PDA

View Full Version : NForce3 and CPU's when?


Gator
05-10-03, 09:46 AM
I read this thread (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=10631&highlight=nforce3+when) but has anyone heard when Nforce3 boards and 64bit AMD cpu's will be readily available to the public. I know NewEgg is currently selling an Opteron 1.8ghz, but what board do you use that with? Does Operteron fit in AthlonXP/Barton boards? I'm lost. All I know is I'm anxious for 64-bit :naughty:

The Baron
05-10-03, 10:01 AM
Athlon64s are a different socket than AthlonXPs.

Opteron boards will be out sometime... don't really have any idea when. Anvil (x86-64 WinXP) will be out in September.

SavagePaladin
05-10-03, 01:01 PM
I believe nforce3 pro 150 boards are going to be June along with the single processor Opterons
nforce3 pro 250 September (as well as the consumer version, no doubt, with the consumer processor)

Gator
05-11-03, 10:07 AM
but what exactly is Operteron vs Athlon64?

and how is newegg selling Opteron when I dont see any boards with "Socket 940"

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduct.asp?DEPA=&submit=Go&description=opteron

StealthHawk
05-11-03, 08:22 PM
Originally posted by Gator
but what exactly is Operteron vs Athlon64?

Some discussion on the topic (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=11105)

Dazz
05-12-03, 02:00 AM
There is one board in the UK and thats the MSI K8D Master-F, which costs 363 and support dual Opterons, add this to the price of the CPU which ranges from 260 (Opteron 240) all the way to 690 (Opteron 244) all BOXED but Ouch they are expensive. More so due to the MSI K8D Master-F dosen't support AGP :(