PDA

View Full Version : Going to buy Vista Ultimate 32 OEM with new GPU...


Pages : [1] 2

K007
06-21-08, 08:38 PM
I am going to grab the OEM version of Vista Ultimate when i buy my new gpu which is going to be either the 4870 or the gtx280....Its going to be about 240AUD...compared to the retail ultimate which is nearly 500AUD...

My question is....what restrictions / drawbacks are there from going with the OEM version?

nekrosoft13
06-21-08, 08:47 PM
main restriction is that if you need to re-activate (especially new board) they might tell you that you can't

if you are one of those people that change a motherboard every few months OEM is not for you.

plus go with 64bit, there is absolutly no point to get 32bit anymore

Mr Bigman
06-21-08, 09:21 PM
U got a point about 32bit. No need.

Im pretty much 32 bit free now and fully 64 bit dependent.

Nice to see we finally fully use 64 bit cpu's.

mullet
06-21-08, 09:33 PM
Retail + 64bit = the way to go.

Starscream
06-21-08, 10:52 PM
Another vote for 64 bit.

As for activation with OEM if you change the motherboard, when the automated phone system asks if you have any big hardware changes say yes, then it will ask if you changed the motherboard, say no, your activation is now complete.

K007
06-21-08, 11:10 PM
64bit is nice but i cbf with compatibility issues. Sure sure everything works ok for you..but the chance for incompatibility due to some driver is alot higher than in 32bit.

Also anytime i plan to change the motherboard i usually will be doing a full upgrade, and which always have me reformatting the entire system with a new OS install.

Also i have no intention of going 4GB of ram anytime soon either, so i have no real gains going 64bit,....yet...

Another vote for 64 bit.

As for activation with OEM if you change the motherboard, when the automated phone system asks if you have any big hardware changes say yes, then it will ask if you changed the motherboard, say no, your activation is now complete.

ha...thats really..awesome -.-

nekrosoft13
06-22-08, 02:53 AM
stop using compatibility as an excuse, its not 2003 anymore

Phyxion
06-22-08, 06:06 AM
64bit is nice but i cbf with compatibility issues. Sure sure everything works ok for you..but the chance for incompatibility due to some driver is alot higher than in 32bit.

Also anytime i plan to change the motherboard i usually will be doing a full upgrade, and which always have me reformatting the entire system with a new OS install.

Also i have no intention of going 4GB of ram anytime soon either, so i have no real gains going 64bit,....yet...



ha...thats really..awesome -.-

That's rubbish everything works fine these days with x64.

I'd vote for x64.

grey_1
06-22-08, 06:42 AM
Another vote for 64. Haven't had a compatibility issue yet.

CaptNKILL
06-22-08, 10:59 AM
If you don't use 16bit apps, you have no reason to use 32bit. It'll just hold you back.

Even if you do use 16bit apps, they'll probably work far better emulated under DOSBox than through a standard DOS Window in Vista.

six_storm
06-22-08, 11:37 AM
I've had it installed for two months now and everything is fine. Vista x64 has given me no problems on my rig.

Imbroglio
06-22-08, 01:05 PM
make sure you save some money and get the "upgrade" version....

there are many how-to's around the net to show you how to do a clean install (non-upgrade install) with the upgrade disc (it doesn't require changing anything, it's a two second work-around), it's almost like MS wants to save you money :captnkill:

K007
06-22-08, 04:01 PM
I read somewhere that MS has a 32/64bit copy as well? I know i read it somewhere...

crainger
06-22-08, 04:34 PM
You mean the Ultimate Retail package? Yes it comes with both 64 and 32 bit versions. Just install the 64bit version. Compatibility is not a reason any more, Nvidia, Creative, AMD all have had 64 bit drivers for years, not to mention the drivers Vista comes with and has access to on MS updates.

shilk
06-22-08, 05:33 PM
I'd go 64-bit, but my 2GB of ram is killing me. Anyone wanna sell me some ram for cheap? :o I got my upgrade and figured 2GB would have been enough for now. Figures they'd drop in price a week after I buy everything. :(

Until I get some more ram, I'm not going anywhere close to Vista 64. Unless someone can convince me otherwise.

nekrosoft13
06-22-08, 05:48 PM
You mean the Ultimate Retail package? Yes it comes with both 64 and 32 bit versions. Just install the 64bit version. Compatibility is not a reason any more, Nvidia, Creative, AMD all have had 64 bit drivers for years, not to mention the drivers Vista comes with and has access to on MS updates.

that is a seperate two disc

what he is talking about is a custom warez version that has both 32bit and 64bit on single disc

Medion
06-22-08, 06:13 PM
That's rubbish everything works fine these days with x64.

I'd vote for x64.

Well, except CMSS3D :)

But seriously, I'd recommend going with 64 as well. Wish I had gone that route.

nekrosoft13
06-22-08, 06:17 PM
CMSS3D works in the latest WHQL driver, just no the beta.

once new WHQL versions is finished it should probably work again

bacon12
06-23-08, 08:23 AM
Another vote for vista 64. No problems with compatibility here. I would go with OEM and save yourself some money.

crainger
06-24-08, 01:41 AM
Remember to keep all your XP saves because they are compatible with Vista 64 bit and saves you leveling up your Windows character all over.

Dragunov
06-24-08, 08:49 AM
Buy OEM and u can always download the 64-bit OS from the net, u can use the same key for it

Rakeesh
06-24-08, 11:30 AM
Buy OEM and u can always download the 64-bit OS from the net, u can use the same key for it

I don't know how many times I've posted this yet people often seem to forget it :D

Dragunov
06-24-08, 03:37 PM
U better Sticky ur sentence :)

K007
06-24-08, 04:01 PM
Buy OEM and u can always download the 64-bit OS from the net, u can use the same key for it

Yea that's what i was thinking too.

S.SubZero
06-27-08, 10:56 AM
OEM keys are not 32/64 compatible. You do need to buy the OEM flavor you plan to use.