PDA

View Full Version : HD wont show up on PC


muelo1000
06-21-08, 04:24 PM
I have a WD 500 gig HD i installed and when i go to check on the computer icon it dosent show up only my WD 160 ???? any help???

DeusGear
06-21-08, 04:35 PM
Are you on vista or xp? If on vista then go to start, control panel, administrative tools, computer managment (i think its the same for xp). Open it and click on storage. You will see your hard drive there. Right click and format it. After it's done it will be usable.

muelo1000
06-21-08, 06:15 PM
i have vista ultimate and the hard drive still dosent show up!!!!!???????

seeker
06-21-08, 08:08 PM
Check at the WDC website, if I recall, the WDC drives have a little different setting for the jumpers.

CaptNKILL
06-21-08, 08:30 PM
i have vista ultimate and the hard drive still dosent show up!!!!!???????

Did you do what DeusGear said?

New drives need to be initialized first in the administrative tools : disk management window.

nekrosoft13
06-21-08, 08:42 PM
and then formated

hokeyplyr48
06-21-08, 10:36 PM
or it might be conflicting drive letters. make sure it's not overlapping with anything like a built-in card reader or something. i've had that problem with HD's before.

muelo1000
06-22-08, 07:57 AM
Thanx guys i am all set for now .....man i can always count on you nvnews and you guys