PDA

View Full Version : Questions on my upgrade to a GeForce FX 5200

EviL_SoliduS
05-10-03, 04:45 AM
[1] hi i bought a GeForse FX Ultra 5200...it was 200 dollars...but before i had a GeForse 4 MX 420...it was great for online games(but it was 64 MB)so i wanted a better one...ok my MX 420 gave me a stright 80 fps in my games...since i was thinking getting a better video card will make my fps go up...so i bought my FX 5200...got it and install it...and what do i find out...i have a 30 fps:( is it cause this card sucks...or do i have to do something about it...

[2] ok the same pc...^^^ i got a AMD Duron 751 MHz...it sucks so bad...so i am thinking of buying a new one...which one should i get...cause i dunno(plus i don't know how to install that kind of stuff...and i can't give it to someone overnight to put it in...cause its my moms pc and she will be pissed if she knew it was gone...(i am a noob at this stuff)(i wish i wasn't :)

Nutty
05-10-03, 05:04 AM
Welcome.

1) Sorry dude, but you got shafted, the 5200 is a lousy performer. It has all the features of the top end card, but its performance is crap. Take it back, and go back to your previous card.

If you want a cheap card, with more bang-for-buck, try and get a GF4TI 4200.

2) If you're on a duron, and you just want a bit more cpu power, try just buying a 1.3ghz duron or something. You wont have to change anything, except swap the cpu over. I think retail packs come with an appropriate cpu cooler and fan.

That''ll give you almost double cpu power, with very little work.

Any probs just drop by the processor forum!

EviL_SoliduS
05-10-03, 05:14 AM
yeah i knew that video card had to be ****...i might go get that video card dunno...but since i got that video card...it just been crap!!!!!!

ok so with my amd all i have to do is switch out the processer?

EviL_SoliduS
05-10-03, 05:15 AM
and i am the hughest noob ever...what is cpu???

StealthHawk
05-10-03, 05:16 AM