PDA

View Full Version : GTX280/260 Overclocking Results


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

Revs
06-24-08, 11:30 AM
Post your OC results here :)

Has anyone got a GTX260 yet??

mg1973
06-24-08, 01:10 PM
Got my 260 today,some results with my Q9450 at 3.4GHz:

http://i28.tinypic.com/2mpiyz5.jpg

http://i27.tinypic.com/28ja9v8.jpg

nekrosoft13
06-24-08, 01:31 PM
physx not installed?

Shocky
06-24-08, 01:37 PM
Managed 702/1458/2430 so far from my PoV GTX280, shader wont clock any higher but memory and core I havent really pushed fully yet, but I will in time. :)

nekrosoft13
06-24-08, 01:40 PM
how much improvement did you get?

Shocky
06-24-08, 02:14 PM
how much improvement did you get?


Just over a 1000 point gain in vantage, not that anyone cares about that, hard to tell in games as they all run pretty well to start with, i'd benchmark crysis but the results from the built-in benchmark are even more useless then 3dmark.

Revs
06-25-08, 03:26 AM
Got my 260 today,some results with my Q9450 at 3.4GHz:


Nice :). That's more than my current SLI setup.

mg1973
06-25-08, 05:28 AM
physx not installed?

It is now:

http://i30.tinypic.com/2pqlsf5.jpg

Revs
06-25-08, 07:05 AM
What's the best thing to use to OC on these cards?

mg1973
06-25-08, 07:45 AM
I'm using the gainward expertool don't think this version is available to download from their website tho.

Would of preferred the evga precision but thats not available to download either you only get that on the cd that comes bundled with their 260 or 280.

http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=d40e013e751256a48d97d0a9e5b09326

spajdr
06-25-08, 08:22 AM
I use rivatuner, but gainward expertool does same job.

nekrosoft13
06-25-08, 08:30 AM
rivatuner, new expertool, or that evga tool (based on rivatuner)

all should give you same results.

Revs
06-25-08, 10:48 AM
OK, cheers guys, i'll stick to RT. My GTX260's arrived this morning about ten minutes after getting to work :o. They've been teasing me all day, can't wait to get home :D.

CAUTION
06-25-08, 11:18 AM
Nice REVS, and good luck with the new cards.

Revs
06-25-08, 03:48 PM
Nice REVS, and good luck with the new cards.

Cheers bud :)

OMG these things OC like nothing i've ever known. The only reason I stopped where I did is the memory wouldn't increase any more and the GPU clock was starting to scare me :lol:. The shader started to clip at 1490mhz so I backed it off 10mhz. You can see the GPU temps on the pic (FurMark only uses one card).

I'm gonna do some benching now. With the CPU at 4.05Ghz (450x9) and the cards at stock clocks I got just over P12197 Vantage points (no physics driver) which I thought was very poor indeed, but I suspect it's CPU limited at such a low res.

EDIT:
Pic removed due to a problem with RT causing BS clocks.

The max stable OC was 740/1475/1280 (100% fan, 68*C), still very pleased with that :D

Uberpwnage
06-25-08, 04:02 PM
That ram clock must be off right? 1500 is too low and 3000 is way too high...

Revs
06-25-08, 04:05 PM
That ram clock must be off right? 1500 is too low and 3000 is way too high...

Yeah you're right. For some reason it messed up. When I closed and opened it again it was at stock (just the memory) and the GPU was at 740mhz. Gonna retest now.

spajdr
06-25-08, 04:39 PM
Doesnt matter how much you set GPU, its tied to shader clock, you can even type 850Mhz and it will run without problem, but not speed difference, so only linked mode makes a difference.

Shocky
06-25-08, 04:39 PM
Running memory at 1300(2600) now, 166.4GB/s of memory bandwidth. :D

Blacklash
06-25-08, 05:38 PM
Question for the OC experts-

I can run 721|2600 1552 linked, or I can unlink and raise the core further to 742. So it will be 742|2600 1552. Is there any real benefit after you unlink the shaders, or should I just settle for 721|2600 1552?

Best Vantage GPU score I've seen so far is 11.7k for GPU alone.

EDIT: ok Vantage linked 718|2600 1545 = 11627 GPU, unlinked 742|2600 1547 = 11706.

Revs
06-25-08, 06:08 PM
I've gone for 700/1400/1200. Well within stable limits and the fans are at 55%. I've just had a blast on Crysis and they run at 60/70*C in game. I'd say the FPS have gone up about 70% (compared to my GT's) in Crysis64, with DX9 VH (all settings forced). Very playable now with 30-60 avg FPS at 1920x1080 :D. AA doesn't work though :(

Just need to do a couple of benchies again.

Blacklash
06-25-08, 06:25 PM
Well that's it for my core/shader 742/1547 unlinked. Any higher = trouble.

Revs
06-26-08, 05:12 AM
Very nice Revs! Enjoy your new 260's!

Cheers :D

I think it was a worthy upgrade. Very pleased with how it's running. Crysis64 DX9 with tweaks is sooo smooth now :D. DX10 is pap though. If nVIDIA get TriSLI to scale better I might even get a third card but ATM the scaling isn't good enough IMO.

Revs
06-26-08, 05:18 AM
Doesnt matter how much you set GPU, its tied to shader clock, you can even type 850Mhz and it will run without problem, but not speed difference, so only linked mode makes a difference.

RivaTuned won't allow the GPU core speed past 740Mhz for me but over 700Mhz there was no performance gain anyhow. The shader and memory clock made a nice difference though.

Just a note about the fan. On full it is very noisey, but the ammount of air it'll blast through is amazing. It's like a leaf blower. The sweet spot is 55%, nice and quiet but with good air flow. I might mod the grill where the air comes out to increase air flow a bit.

Best Vantage GPU score I've seen so far is 11.7k for GPU alone.

16910 on 'P' mode, 11905 on 'H' mode :D But that's in SLI. Did you mean for one card?

Blacklash
06-26-08, 05:46 AM
16910 on 'P' mode, 11905 on 'H' mode :D But that's in SLI. Did you mean for one card?

Nice!

Yes I only own one GTX 280 at this time. So my score is single. I did kill the order for my Xeon X3360 and am going to use my Q6600 G-0 @ instead @ about 3.6GHz since that is its "easy" OC. I do that on 1.46v. I'd like to keep that chip awhile. That money will likely go for another GTX 280 in a bit. I don't have SLi, ...yet.