 may very well be the last one... future drivers if any wont have any fixes/improvements for 8800's
If they keep supporting the 9 series, the 8 isnt much of a stretch youŽd think.

nekrosoft13
06-21-08, 05:06 PM
of course they will keep suporting 8 series, bug is a bug, it usually covers all cards. when they fix it for one, it will be fixed on other ones aswell.